We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chestnuts is a lovely guesthouse :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Chestnuts is a lovely guesthouse :-)”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed at the Chestnuts with my daughter for one night during a flying visit to the Isle of Wight. The owner Chris was lovely and made us very welcome. She showed us to our room and explained the ins and outs of everything. The room and ensuite were clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was lush! The location is great, the beach is a short stroll away and the town centre is within walking distance too. I'd certainly stay at the Chestnuts again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Nothing was too much trouble from start to finish. Really accomodating.
Visit the chestnut during the week end of the festival( was a pure coincidence).
We had a small bedroom but everything was spotless. Shower was absolutly amazing.
Really good breakfast too, and if you are lucky you will have the visit of a gorgeous cat.
Really want to come back to the chestnut and the isle of white.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed over the weekend, it was comfortable and in a very good location, small but we have everything we needed. Close the beach and to the old village. Nice breakfast also. We just wanted a place to rest after all day activities and visits In the island. We highly recommend to go to the Sharon Orchads to see the process and buy some delicious juice and cider.

Room Tip: Room 8 you can have a mini sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

the chestnuts was a lovely b&b chris was a great host the rooms are clean and tidy and the showers were nice and hot we stayed their with freinds and we all enjoyed the breakfast dave / jane/paul/christine

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidh147503904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our fifth visit to the Chestnuts Hotel in six years and the reason we keep going back is because the hotel is clean, tidy and well situated for beach and town, Chris is an excellent host, nothing is too much trouble and her son Luke cooks a lovely breakfast. Evening meals are a treat too. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I don't often leave reviews but felt compelled to respond to the most recent review left here regarding the family room. My husband, eight year old daughter and I have just spent four nights staying at 'The Chestnuts' in one of the family rooms. Our room contained a very large double bed and a single bed (with ample room to move around between the two) it also housed a wardrobe, a chest of drawers, two bedside tables, a chair and a coffee table. We personally found the room to be larger than average and our daughter had plenty of space to play on the floor (on one evening we all sat on the floor to play a board game). The room was decorated in a contemporary style with lovely framed Klimt prints on the walls (there was even a book on Klimt in the room which our daughter enjoyed looking through), the bed linen was high quality and the room was very clean, light and airy with a modern ensuite. The shower was larger than average (my husband and I stayed in a 5* boutique hotel in Cheltenham recently and the shower there was notably smaller) and I actually commented to my husband on the first morning that I was impressed with how good the water pressure is in the shower (better in fact than ours at home!). 'The Chestnuts' provides very high quality accommodation which includes an excellent breakfast and fantastic, personal service (I have a wheat allergy and Christine went to the trouble of contacting her butcher to check if I could eat the sausages). My husband and I have been very impressed with the value for money and are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Shakespeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Chestnuts is a 5 minute walk to the train station, 10 minutes to town and the beach (Esplanade) is just down the street. We had a family room. It was clean and tidy but very small for what is considered a family room. The bathroom was tiny with just enough space to turn around. I've noticed that the water pressure for the shower goes on and off and at one point, I only had drips. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cretangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#14 of 52 in Shanklin
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 52 in Shanklin
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#19 of 52 in Shanklin
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 52 in Shanklin
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Private Hotel

Property: The Chestnuts Private Hotel
Address: 4 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chestnuts Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your The Chestnuts Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chestnuts Private Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing