We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atholl Court Guest House
Ranked #35 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Five Stars”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here with my sister and we all thought Atholl Court was lovely. Beautiful clean white bed linen and towels, the rooms were tastefully decorated and the breakfasts were excellent. There was also a very generous hospitality tray in the room. Oh, and not forgetting the Bucks Fizz on arrival, really nice.

We travelled there by train and we could see Atholl Court when we came out of the station, and the bus stop was just outside the front door, very handy! Very well located, just a nice walk into the Old Village or along to the lift down to the sea front.

Would certainly recommend it and would definitely stay there again if we're back in Shanklin. Thank you Nikki for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StokerTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiLeese, Owner at Atholl Court Guest House, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review, it was a pleasure to have you all here and hope to see you in the future sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Atholl Court over a long weekend and had a lovely stay! The owners could not do more for us, they helped us with places to go, things to see and even went the extra step to help us find a local pub that was playing a rugby game we wanted to watch.

The room was lovely, clean and tidy with a comfy bed and breakfast was great! Really fresh and a nice range of cereals etc. We got a lovely buzz fizz when we arrived which went down a treat.

I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiLeese, Owner at Atholl Court Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Glad you both enjoyed your stay and that you managed to find somewhere to watch the match. Hope to see you both again in the future.
Nikki & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thinking about running a small guest house? Visit Atholl Court!

Modern, comfortable rooms, really comfy beds, a warm & friendly welcome from hosts who know their area and a brilliant location add up to a perfect holiday.

The famous Bucks Fizz on arrival is certainly a nice touch, as is the well-stocked hospitality tray with fresh milk. However, it is the high standard of care to the property, the excellent breakfast and the hosts' expertise and local knowledge that really make you sorry to leave.

If you come without a car, the 90 second walk from the station is no hardship. If you're using the buses, buy yourself a rover ticket and download or carry a timetable. The Coaster is a great way to get around and included in the rover ticket fare.

Room Tip: The Superior Double has a really nice, large shower room and a couple of comfy armchairs in which to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJfromtheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiLeese, Owner at Atholl Court Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Guys, thank you both very much for the lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed your family 'do' after being here.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Nikki & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and it was perfect. Just by the train station a short walk from the seafront, perfect little room and a very yummy breakfast. Could not have asked for more. Highly recommended if you are looking for a quaint little B&B then look no further! I was not sure at first as this was a last minute deal but I am glad I stayed here :).
We was even reimbursed on the parking levy (£1.50 for 24 hours) which was brilliant.
This is only made for people staying alone or in a couple.
Get yourself a short break to Shanklin and check in here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiLeese, Owner at Atholl Court Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Andy, thanks for your review you left, we really appreciate it and are glad you both had a nice time on the island and enjoyed your breakfast. Hope you had a good journey home and hope to see you both again sometime.
Nikki & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having had a reasonably long and stressful journey after work on a Friday the owners welcomed us with a glass of bucks fizz and treated us to knowledgeable advice on what to see and do on the island. This was a lovely personal touch you do not see often nowadays. The room was clean, a good size and everything you need in a central location.

Regarding the food, I opted in favour of catching up on much needed sleep for most of our stay, but my girlfriend did make it down for breakfast every day and persuaded me I could not miss out on the final day. I was not disappointed.

I recommend the Atholl Court without hesitation. The owners go out of their way to make it feel like home for the duration of your stay and frankly that does not happen often enough these days. A job thoroughly well done and I certainly look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We got one of the smaller rooms and it was still a good size. I don't think you will go wrong f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiLeese, Owner at Atholl Court Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Guys, thanks for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay and that you made it down for breakfast as well. We genuinely hope to see you both again next holidays!
Thanks again
Nikki & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a long weekend and I really enjoyed staying there. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well decorated. The rooms are quiet and a good size.The breakfast was lovely with a variety of choices. The location is excellent and with in walking distance of the sea front and I would love to stay there again; a fantastic weekend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiLeese, Owner at Atholl Court Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Victoria and Steven, just a quick note to say thank you very much for the review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the sunburn has faded.

Hope to see you both again in the future, thanks also for the lovely email - it is very much appreciated.
Nikki & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent hotel very good value friendly owner and welcome. Comfortable and well equipped room, some more expensive hotels could learn from them, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Well located close to town station and beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brnd-cld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#21 of 54 in Shanklin
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
799 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ryedale
The Ryedale
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Court Guest House

Property: Atholl Court Guest House
Address: 1 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Court Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADULTS ONLY - refurbished 2012. Welcome to the Atholl Court Guest House in Shanklin, Isle of Wight - the closest accommodation to the Shanklin Train Station. Newly refurbished throughout and under new ownership you will find everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay with freshly cooked or continental breakfast. We are situated less than 100 yards from Shanklin Train Station, and with the Shanklin Road Train and Island Buses stopping outside, getting around the island is easy.For drivers, we have a small private car park.All rooms are en-suite, freshly decorated and are equipped with: Flatscreen TV with Freeview and DVD, iPod dock alarms clocks, hospitality tray with tea / coffee / water and fresh milk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Atholl Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Court Guest House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing