We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We expected a bit more after having read the reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Could not fault the booking process - helpful and efficient on the phone. Ferry discount was arranged, and also asked for a sea view room, which we got. The tariff was £35 pp per night plus a discounted ferry ticket, which seemed very reasonable compared to the many other quotes I had received from local competitors. I was convinced to book after reading the several 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor. Location was great - 5 mins walk to the beach, even less to the Old Village. The front rooms and living/dining area overlook the tops of some other hotels but do have a good sea view (especially as the sun comes up!) and you can see across to Culver Cliffs.

We were disappointed with the size of our room though - SallyAnne did apologise for the small room when she showed us in, but explained it was due to the sea view request. It did make things a bit difficult when getting ready for the wedding we were attending. Really there was just enough space to walk round the double bed. There was a small TV, chest of drawers, bedside tables and wardrobe squeezed in which was good, the en-suite was really basic though - a shower only, no bath, and with a shower curtain, not a cubicle. The basin was too small to have a wash in, although my husband did manage to have a shave in it. It hadn't been thouroughly cleaned - I found a bar of used soap on top of the shower unit which stayed there for all three nights, and there was a bit of scum around the taps. Having said that I would definately not call any of the room dirty, and I didn't feel the need to complain about it, although pickier people might have done. The bed was comfy enough with LOTS of cushions. The room was a bit dated and also had a couple of spidery residents, which made me uncomfortable, but at least it was cosy to come back to at night.

Breakfast was really nicely cooked but a bit odd. You had to order the night before on a sheet in reception. Choice was a bit limited I thought - cerial OR grapefruit segments, pineapple or orange juice, then kippers or cooked brekkie. For cooked, you could have 'full english' which was sausage, bacon, half grilled tom & fried egg on fried bread, OR eggs cooked to your liking - scrambled, poached or boiled. I would like to have seen some mushrooms, hash browns, beans, black pud etc to give a bit more choice. We did get toast and tea or coffee too, and never went away hungry, which was great, but just found the choice too limited, meaning we had to chose items we didn't really want. Also, only half an hour to get down for brekkie - 0845 - 0915.

I feel bad not giving a great review as the owners were lovely, and this is clearly a business which appeals to many regular customers. However, as a young couple who have travelled a lot on a limited budget, we found it a bit disappointing. Good points were the service from all staff, the view, the location, the price compared to other local businesses. Bad points were the decor, the ensuite, the breakfast choice, the size of room, and despite being considerably cheaper than the competition, we felt still poor overall value for money compared to other places in the UK we have stayed. I guess that's what you have to expect on the IOW now!

Thanks to you all for a friendly welcome - but please take on board our constructive critcism, and if you were to consider making two small changes, please put mushrooms on the brekkie menu, and a buffet style choice for continental!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room and they will do their best to accomodate - you may get a smaller room to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayveez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

Have just spent three very pleasant nights at Victoria Lodge, and would be pleased to recommend it to anyone. Certainly the best value accomodation I have ever experienced.
Delightful Hosts, very well equiped bedrooms, Lovely Bar, Lounge area, and dining room.
Shall certainly return when I am next on the Island.
KerryM

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KerryM545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

from the time we rang up to book, we had a good feeling about this hotel, when we arrived we were not disappointed.
We were warmly welcomed, and we were given a list of attractions for the surrounding area and the IOW. (highly recommend the Ghost Walk)
Our room was lovely and it made us feel at home.
The home cooked food faultless, and the company of the Sallyann and Peter made us feel welcome and included.
WE WILL DEFINITELY BE RETURNING AND RECOMMENDING THIS HOTEL TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

we were on a short break and would highly recommend the Victoria Lodge. Peter and SallyAnne are great hosts and everything was spotlessly clean. Our room was spacious and meals were excellent.
Shirley and Ivor from Rochester Kent

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

What a pleasure it was to stay at the victoria lodge! Peter, SallyAnne and family made our stay so comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. We found the hotel spotlessly clean and the room and bed comfortable. The lounge is lovely and cosy and the cooked breakfast was more than ample. I am sure that if there was something you particularly wanted - for example - "Special K", if it wasn't there the first morning it would be there on the second., or a powerful shower, then you would be put in a room that has a shower room and not one with a bath that has an attached shower. After all, if you don't tell "Mein Host" then he is not going to know is he!!
SallyAnn and Peters knowledge of the Island attractions is worth sounding out, as is their knowledge of eateries.
We enjoyed our stay with them immensley and will be back.
Oh, and look for Honey - she's gorgeous!!

Room Tip: If you have any special needs then ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariaksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Having stayed here earlier in the year I decided to stop at the Victoria lodge again. Once again Sally-Anne, Peter and staff were flawless. We stayed in a different room this time round and once again it was immaculate. We had everything we needed and the bed was comfy too ;0). Breakfast was great and very needed to start the day and revive from the night before! Thank you very much once again to Sally-Anne, Peter and staff for a comfortable and enjoyable week. Top draw

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnyboy1982Stamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The first surprise was the very limited choice of breakfast items. Ostensibly one could not have juice AND cereals. Although some clients seemed to break the rules. Not that the juice was a big miss because it was not exactly the best quality. The toast was cold unless one asked for extra and it was sourced from supermarket sliced bread. There was no inspiration and there were no fresh items in the breakfast. A buffet with fresh products would be a great improvement. The impression was gained of minimum quality food to maximize profit. A simple example is that Special K was not on offer. It was difficult to have a decent shower as the flow of water was very limited which Peter explained was due to the pressure being lower on the first floor. Hair washing was impossible.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank abmbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#18 of 51 in Shanklin
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#34 of 51 in Shanklin
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#27 of 51 in Shanklin
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge Hotel

Address: 5 Alexandra Road, Shanklin PO37 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alysa Shirley and Mike Fox, the proprietors of Victoria Lodge Hotel, guarantee personal service. Situated in its own grounds with ample parking, in one of Shanklin's premier positions. Close to Keats Green, beaches, town and beautiful Old Village. Relax in the spacious lounge bar which has delightful sea views across Sandown Bay to Culver Cliff. Some bedrooms also have sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Shanklin
Victoria Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing