We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Victoria Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A delightful little family run hotel, clean, tidy, nothing was too much trouble to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Excellent breakfast menu, providing the adventurous visitor with just the right energy boost to see them through a busy day doing whatever it is we 'Grockles' (Devonian word) like to do? We have no hesitation recommending this hotel, which is situated within easy walking distance of the seafront, the railway station, Shanklin Chine and the town centre with a choice of numerous eating and ale houses to cater for all tastes. Travelling either by car or bus around such a small island is easy, with a wealth of interesting attractions to visit, catering for all ages and tastes. A warm and genuine welcome awaits the weary traveller at this cosy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    20
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Victoria Lodge Hotel is very well placed. Close to the beach, town centre, old village ( very picturesque ) and the public transport system ( train/buses ) is a short walk. But the best thing about it is the Proprietors. Sallyann and Peter are a lovely couple who lived up to and exceeded all the reviews i had previously read. They make you feel very welcome and at home from the word go. The Hotel has a really lovely relaxed and friendly atmosphere. All the staff are polite, efficient and very friendly. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, with a great variety of options. My room was really spacious, ( not always the case in single rooms ) nicely decorated and furnished and clean. The other thing i liked very much was that i was sat at my own individual table at breakfast. Though i am a sociable creature i do find it more relaxing and less burdensome on fellow diners who have to eat with a stranger at their table.( as i have experienced in the past ) If you are looking for a place to stay in Shanklin you wont go far wrong with this one. Thank you Sallyann and Peter. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magpieclosetothedriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our first time in The Isle of White, and what a pleasant stay that it was. Our hosts at the Victoria Lodge made our stay worth while and what a warm welcome from a lovely couple, Sallyann and Peter. All staff members were great. They assisted in getting our ferry tickets, on arrival they also offered advise on places to visit. The room was comfortable and ideal for the short break that we had. A great location to get to a number of locations, the beach, new and old town also the theatre.

Thanks for our enjoyable weekend and we will be returning.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RW3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

First time staying at the Victoria Lodge for me and I would not hesitate staying again, the whole operation is performed in an excellent and professional manner,
The Staff are superb and a pleasure to be with with, The Hotel is within very easy walking distance of the Theatre and Shops the Gorgeous Beach is just a short amble away. So marks out of 10 is 10 thank you !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Having stayed at this hotel on previous occasions, we knew we would have a complete relaxing break. Sallyann and Peter certainly saw to this for us. We had a sea view room and the food was up to its usual high standard. We were lucky with the weather and managed to visit some local beauty spots, Steephill Cove and St Catherines Lighthouse which we had not visited before. We also spent a good few hours at Havenstreet visiting and riding on the steam railway museum, goods yard workshop, falcon flying display and good food outlet. The good thing with this hotel is the location. It is very convenient for visiting any part of the island by car. An added feature is the railway station at Shanklin with trains to Ryde pier via Smallbrook junction (connects to the steam train if required). Highly recommended place to stay. Also convenient for the Shanklin theatre ( 5 min walk ). We will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.....

Room Tip: Sea view or East side but all room are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Having checked this Hotel on Trip Advisor I felt that my choice had been a good one. On contacting Peter he was only too happy to arrange for our four night half board stay but also included our ferry crossing as part of the package. As soon as we arrived at the Hotel and were met by Peter and Sally Anne we realised that we had struck on a winner. Yes, some of the decoration was a little dated but this was insignificant to us concerning the level of service we received throughout our stay, the room was fully acceptable to us. Meals were far in excess of our expectations with a varied menu each evening and by pre ordering there was no waiting between each course to be served. The Hotel advertises freshly prepared local food and we cannot praise Sally Anne enough for the excellent dishes she prepared. All in all an excellent stay with Peter and Sally Anne where nothing was too much trouble. Would most certainly stay with them again and would advise anyone looking for a friendly Hotel on the Island to look no further.

Room Tip: With a view looking over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredBudeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

On the first day of my 4 night break I was reminded of staying in decent private hotels in the past, comfy bedrooms, small shower rooms (because they have been fitted into the room) but fuctional, good value food served at your table, with advance ordering to ensure prompt service. A lounge area which happens to have a bar, a big plus if you just want to read or admire the sea view in the distance. No mobiles ringing constantly to spoil your relaxation. Friendly, welcoming and efficient staff where your stay is actually their first concern rather than giving you that horrible feeling that you should not have bothered to book. This is the Victoria Lodge Hotel, Shanklin. I am going back in September.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaygiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#42 of 52 in Shanklin
395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 52 in Shanklin
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
#19 of 52 in Shanklin
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge Hotel

Property: Victoria Lodge Hotel
Address: 5 Alexandra Road, Shanklin PO37 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sallyann & Peter Young, the proprietors of Victoria Lodge Hotel, guarantee personal service. Situated in its own grounds with ample parking, in one of Shanklin's premier positions. Close to Keats Green, beaches, town and beautiful Old Village. Relax in the spacious lounge bar which has delightful sea views across Sandown Bay to Culver Cliff. Some bedrooms also have sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Shanklin
Victoria Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing