We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Shanklin”

Victoria Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First time in Shanklin”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My wife offered me a weekend on the isle of wight as a gift for my birthday, she chose the victoria lodge and I was very happy with her choice. The owners are very friendly and nice, very helpful and attentionate for their guests. Coming from europe, I am not used to b&b style hotels, but I absolutely loved it! The location is pretty convenient as well, between the beach and the old Shanklin. I really want to come back to the isle of wight and I will come back to Victoria lodge!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank team_beezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    20
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Having just read the latest badly spelt report about this hotel with the title "Avoid!!!!* the person writing has obviously never stayed there. My wife and I are regular visitors and find the hotel spotlessly clean. New double glazing all round and Sallyann and Peter the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and their main wish is to ensure every guest has a fantastic break. This hotel is extremely well located 5mins from shops and 5mins from the beach. There is plenty of car park space. We will be going again the April for a long weekend and then a couple ore time throughout the year.

Room Tip: Sea view or east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Will not stay anywhere else, fantastic, clean and very very friendly. The hotel, is in a quiet part of Shanklin, 10 minutes walk from the old village, and the beach. There are plenty of pubs near the hotel, and no end of restaurants, I reccomend the Steamer on the sea front.
The hotel itself, has a wonderful lounge, a bar, and dining room, where you will enjoy a hearty full English that will help you start the day. Peter the owner was the perfect host, I didn't meet Sallyanne sadly.
It was the first time I have visited the island, and already planing on my next visit.

Room Tip: Get in quick, you won't be disappointed, rooms are clean, with tv en suite bathroom, tea and cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at the Victoria Lodge Hotel for a couple of nights to visit the classic car shows, and couldn't have been made more welcome by Peter & Sallyanne. Right from the booking where I telephoned to check on parking (there is plenty!) to the moment I left, Peter did everything he could to make sure everything was ok.

I had a good chat with Peter - I hope you read this Peter, as I know you don't like Trip Advisor - as I said the number of good reviews resulted in my booking, so don't worry about one or two rogue ones!

The hotel is situated near to the village in a very pleasant spot - the dining area looks across to the sea, so is wonderful for waking up with your breakfast. Speaking of which, the breakfast was very good both days, ordered in advance the night before (though you don't have to), it arrived quickly which was a bonus for someone needing to hurry up in the mornings.

I didn't eat in the evenings, but based on the dining room & breakfast would have been more than happy to do so. The hotel was bigger than I expected, but had a lovely family feel to it - nice and relaxing.

The single room was comfortable & clean (most importantly), and had the essential TV. Yes you can pick fault if you try - the wardrobe squeaked when walking across the floor, and the ensuite was cosy, but it was absolutely fine. Considering the price, Victoria Lodge comes very firmly recommended.

I would definitely stay again, and this deserves anyone's consideration for a trip to the Isle of Wight. It's a 5 blob for the welcome & comfort of the room, but the small ensuite took a blob off & I'd want a bath for a longer stay.

Thank you Peter & Sallyanne. I hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 302GSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were warmly greeted by our friendly host before we'd got out of the car. Our room had a sea view- always a bonus,and the hospitality was first rate all week. I will use this hotel again if I'm lucky enough to return to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynC477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Spent a long weekend with family and as our usual Shankin B&B could not fit us in I opted for the Victoria Lodge as often passed by and commented it looked nice. Ideal position just a short stroll from the beach or village.

The owners Sallyanne and Peter were very welcoming and the rooms were comfortable and clean and lots of hot water (not always something that many B&B's can achieve). Breakfast was very good and although they ask to pre order the night before this is an option to assist with a speedy service and we found it to be fine. The rooms we had were a little on the small side but suited our needs as we were as usual out most of the time and came back only to bath/shower or rest. I would best describe the Victoria Lodge as a no frills good old fashioned B&B in a good location with good hosts.

All in all a good break and the Victoria will be on our list of establishments in Shanklin that we would use again in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfcsccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A delightful little family run hotel, clean, tidy, nothing was too much trouble to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Excellent breakfast menu, providing the adventurous visitor with just the right energy boost to see them through a busy day doing whatever it is we 'Grockles' (Devonian word) like to do? We have no hesitation recommending this hotel, which is situated within easy walking distance of the seafront, the railway station, Shanklin Chine and the town centre with a choice of numerous eating and ale houses to cater for all tastes. Travelling either by car or bus around such a small island is easy, with a wealth of interesting attractions to visit, catering for all ages and tastes. A warm and genuine welcome awaits the weary traveller at this cosy hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#15 of 52 in Shanklin
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#35 of 52 in Shanklin
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#14 of 52 in Shanklin
185 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge Hotel

Property: Victoria Lodge Hotel
Address: 5 Alexandra Road, Shanklin PO37 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sallyann & Peter Young, the proprietors of Victoria Lodge Hotel, guarantee personal service. Situated in its own grounds with ample parking, in one of Shanklin's premier positions. Close to Keats Green, beaches, town and beautiful Old Village. Relax in the spacious lounge bar which has delightful sea views across Sandown Bay to Culver Cliff. Some bedrooms also have sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Shanklin
Victoria Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing