We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Brunswick Hotel(Shanklin)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerston Grange(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holliers Hotel(Shanklin)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
50
22
4
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
22
4
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxing hotelisle of wightlounge areapleasant stayhotel ownerdog friendly hotela lovely sea viewnew ownersbe visiting againevening mealfeel very welcomelovely roomnothing is too much troublebreakferry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We travel to the Isle of Wight many times a year, and on short breaks we like to try out different hotels always in Shanklin which undoubtably has the best range of hotels in one place on the Island. The reviews for this hotel are consistently good and well deserved. The island goes quiet after the end of Summer and this can affect the service in some hotels, not here, we received the friendliest of welcomes, and nothing was too much trouble for the owners Peter and Sally Ann. One night we were the only guests but that made no difference. Quite how they make much money bearing in mind the cost of our stay, I just do not know. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisDart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Another wonderful stay at the victoria lodge hotel, it was lovely to see Peter and Sallyann again. We arrived at our rooms and noticed the improvements that have been made since last year (new furniture and bathroom etc...). The breakfast and evening meals were to the highest standard, we will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerfunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Looking at just about everybody else’s reviews I get the feeling we stayed in a completely different hotel!

We stopped here purely based on others reviews.
We are not critical people and give praise where praise is due.

I would agree that the location is good and there is a nice sea view.
Peter met us on arrival and was very welcoming and he carried our bags to the room.
That's where everything went down hill.

It has to be one, if not the worst room we have ever stayed in.

It was room 7 on the ground floor which opened right onto the dining area. It made us feel very uncomfortable coming out in the morning and evening to be confronted by people sitting there eating and looking straight in. That and we could hear their conversations whilst they ate, along with those of the reception area which was also just outside of the room.

The carpet looked as though it had been down for a generation and fitted by a 10 yr old, although I expect one could have done a better job. The bathroom was a throwback to the 70's and although reasonable clean, I would expect far better from an establishment calling itself a hotel and charging over £70 per night!
I was surprised to see the bathroom carpeted as well which I don’t think I have come across before. Very unhygienic.

Not that we actually watch TV much but it was also from the 70's so no remote control which meant you had to get out of bed to switch it off in the evening. No alarm clock either so no means of being woken in the morning (I did not fancy asking Peter to come hammering on the door)

On the Sunday night we were woken at half past midnight by a group of blokes coming back from the pub.
There was a group of 10+ males (staying on a stag night?) at the hotel which for such a small place I was very surprised at.

On a positive note the breakfast was good (apart from the cold toast on all 3 mornings)

I can only assume that we were given the worst room in the hotel and had we been given a decent one this review would be more on the positive side.

Come on Peter, ditch this room and turn it into something else, but don't let people stay in it as it is a disgrace.

All in all it put a bit of a dampener on what was supposed to be a nice relaxing stress free break.

Just a quick note on Shanklin itself. It's a lovely place to visit with plenty of things to do and places to visit. We took a train ride to Ryde which was good fun and then bus'd it around the island.
Plenty of places to eat out and good ales to be had in the public houses.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EddieWiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

as soon as we arrived peter and sallyann welcomed us and peter helped us with the luggage to our room which was excellent.
thoughout our stay we found the food superb and the staff very helpful and friendly with nothing too much trouble. we will certainly be recommending anybody to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyRaymundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We chose this hotel from the favourable reports in Trip Advisor, and it proved to be a very good decision. Resident owners Sallyann and Peter made us feel completely at home on arrival and throughout our stay. The hotel is conveniently situated close to Keats Green and the old village.
Clean rooms, excellent food with a good choice of menu, modest bar prices and a bright restaurant and lounge – we look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatnanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews