We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence House B and B
Ranked #33 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

28th August - 2nd Sept 2012 Margi & Graeme are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the breakfasts as substantial as you wish to order and beautifully cooked. We would highly recomend Clarence House as a very good value B & B with high standards. Thank you Margi & Graeme. We will certainly return in the future. Nigel & Pat, Grays Essex.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IowGrae, Owner at Clarence House B and B, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thanks so much for your kind remarks: we so much enjoyed having you, and you appreciative comments.
Kindest Regards,
Grae and Margi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gravesend
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We booked for three nights for a short break on the IOW.We had a lovely room upstairs with the most comfortable bed.Both my wife and I had our best nights sleep in ages.Breakfast was superb and Margot was both charming and attentive.Although the weather was not that great we had a great time on the IOW which was helped by our stay at Clarence House.I would fully recommend this lovely B&B to anyone.Thanks Margot and Graham

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daetslef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IowGrae, Owner at Clarence House B and B, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
So glad you had such nice restful sleeps - that;s half the fun of going away.Loved having you and we do - of course - hope we will see you again...
Regards,
Grae and Margi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend (end of Feb 2012) with my husband. We were on the Island to visit friends who have recently moved to Shanklin from the mainland. Perfect location for us, within walking distance to our friends and also to the shops and to the beautiful beach.
We received a very warm welcome from both Graeme and Margi.
We stayed in room 1 and found it to be comfortable and extremely clean. An electric blanket was provided which we didnt need in the end but was a nice touch. TV had a good range of the usual channels, hairdryer provided, pleanty of mirrors and sides to put things on. Water bottles each day provided which was really good as we dont tend to fancy teas or coffees sometimes.
I have to agree with other reviews that the shower in this room is very small. We are not 'big' people (im only 5ft 1!) but i did find it a bit of a struggle, however at the end of the day you only need to use it for 10 mins a day so its really not that big a deal. Shower gel, hand wash and handcreme all provided which was nice.
Breakfasts were delicious! We had both cooked and contental during our stay. Both very nice and lots of cereals provided if you dont want the other choices.
We, like others, were not so keen on sharing the table with other guests (although they were all very nice!!) mainly because we struggle to be civil to each other let alone anyone else in the morning, however it is totally understandable that this arrangement exists. It certainly wouldnt stop me coming back.
Margi is the most natural hostess i have ever met. She has a brilliant balance of being friendly and chatty but not being over bearing.
All in all a very nice experience and at a price you wouldn't believe - a real bargain. Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imabadpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IowGrae, Owner at Clarence House B and B, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments: we look forward to seeing you again!
Grae and Margs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We arrived to a warm welcome, although money was required in full up front and credit cards incur a surcharge. Margi was very friendly and full of advice on places to visit while on the island.

The room was pleasant, although it was smaller than we had hoped for as a double room for a 3 night stay. The bathroom in particular was very small and disappointing. Despite spending money refurbishing the house, the windows were original and heat loss and noise from the road became a slight nuisance as a result. As the radiator in the room wasn't working correctly, we were given a small fan heater upon arrival, which was noisy and a little underpowered, but better than nothing!

As I run an IT business I need a reliable, internet connection and although when we arrived the wireless worked well, we found that it was unable to cope with increased use as the owners and other guests made use of it throughout the evening. This meant using the internet on the landing, which was a little inconvenient. I attempted to address this, but felt my suggestions were a little ignored by Graeme.

The breakfasts are excellent quality and ordered the night before. Although this isn't our personal preference, it was understandable and meant the next morning ran smoothly. Margi was an excellent and attentive host in the mornings, although we felt the setting was a little formal for us.

Off road parking for a couple of cars is offered and very welcome as parking on the island is difficult.

Overall a very pleasant stay, but we found it slightly too formal for us and felt like we were imposing on their house at times. Good value for money and perfectly located.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are better for WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IowGrae, Owner at Clarence House B and B, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
A few inaccuracies here unfortunately:
our terms are quite clear and advised upfront before a booking is made and again by e-mail confirmation.The payment terms and deposit were made clear to this guest on the telephone when he booked direct with us.Credit card charges are only levied where we are ourselves charged ( as everybody else does), and so we always suggest debit card payment where there is of course no additional cost.
Yes there was a problem with the radiator in the room discvovered only on the day of arrival - compensated by the provision of a brand new electric fan heater as acknowledged.The radiator was repaired by our plumber 2 days later.
The room is typical in size of a B and B where the premises were originally built as a private house, where rooms are often smaller than a purpose built hotel.
The windows in our house are all double-glazed so the reference to "original" windows is incorrect.I don't think they had double-glazing in 1898.
WIFI is available throughout the house and usually works well.However we cannot speak for the servers and in variance to that suggested by the guest our guest room (downstairs) and even use of our own equipment was offered.
The reference to formality is amazing: we bend over backwards to make people feel comfortable and at home, as acknowledged by the guest in respect of Margi's interest and help: and yet a warm welcome is acknowledged - eh?.
All in all , a disappointing review, especially where a free night was enjoyed! Perhaps a hotel next time (at about twice the cost )would be better for this guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We arrived earlier than expected from our long scooter ride down from Yorkshire and Margi and Graeme made us feel very welcome from the moment we walked in,allowing us to leave
our luggage with them while we went for some much needed refreshments.
We found our room to be large,spotlessly clean and the comfy bed ensured a good nights
sleep
Each morning we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast and we found the idea of everyone sitting at the same table a good opportunity to meet the other guests.
We found Margi and Graeme to be the perfect hosts,nothing was too much trouble from offering advice on where to visit to cooking us an early breakfast our last day.
We would recommend Clarence House to anyone staying in Shanklin and we will definatly be returning. Keep the good work!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IowGrae, Owner at Clarence House B and B, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review: we look forward to seeing you again - don't forget our%5 offer off for returning guests!
Regards,
Graeme and Margi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had 3 nights at Clarence House and enjoyed our stay very much. The town centre is a five minute walk away and has lots of cafe' where you could get really nice meals at very reasonable prices.The proprieors, Margi and Graeme were very welcoming, the b&b is very clean and the breakfasts are excellent. We were in the twin room (which is the smallest of the rooms) it had an ensuit which is compact and extremely clean , fresh white towels were left every day, the bedding was crisp and white and the beds were comfortable.
Margi and Graeme were very helpfull to us, drying our clothes when we got caught in a rain storm on the second day, they were very ogliging when we asked for an early breakfast on our day of departure and were always on hand if guests needed assistance.
We can highly recommend Clarence House, we have made a booking for next year as we intend to return to experience the hospitality of M argi and Graeme again!!!!

Room Tip: We were in the twin room which was on the side of the house were didnt experience any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crissiWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IowGrae, Owner at Clarence House B and B, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Thank you - that was a lovely review.
However you did get one thing wrong!
We DO have our own car park right next to our B and B that will take 3 cars - to match the 3 bedrooms we offer.Can't think how you missed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We came to Clarence house in Feb and were very impresed with everything about it.
It is a ver quiet B'n'B and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The Breakfasts were amazing and we slept very very well.

Our room was clean and tidy and the TV gets free view should you want to stay in. The bath room was nice with a clean shower cubical and the room was light and airy.

We are planning our holiday for next Feb and plan to stay here again. We are both under 35 and joked about the house being for the older coupples but that is perfect for us as we do not have children and enjoy relaxing on our holidays rather than trying to ignore screaming children in the next room.

Wonderful people, food, fun and rooms. Best place to stay we have found so far.

There is no private parking but plenty of space in the street outside the B'n'B.

Room Tip: Phone and explain what you are looking for. There are upstairs and downstairs rooms. All on suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hev t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.7 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#35 of 52 in Shanklin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House B and B

Property: Clarence House B and B
Address: 2 Clarence Gardens, Shanklin PO37 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence House B and B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at Clarence House, completely refurbished in 2015. We offer 4 en-suite rooms, 3 doubles all with power showers, one of which has a bath and one twin-room with power shower. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TV's with Freeview, free hot refreshments and biscuits, hairdryers, complimentary toiletries, lovely fluffy white towels and flannels and alarm clock/radio. WIFI is free. Only half a mile from the beach and the quaint old town of Shanklin. So much to do on this beautiful Island. Our breakfasts (included free) are legendary - please read our reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarence House B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House B And B Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing