We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have been to the Isle of Wight 4 times previously, 3 park resorts holidays and 1 private apartment but will definitely book again to come back to Upper Chine, super location, 5 minutes walk to Shanklin old town, 15 minutes to beach (some steep hills). We stayed in an apartment, lovely views to rear overlooking upper chine, clean, well equipped, small pool (a bit on the chilly side), games room, free table football plus pool table and air hockey which you pay for. Reception is open from 9.00am to 12.00 pm daily and was open on our changeover day at 3.00pm, friendly lady on reception. Tennis courts to rear of properties with plenty of rackets and balls for guests to use, even disposable BBQ for sale outside reception in case you wish to have an impromptu barbecue on a sunny evening. Beds made up on arrival and bath towels provided - super find, we will be back.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Flobble F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

We've just come back from a weeks stay and found the cottages perfect. We had no problems with the cottage and although the indoor pool was on the chilly side it didn't seem to bother my 7 year old. Although reception isn't manned you are provided with ab emergency phone number! We will book again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamsK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This April was our 12th year at Upper Chine, we stay every Easter with extended family in various cottages and an apartment. This year we enjoyed our stay on the island as much as every other year as there is so much to do and so many wonderful places to eat. ( the black cat Thai restaurant in shanklin is our favourite). We were disappointed to see that Danny the owner is building yet more houses and has demolished the paddling pool and play area to do this. In our opinion he is spoiling the beauty of the chine. The indoor play area and pool is great for children but If you have teens you will need a lot of 50p pieces for them to play pool!
Our favourite cottage is badgers set as it backs onto the chine and has a sunny patio, it is also very spacious. Our favourite day out is Robin Hill and best beach Compton Bay where you can search for fossils.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KentJuliaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny B, Owner at Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

So sorry you were disappointed by the future plans for the Upper Chine grounds.
The small playarea and outdoor splashpool were removed early last year, due to age and obvious liabilities of an out of the way facility. This work was carried out before the summer season and was felt that the superb playarea located across the Big Mead Park was a better facility (see photo).
Future plans for this area are for a small select addition to our accommodations but certainly not an housing estate, other than these changes there have been no other developments for the last 3 years, which was 4 properties on a demolished building footprint away from the immediate facility and this has enhanced a previously overgrown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Upper Chine is clean, comfortable and very well equipped especially if you are travelling with children. We stayed in 'Owls Hoot' and were very impressed with the size of the rooms and convienient location to reception,pool and play area etc. The play area was great for the kids with air hockey, table football. pool table and climbing frame. There was also a gym available with various equipment. The pool was clean with a jaccuzzi to the side where good fun was had by all.Regarding location the cottage couldn,t be situated better, with a lovely park across the road with play area and a 5 minute walk into Shanklin where there were a range of local shops, pubs and restarants.( must recommend The Crab Pub for food!) There is lots to do on the Isle of Wight, so much so we didn,t fit it all in, The Amazon world zoo was excellent and very good value for money as was the steam train railway. Another must was Alum Bay although be aware that the chair lifts and fun fair isn,t open untill Easter, but we enjoyed filling our ornaments with different coloured sands and making sweets! All in all a great time was had by all and definately can't wait to come back to Upper Chine cottages and the Isle of Wight very soon.

Room Tip: Possibly rooms cottages towards the rear would be quieter during peak times
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We didn’t bring a car but found it easy to get here by train & Sea-cat (3hrs door to door from South London). As we had heavy back packs we got a taxi from Shanklin station (£5) but this place is only 15-20 minutes walk away (admittedly up hill).

We were in the Badgers Set cottage which is at the back of the complex facing the chine and not overlooked. It had a nice layout with large sitting room, downstairs cloak room and a decent sized kitchen and dining area. Apart from having no nut crackers (come on, at xmas?), it was supplied with most things. Did seem strange they only left 2 dishwasher tablets - not exactly an expensive overhead – we got a pack in a poundstretcher shop in Shanklin! Also don’t trust the tea pot unless you like the thrill of scalding liquid on bare feet (does anyone make decent tea pots anymore).

Felt perfectly private and was very quiet. Didn’t even hear the road noise. Although it’s on the main road between Shanklin and Ventnor with a 3/hourly bus service, it was never busy during the Christmas period we stayed there so don’t worry about traffic noise.

Interesting others complained about noise as we were told the place was fully booked for xmas period but we never saw or heard anyone. The pool never seemed to be used but this was understandable as my friends who used it every day said it was very cold and with no changing or showering facilities, - not pleasant to walk back wet to the cottage.

Web site photo shows it had a log-burner stove in the sitting room but this turned out to be electric and too noisy to have on. Thankfully, unlike other cottages/ apartments reviewed, this had a full range of freeview TV channels. Just unfortunate that Xmas 2011 found nothing worth watching. The reception area has DVDs/Videos for residents use but as reception is only open in the morning it wasn’t much use.

I was in the larger bedroom which has twin beds next to the bathroom. Beware the noisy extractor fan that runs for 20 minutes after last used. The bathroom does have a good powerful over bath shower so passed that test.

There is a bus stop a few yards from the complex and if you get a £10 ticket to can go around the island all day (all roads lead to Newport). Perfect for the one day it was a bit showery. Lovely walks from the back of the complex to Ventnor along the coast track – found a table of home made jams with an honest box along the way. You can get to the beach from the complex but it’s down some very steep steps and the Shanklin lift doesn’t work out of season. If you like walking then walk from the complex to Bembridge via Sandown. At the Culver Haven monument there is a pub with lovely views back around Sandown bay and over to Bembridge harbour. Well worth it

Recycling is peculiar on the IOW like many places in the UK. We religiously saved up and separated paper only to find the paper bins in reception only take newspapers and magazines. Basically don’t bother to re-cycle anything except bottles. IOW must have lots of landfill or don’t care!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MrsMiggins46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Having stayed in many holiday camps( dumps ) on IOW Upper Chine was a lovely place to stay cottage was clean and tidy with very comfortable beds only thing that i can fault was the indoor pool was very cold we stayed in cottage very near to the pool and noise was not a problem .It was a shame the outdoor paddling pool was closed - such a lovely place to stay have booked for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baywatchEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Agree with previous comments on the good location of this property - a quick walk to the beach (either via cliff side steps, or steep road/tarmaced path if with pushchair). Also parking along the seafront is reasonable and readily available (off peak) if you can't carry all your beach gear with you.
We stayed in the Rabbit's Burrow cottage which was well kitted out (re previous comments, it had a shower-over bath, and large tv with freeview). Onsite facilities were handy - nice play area, and slightly cold indoor pool, though both unsupervised as previously mentioned. We also used their babysitting service one evening which was fairly priced.
Shanklin is a great location for small kids - nice sandy beach, with very gentle sea. Various cafes by the beach for snacks/ice creams etc, plus amusements arcade with soft play (which we didn't try). We had great day trips to the Needles (chairlift ride with under 4's sitting on laps or in front facing baby carriers, fairground rides), Amazon Zoo, and soft play in Newport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 51 in Shanklin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments

Address: 22A Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering holiday cottages and Apartments,all with patio or balcony, in a small complex with a indoor swimming pool, gym, games room & tennis court. Located just a short walk to the picturesque old village Shanklin, where you can wine and dine. 10 minutes walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Upper Chine Holiday Cottages And Apartments
Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments Hotel Shanklin
Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing