We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit play domino :-)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Sit play domino :-)”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Nice self-catering place with a full set of what is needed for a pleasant stay on the Isle of Wight. The bathroom would benefit from a renovation, the rest is fine. It is walking distance from the centre of old village where one would enjoy a good cream tea. A lovely park is just across the road. I have very warm memories of my trip to Shanklin and stay in Upper Chine.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank safaricakes s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    27
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

After deciding to visit the Isle of Wight for our short November holiday, I came across the Upper Chine holiday cottages during a google search and booked The Hideaway for 4 nights.
The cottage was lovely, although very cold without the electric heaters on! But seeing as we visited in November, its hardly surprising. There was nobody to great us when we arrived but the key was left under the mat and a nice bottle of bubbly awaited us inside. The cottage was perfect for our short break and has a proper kitchen cooker unlike some places that only offer a hob and microwave. There is an indoor pool on the site which is great, but we did find it a bit cold. The jacuzzi was the same temperature as the pool which was disappointing and the jets were quite volcanic. The games room was a good bonus although we didnt use it other than the gym equiptment. Our cottage overlooks the chine and you can hear the gentle moving water which is really relaxing. It really is a little hideaway perfect for couples who want a bit of peace & quiet. I can imagine this place would be very popular in summer with kids running around outside - but the hideaway is right at the end so chances are it wouldnt be as bad as some of the other cottages!

Room Tip: The Hideaway is perfect for couples - its right at the end and no reason for others (kids!) to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistyjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed for a week in Apartment 1 at Upper Chine. The apartment was clean and well appointed with a large living room and Kitchen, the 2 bedrooms and bathroom where also a nice size and it is very suitable for four people as the website claims. The web site is very good also and has floor plans of all the accomediation. The Kitchen is well equipped with utensils, crockery and cutlery as well which was also all very clean. The apartments have a swimming pool which was nice but perhaps a little small if all the apartments where occupied in summer. Above the pool is a combined games room, children's play room and gym which again was a pleasant surprise. The complex also has a laundry room which is very clean but could be a little small if all the apartments and cottages where occupied. Situated in Shanklin which has a pleasant beach and nice seafront, also a fair amount of shops, pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets within the town. The Isle of Wight is small so all it's attractions are only a short car journey away. We would recommend Upper Chine Holiday Cottages and apartments which is a nice relaxing laid back place to stay with nice staff and surroundings.

Room Tip: Check out the information and floor plans on the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The cottages are in a brilliant location, very close to the old town and the beach. Our cottage was very clean and inclued everything we needed. It didn't particularly feel like a 'complex' as such, but did have a swimming pool, games room etc on site.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdsmsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
230 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week spent here at Upper Chine. We had the cottage for two which is called "The Hideaway". As its name suggests Hideaway is located at the rear of the property which has the advantage of being right by the Chine Stream and away from the main road, Also you are as far as you can be from the play area, pool and gym , so if, like us , you want peace and quiet this is the place to be . The cottage itself was spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and had everything you would want for a lovely holiday. Upper chine itself is only a few minutes easy walk form the "Old Village" where there are some very good restaurants, bars, tea gardens and gift shops , etc. Our weather wasn't great but having the Hideaway to retreat to meant that it didnt really matter that much. We had a fantastic holiday and are already looking to see whan we can get back there. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: cotttages/apartments at the rear are quieter because they're away from the road , kids play area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just got home after a week's stay in Hedgehogs Retreat and have no complaints. We stayed in Owl's Hoot two years ago and both properties were excellent. Lovely location and close to the beach, old village etc. Will definately visit again at some point. Would highly recommend. Our only complaint was the weather!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have been to the Isle of Wight 4 times previously, 3 park resorts holidays and 1 private apartment but will definitely book again to come back to Upper Chine, super location, 5 minutes walk to Shanklin old town, 15 minutes to beach (some steep hills). We stayed in an apartment, lovely views to rear overlooking upper chine, clean, well equipped, small pool (a bit on the chilly side), games room, free table football plus pool table and air hockey which you pay for. Reception is open from 9.00am to 12.00 pm daily and was open on our changeover day at 3.00pm, friendly lady on reception. Tennis courts to rear of properties with plenty of rackets and balls for guests to use, even disposable BBQ for sale outside reception in case you wish to have an impromptu barbecue on a sunny evening. Beds made up on arrival and bath towels provided - super find, we will be back.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Flobble F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Villa Holiday Apartments
5.2 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments

Property: Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments
Address: 22A Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering holiday cottages and Apartments,all with patio or balcony, in a small complex with a indoor swimming pool, gym, games room & tennis court. Located just a short walk to the picturesque old village Shanklin, where you can wine and dine. 10 minutes walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments Hotel Shanklin
Upper Chine Holiday Cottages And Apartments
Upper Chine Holiday Cottages & Apartments Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing