We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Brooke House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooke House
Ranked #14 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Brooke House was very clean and tastefully decorated. The bedrooms were well equiped, tasteful, clean, with good en suite. The hospitally tray was very welcome. The food was excellent and well presented. Hana and Steve were excellent "hosts". They really looked after all our needs with a smile on their faces. The hotel is in a good situation for train and buses. On our stay we enjoyed the whole Island but particularly we enojoyed Osbourne House, Calbourne Watermill, the walks over the Downs, St Catherine's lighthouse, Puckpool Park with grazy golf. We went to two shows at Shanklin Theatre which were very very good. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We returned to Brooke House this summer for our fourth stay. Our first visit was only for a few nights but we knew we wanted to come back to this wonderful guest house for a longer stay.
Hana and Steve are very welcoming and make you feel at home straight away. The rooms are spacious and always kept clean. We had a very comfortable bed and a lovely en suite shower room.
The Brooke House breakfast is great - really sets you up for the day. We always have the full English but there's plenty of choice and Steve cooks it all perfectly.
We have recommended Brooke House to family and friends as excellent value. The service is genuinely friendly and we always have a relaxing stay. We leave feeling refreshed and looking forward to our next visit. It's a four star guest house which is run by two more stars!

Room Tip: Book early! It's recommended if you want your favourite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I have recently had a 5 night stay and can say this is one of the nicest B & B’S I have stayed it. You are made to feel very welcome and the property is exceptionally clean.
All amenities are very close and would recommended this to anyone who needs a quite / relaxing break

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had a lovely stay at Brooke House, Hannah and Steve were very accommodating and the room was lovely and clean; actually the whole house was spotless. We had a nicely cooked English breakfast which kept us going for the day. Brooke house is situated in a good location in Shanklin, the beach and the old village are within easy walking distance.

We had a great time on the Isle of Wight and will definitely return to Brooke House when we visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyandSally62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Nice room, exellent breakfast and very welcoming. We will be back again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konstbennyerlandsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This is a Fantastic B&B where you are very WELCOME. The Proprietors are Excellent Hosts. The B&B is very well situated & easy to find. The Rooms are Superbly Clean & Very Comfortable. This was my first time as a Guest at this B&B but would not hesitate to return in the future. Also I am recommending it to other people. I would say that The Brooke B&B is the best B&B or Hotel I have ever stayed in on the Isle Of Wight. When phoning to make my booking I found Hana very warm & friendly. I Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Look forward to returning for another stay sometime next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumpracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Truly excellent time had. Hana was very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble (and it felt like no trouble to ask). Spacious and well presented room (we stayed in room 5 with a king size bed). Excellent location across from the church, very quiet but only a stone's throw from the town centre and a few minutes from the beach. Wonderful breakfasts, plenty of parking, nice lounge and seating outside to catch the best of the sun. Old Town is fab - recommend the cream teas at the Old Thatch Tea Shop!! Shanklin is the best place to stay on the island and Brooke House is the best place to stay in Shanklin :o)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riggy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 51 in Shanklin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
355 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ryde
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooke House

Address: 2 St. Pauls Avenue, Shanklin PO37 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooke House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooke House is a beautiful blend of charming Victorian character and the more modern comforts of home.Hana & Steve invite you to sample the delights of Brooke House’s friendly, informal atmosphere and taste their fabulous, freshly prepared meals.For those wishing to leave their cars at home, we are located within minutes walk of public transport links. If you do decide to travel by car we are able to make car ferry bookings on your behalf and we have a car park.We have a variety of flexible accommodation; single, double, twin, triple and superior rooms are available.Our front patio is the ideal spot to sit and watch the world go by or maybe plan your days with the wealth of Island information available in our comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Brooke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooke House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing