We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home Feeling”
Review of Brooke House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brooke House
Ranked #14 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

They made you feel welcome as soon as you stepped in side the front door, nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed for one week having bed & breakfast their was plenty of food with a wide choice, the room was large with ensuite shower, fridge, hair dryer and an alarm clock. It was a great location for the town centre and the beach in Shanklin and for the rest of the IOW

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28David28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Very accomodating and helpful owners. Unbeatable food for breakfast and dinner.Catering for me as I am vegetarian. Lovely period house and exceptionally clean comfortable rooms. What more can anyone else want at the most reasonable price. When possible we will visit again and most certainly recommend others to do so if they are looking to enjoy Shanklin in comfortable surroundings.Many thanks to Hana and Steve for an enjoyable stay.



Auction fever two.

Room Tip: Our room (No2) had a good view of Shanklin high street and was adjacent to the auction house on Reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My boyfriend and i visited brooke house for a last minute break this weekend after reading the reviews but i have to say we were slightly sceptical about the 100% excellent rating. However, now i can totally see why:

The location was perfect, especially for visitors on foot. We arrived at shanklin station (which is also a bus stop) from which you can see the hotel, a mere 2 minute walk away! And it was then only 10 minutes to the beach and old village. We were provided with timetables and leaflets in our room and hana was always happy to give us information on where to go. As we wanted to explore the island it was the perfect base location wise. We hired a bike one day that was a simple bus to sandown and after we had dropped it back we walked back to shanklin via the coastal path with its stunning views, which you can access only 5-10 mins away from the hotel.

The house itself is gorgeous, with beatifully decorated wide hallways and very comfy guest sitting room equipped with large sofas, a tv and dvd player and games, dvds, books and magazines for anyone to use. There was also a leaflet stand to give us some inspiration on where to go. Outside looked newly decorated and each day they put out brand new and very comfortable padded garden chairs and tables for those wanting to soak up the sun. The dining room was large and well set out, with plenty of space to enjoy your breakfast.

As for the room, it was lovely and absolutely massive. We had room 1, a twin/king at the front of the house with a sofa, tv/dvd, a personal fridge and even a desk in front of large bay windows overlooking the beautiful church opposite. The bed was amazingly comfy, and whilst i was prepared for it being two twins pushed together the proper mattress cover meant this wasn't even noticeable unlike other places i have stayed. We had a hospitality tray with everything we needed, even with the option of fresh milk if required. Hot chocolate sachets were put out every night in the hallway for all to take, which was a lovely touch!

As for the cleaning, it was immaculate. The whole house was permanently clean and tidy and our room was thoroughly cleaned each day, right down to the shower screens and polished taps. Very impressed!!! This coupled with the lovely decor throughout made this a wonderful environment for even the pickiest of travellers.

With respects to service i cannot fault it. Hana was very lovely even calling us the day before to check arrival times and directions. She was happy to accomodate our needs and made out like nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived she showed us round and explained everything, rather than just handing us our keys. She was always on hand, (even with a bell if people needed urgent out of hours assistance) but was very respectful and unobtrusive, chatting endlessly to those guests who wanted to but not intruding if anyone wanted a quiet holiday to themselves. We were also impressed at her greeting us by name on arrival and remembering our breakfast choices. A very lovely and wonderful hostess.

Finally the food was wonderful. We had a full english each day and all the food was very good quality and cooked to perfection unlike some hotel buffets. The servings were big enough to keep us going, even on a hilly cycle! We didnt have the dinner but i can imagine it was of equally high standards.

Considering all this, and the state of some of the other guest houses we saw around Shanklin, £30pp a night is a massive bargain, people would be crazy to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Really nice B&B, rooms look very newly refurbished and are comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast is good. Location convenient right next to the train station. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I decided to stay at Brooke House after reading the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. The whole house was very clean and we had an enjoyable, comfortable stay. Breakfast was freshly cooked from top quality products and very enjoyable. The train station is 100yards away, the beach a 10 minute walk and Shanklin town centre is only 2 minutes away with its fine restaurants and pubs. Hanna (host) was very polite, interested, and most helpful checking all was to our liking. I believe Brooke House closes over winter so the reviews will dry up until it re opens, Hanna mentioned they intend to decorate it again though as mentioned by others in their reviews it doesn't need it. It is clear that the Host's focus on customer service is second to none and it deserves recognition. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripping85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We have stayed at Brooke House three times now and the accommodation gets better each time. It is friendly and extremely comfortable. Excellent food and hospitality. All rooms en-suite which is excellent and are bright sunny and beautifully decorated and furnished. Close to all amenities, i.e. Shanklin station, bus station, shops and only 15 min walk through old village to the beach. Cannot praise it enough and will go back again and again. Jill & Henry Davies - Bracknell

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, even one on ground floor for those who do not, or cannot manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jill_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Booked to stay 2 nights and was delighted by both the friendliness and the standard of accomodation. We were only here for B&B, so can't comment on the evening meals - but, if anything like the breakfast then you won't go wrong. Brooke House is a perfect base to explore the I@W.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul_F1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#34 of 51 in Shanklin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooke House

Address: 2 St. Pauls Avenue, Shanklin PO37 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooke House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooke House is a beautiful blend of charming Victorian character and the more modern comforts of home.Hana & Steve invite you to sample the delights of Brooke House’s friendly, informal atmosphere and taste their fabulous, freshly prepared meals.For those wishing to leave their cars at home, we are located within minutes walk of public transport links. If you do decide to travel by car we are able to make car ferry bookings on your behalf and we have a car park.We have a variety of flexible accommodation; single, double, twin, triple and superior rooms are available.Our front patio is the ideal spot to sit and watch the world go by or maybe plan your days with the wealth of Island information available in our comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Brooke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooke House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing