We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best B&B in Shanklin. Probably the best on the Island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brooke House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brooke House
Ranked #18 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The Best B&B in Shanklin. Probably the best on the Island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Brooke House is definitely the best place anyone can stay. There is nothing you can fault with this place it is well situated and very clean and tidy. It has the best hosting team around and they are always very polite courteous and very helpful and knowledgeable. I had a wonderful double room that was very comfortable & it has an en-suite shower room. It also has a TV, It also has a hair dryer in one of the draws. Plus a tray for tea and coffee. Wardrobe, Chest of Drawers, Bedside Tables, Sofa, Desk and another small set of draws so plenty of places to put your belongings. There was also a Fridge in the room which I found very handy as I was able to use it to keep things cold and also able to freeze ice packs for my cool bag for picnics.
The food is always very well cooked and very tasty. There is cereals to start your breakfast with along with either apple juice or orange juice. I don't drink hot drinks so I was able to have a jug of iced water with my breakfast. You have plenty of choice for breakfast and it is all good quality food & very filling.
Hana and Steve are always improving the Brooke House and there have been many changes since they first moved there. Even since I have been staying there there has been quiet a few changes made always for the better.
I would never stay anywhere else on the Island as I could not go anywhere else as I believe this is the best place to stay out of all the places to stay on the island.
If you ever need anything nothing is any trouble for Hana & Steve. You can borrow and Iron and Ironing Board. Also they can give you very good advice on many things.
The shops are within walking distance as is the Station and Sea. The Buses are also very close by.

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant they are all spotlessly clean and tidy. There are some rooms with a Fridge i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
67
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What to say about Brooke House?

There is nothing to find fault with, immaculate décor, spotlessly clean with lovely spacious rooms, very high standards maintained.

Great breakfast cooked by Steve, Hana and Steve are a great team....very welcoming and helpful, lovely couple.

Would recommend Brooke House to everyone, you will not be disappointed - unless you went somewhere else!

Room Tip: Does not matter which room you get - just book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for a week great service very clean and comfortable room excellent bus & train service very friendly hosts and very good breakfast very comfortable beds. Really enjoyed our stay at the Brooke house

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneybags80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

have just spent from 5-9th of april 2014 at this lovely b& b. high standard decor, spotlessly clean rooms and shower and linen. food cooked and served to perfection and all fresh produce.
hana and steve are a lovely welcoming couple who made us both feel at home straight away.and nothing was too much trouble.
we are definitely going back and now would not consider anywhere else.
very highly recommend *********

Room Tip: if going to isle of wight then look no further than brooke house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Not much that we can add to the many glorifying reviews already submitted for this Hotel, from decor through cleanliness to food all was superb. We particularly appreciated the King sized bed and firm mattress.

Hana and Steve are to be congratulated for all their efforts. Were Alex Polizzi to visit her notebook would be empty!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel exceeded all our expectations on all levels. Hannah was such a lovley host (we never got to met Steve), nothing was too much trouble and there was a real personal touch to how she dealt with the guests. The house is kept spotlessly clean and is tastefully decorated in keeping with the style of the house. The breakfast had a good choice both hot and cold. We really cant recommend this place anough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time here. Right from the beginning there was a really personal touch and the little things we really taken care of. The whole building was spotless and was cleaned every day. The breakfast was superb. The rooms were spacious and very well utilised. We could not speak highly enough of the owners and the way in which their business was conducted. No more than a minutes walk from the shopping areas in Shanklin and easily walkable distances to the beach and old village.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimandRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooke House

Property: Brooke House
Address: 2 St. Pauls Avenue, Shanklin PO37 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooke House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooke House is a beautiful blend of charming Victorian character and the more modern comforts of home.Hana & Steve invite you to sample the delights of Brooke House’s friendly, informal atmosphere and taste their fabulous, freshly prepared meals.For those wishing to leave their cars at home, we are located within minutes walk of public transport links. If you do decide to travel by car we are able to make car ferry bookings on your behalf and we have a car park.We have a variety of flexible accommodation; single, double, twin, triple and superior rooms are available.Our front patio is the ideal spot to sit and watch the world go by or maybe plan your days with the wealth of Island information available in our comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooke House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing