We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”
Review of Brooke House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brooke House
Ranked #14 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked this on the internet, turned up for a weekend break away with my family and we all loved our stay. We only met Hana and she was friendly, happy and down to earth - Charlie, my 8 yr old took an instant liking to her and she was lovely with him. The room and bathroom were very clean, tidy, very open and the decor was modern. Shanklin is within walking distance and there are restaurants and shops close by, we loved our weekend there. The breakfast is tasty and Hana can't do enough for you, she works very hard. Thank you for our stay :-) x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very clean with great service, Hanna and Steve were welcoming, helpful and friendly. We stayed in the annexe room which had its own entrance, clean spacious and comfortable. Good value for money and great location. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be staying there again on our regular visits to the island.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Only 100 yards from the train station, this hotel is very easy to get to. Hannah and Steve made us feel extremely welcome. They are both very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfasts in the morning were spot on. Rooms and bathrooms very clean and bed was comfy too. Prices also at an appropriate level. All in all recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47,467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We don't often stay in B and B's and when visiting the Shanklin / Sandown areas then there are hundreds to chose from, many of which will be ok or even pretty good.

But we were lucky and picked Brooke House and when we go back to the island we'll certainly stay here again. The welcome from Hannah was very friendly and individual because we were late; everything is very clean and well organised, the breakfast was well cooked, and individual needs are catered for well. Hannah was always very helpful, even finding me some local information and remembering my liking for strong coffee. Our room had everything that we needed, with tea and coffee facilities, a lovely en suite and plenty of space, so that we didn't feel cramped at all.
Ŷou will find it hard to stay in a better B and B in this area.

Room Tip: Room 1 is large, very spacious and has a settee and fridge. Get there early to bag one of the 4 par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Brooke House is definitely the best place anyone can stay. There is nothing you can fault with this place it is well situated and very clean and tidy. It has the best hosting team around and they are always very polite courteous and very helpful and knowledgeable. I had a wonderful double room that was very comfortable & it has an en-suite shower room. It also has a TV, It also has a hair dryer in one of the draws. Plus a tray for tea and coffee. Wardrobe, Chest of Drawers, Bedside Tables, Sofa, Desk and another small set of draws so plenty of places to put your belongings. There was also a Fridge in the room which I found very handy as I was able to use it to keep things cold and also able to freeze ice packs for my cool bag for picnics.
The food is always very well cooked and very tasty. There is cereals to start your breakfast with along with either apple juice or orange juice. I don't drink hot drinks so I was able to have a jug of iced water with my breakfast. You have plenty of choice for breakfast and it is all good quality food & very filling.
Hana and Steve are always improving the Brooke House and there have been many changes since they first moved there. Even since I have been staying there there has been quiet a few changes made always for the better.
I would never stay anywhere else on the Island as I could not go anywhere else as I believe this is the best place to stay out of all the places to stay on the island.
If you ever need anything nothing is any trouble for Hana & Steve. You can borrow and Iron and Ironing Board. Also they can give you very good advice on many things.
The shops are within walking distance as is the Station and Sea. The Buses are also very close by.

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant they are all spotlessly clean and tidy. There are some rooms with a Fridge i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumpracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What to say about Brooke House?

There is nothing to find fault with, immaculate décor, spotlessly clean with lovely spacious rooms, very high standards maintained.

Great breakfast cooked by Steve, Hana and Steve are a great team....very welcoming and helpful, lovely couple.

Would recommend Brooke House to everyone, you will not be disappointed - unless you went somewhere else!

Room Tip: Does not matter which room you get - just book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for a week great service very clean and comfortable room excellent bus & train service very friendly hosts and very good breakfast very comfortable beds. Really enjoyed our stay at the Brooke house

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moneybags80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#34 of 51 in Shanklin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooke House

Address: 2 St. Pauls Avenue, Shanklin PO37 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooke House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooke House is a beautiful blend of charming Victorian character and the more modern comforts of home.Hana & Steve invite you to sample the delights of Brooke House’s friendly, informal atmosphere and taste their fabulous, freshly prepared meals.For those wishing to leave their cars at home, we are located within minutes walk of public transport links. If you do decide to travel by car we are able to make car ferry bookings on your behalf and we have a car park.We have a variety of flexible accommodation; single, double, twin, triple and superior rooms are available.Our front patio is the ideal spot to sit and watch the world go by or maybe plan your days with the wealth of Island information available in our comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Brooke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooke House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing