We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't do enough for us.”
Review of The Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront Inn
Ranked #30 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We booked the Waterfront Inn initially to see family before Christmas, however unfortunately we had a family bereavement, the funeral was the same weekend we had booked for so we kept the reservation, I telephoned the Hotel to see if they could accommodate the wake and they could not have been more helpful and organised everything and I had nothing to worry about.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome and relaxed.

We have a dog and chose to stay in room 8 as it accommodates pets, you would not have known this though as it was extremely clean and the decor was very tasteful.

We had numerous different meals in the hotel and the food was excellent.

Overall I could not fault any aspect of our stay and would like to thank Sharon and her team for all their hard work and attentiveness.

Belinda and Mark

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Phew what a good stay ! The food is outstanding, the fish is as good as it gets in fine dining restaurants. They got me a fresh lobster too, did it how I like it !!! Yeah !!! The wine/beer is great too ..... You wont need any lunch either , the breakfasts are substantial, all REALLY good produce. Did I say the staff were very very good. All of 'em. We were there when they had a charity evening and entered into quiz and bingo. The natives are friendly too
Oh and right on the beach Good eh !

Room Tip: Room 8 is large, and a very good sea view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikej77Romsey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

You are welcomed by a member of staff! Amazing!!! Take your seat and sit and enjoy a lovely view! Served at your table to drink and food , nothing could be better. The food is superb and the staff are very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble.Can't say any more. BRILLIANT.

Room Tip: Room 9. You go to sleep with the sound of the waves! What more could you ask for.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A perfect location. A very good hotel and dog friendly,staff are excellent.Sharon was very good nothing was to much trouble for her. The breakfast and evening meals were very good.room very clean sea views excellent,but could do with a more powerful shower.would we stay here again definitely Yes,would I recommend the Waterfront inn Yes.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank brucewillisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at the Waterfront Inn at the end of April/beginning of May 2013 while our daughter was away on a school trip, a rare couple of nights to ourselves without child! Perfect choice..... the Waterfront is a lovely, welcoming Inn with the perfect location directly opposite the sea. Our room (room 10) was clean and comfortable and had a fabuolus sea view. Sadly, the plumbing is a problem at the Waterfront though.... shower is a mere trickle of water which is frustrating and disappointing when everything else is just so lovely. As other reviews, the food is amazing! We only ever had lunch there (twice) but it's all beautifully cooked, well presented and the portion sizes are HUGE! It's definitely a popular place to eat at lunchtime and does get very busy but it's worth waiting for a table on the terrace if the weather is good (which it was for us!). We were well looked after by everyone, the owners are accessible and approachable and Sharon deserves a special mention, nothing was any trouble at all. Breakfast was freshly cooked each morning when we arrived in the dining room and a great way to start the day. LOVED IT and will definitely be going back in 2014 when our daughter goes on her next school trip!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for the rooms with a full seaview.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We haven't stayed at The Waterfront but have eaten there every night on our 3 trips to Shanklin. The food is amazing and very generous portions. The manager Sharon provides an excellent service and so do all the waiting staff, nothing is too much trouble. A big must according to my hubby is the Waterfront chicken, I prefer fish so would recommend the fish of the day which last night was a whole grilled plaice and tonight I on Sharon's recommendation had the haddock and chips which I would say is the best piece of battered haddock I've ever eaten. Also the deserts are not to be missed, 3 consecutive nights I've had the cheesecake which is melt in the mouth delicious. If your in Shanklin give them a try, I'm sure you'll be back numerous times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Waterfront Inn is the perfect holiday location - directly opposite the sea and lovely beach of Shanklin, very busy during the day but quiet at night so no disturbed nights. We were well looked after throughout our stay and felt like we had made friends with staff by the time we left - there's not many places where staff will join you for a drink at the end of their shift. Breakfast was very good quality with different fresh fruits each day so it didn't feel like the food was going to keep coming out until it was eaten, and the cooked breakfast was spot on. We stayed during the August Bank Holiday week and The Waterfront was exceptionally busy but they always made time for us as guests. Our room was clean and comfortable and we ate in the restaurant several times - quality of food was excellent and the service very good - at especially busy times you are notified of the waiting time for food before you take a seat so there's no surprises if you have to wait a while. Special mention for Sharon who always made time for us no matter how busy she was - see you soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#20 of 51 in Shanklin
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#13 of 51 in Shanklin
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Inn

Address: 19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £58 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Inn is family-run Guest House / Hotel with 8 bedrooms, all en-suite, 5 of which have sea views and all offer bed and breakfast. We appreciate that our guests' enjoyment is the key to our success and we endeavour to offer high standards in customer service together with a personal touch. We welcome dogs, and pets in general, throughout the hotel. We are a free house and offer a wide selection of Isle of Wight ales, lagers, wines & spirits, together with a straightforward, homely menu that features local steaks and seafood in addition to the usual seaside favourites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Shanklin
The Waterfront Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing