We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.”
Review of The Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront Inn
Ranked #30 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just arrived back from dinner here tonight. We had to sit outside due to it being fully booked inside but the waiter was so attentive moving chairs to make sure our table was placed under the heaters which he then turned on for us - this is all just as we've arrived! Considering it was very busy we were still served very quickly with no waiting around. The good was so tasty and filled me right up. I literally cannot fault the place at all! Sea views as we are delicious views served by caring attentive staff at a reasonable price. Definitely will be returning and DEFINITELY recommend :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RR94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Fab U Lous............We have just had the 'three course' lunch, just fantastic, the fish was super fresh and the batter was the lightest we have ever tasted and with proper chips as well! The starter & dessert were also lovely. The staff were so very helpful, pleasant, and full of smiles, such a lovely change from the normal 'if you cannot see it on the menu, we cannot do it' brigade that is so very common today. A very big 'WELL DONE WATERFRONT INN', we wish you every success for your business, it is well deserved.
The Clark & Wheeler Families

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I had dinner and we were delighted. It has great location and the first thing you notice is just how clean and sparkly this place is. Newspapers to read whilst you have a drink and great artwork everywhere.
I like real ale and wasn't disappointed, it was in good conditions as well. For our meal no complaints but with the generous portions, my only beef was I couldn't eat it all.
Seriously it was good pub food. The fish of the day was wonderful on a bed of crushed potatoes. It was served with roasted vegetables and they were delicious and unusual. A very accomplished dish.
Service was attentive and above all friendly, I think somebody has taken staff training to heart, I saw the door being opened for people and the welcome smile in front and behind the bar shows everyone has signed up to the high standards. Well done!

Room Tip: We did not stay so can't help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have just had a 4 night stay at the Waterfront. Sharon was welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The food was excellent and was also good value for money. The music on Valentines night was a duo who set the atmosphere really well. They sang well, but were not so loud as to be intrusive. We would recommend room 8! The bed was the best we have ever slept in and the view of the sea incredible. Thank you Sharon for making it such a memorable stay.

Kim and Ray

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 292RayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had been recommended to visit this restaurant, however, we soon regretted it! 1, the welcome was just like this weather, very cold. 2. after we sat down at our table, the dim blue light was too horrible to read the menu or see the food! 3. the servers have seemed to have trouble with their smile and attitude problems. 4. The food was absolutely awful, fish cake outside was too burnt, inside still raw...the main course was way too much and the presentation was really unappetising! The taste was so bland, the Veg were nightmare too, the black piece of cauliflower and also so cold that the pat of butter on top never melted.it has the veg was freeze cold! The service was awful, no one really cared about the good quality..5,the price much higher than similar restaurants offer good food. The music was awful too...6, The guy almost threw the bottle of wine on the table! Never go back there again! And if you want to get disappointed, this restaurant will guarantee you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gom4older
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a fantastic meal, beautifully cooked, with just the right amount of service. The acoustic guitar duo were absolutely brilliant in the background would normally be able to say had a lovely view of Sandown bay but as it was the night of a huge storm we had a view of the big waves rolling in, yet we were still nice and warm and comfortable in our room. Our cooked breakfast in the morning was really nice. My wife and I will defiantly be returning.
Many thanks to Catherine and David
From John and Cathy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just spent three days two nights at Water front hotel. Lovely welcome, it can be overwhelming being alone, but myself and dog very soon feeling very at ease.
The food and service excellent, best bed I have slept in for a long time,
Food wonderful, my young dog had a great time, I cut short my visit due to such bad weather. I will however be going back
Totally relaxed break, met up with my sister who stayed also one night.
It is a good place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms 8, 9 & 10 all face the sea wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#27 of 51 in Shanklin
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snowdon House
Snowdon House
#29 of 51 in Shanklin
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Inn

Address: 19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Inn is family-run Guest House / Hotel with 8 bedrooms, all en-suite, 5 of which have sea views and all offer bed and breakfast. We appreciate that our guests' enjoyment is the key to our success and we endeavour to offer high standards in customer service together with a personal touch. We welcome dogs, and pets in general, throughout the hotel. We are a free house and offer a wide selection of Isle of Wight ales, lagers, wines & spirits, together with a straightforward, homely menu that features local steaks and seafood in addition to the usual seaside favourites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Shanklin
The Waterfront Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing