We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just take a look around you...what a beautiful campsite.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ninham Country Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just take a look around you...what a beautiful campsite.”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This campsite does exactly what it says on the tin (or website!)...
We stayed for 3 nights in a tent and used most of the facilities.
Shower block/toilets - very clean (better than most hotels!) - ok they are a bit dated BUT
it is a campsite...if your looking for power showers,free soap and towels to take home
book yourself into a hotel!! 8/10 for cleanliness and constant supply of hot water.
5/10 for it being child friendly...fixed shower head too far away and the water was too hot for a 2 year old (sorry! just being honest)
Washing/drying facilities - excellent. (maybe add a couple more machines?)
Pool area - Very happy there was a baby/toddler pool seperate to the big pool - Our 2 year old loved it! Could do with more seating at the far end near the toddler pool.

This really is a fantastic campsite - the scenery is beautiful,lots of wildlife and lovely walks... the site is well maintained and very clean...we really loved it and will be back next year for sure.
We would also like to thank Mark,Kate and Ollie for doing such a fantastic job of running Ninham...without them you really would have something to complain about!
Keep up the good work guys and hopefully see you there next year.
P.S I forgot to complain about the man (or was it his wife?) that snored so loudly we couldn't sleep...because we were laughing so much ;)
We recommend Ninham and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEADTEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    35
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
88
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I stayed at this camping site with my new wife and two year old daughter. The location is excellent and the camp site was ok, clean and spacious but a little basic. The space allocated for pitches was very good but the shower blocks were a bit dated.

I was very disappointed with the staff though. Their ability to communicate with the customers is very flawed. The shower block was really unsuitable for my two year old so I complained about it to the reception. They did not tell me they had toddler changing facilities. I then complained again after the showers burnt my little one (not badly). The owner came to see me but he was clearly only interested to see if he was liable for any damage to her. He told me that I should have let them know I had a toddler and they would have put me near the toddler and baby facilities and give me a key to them. I told him I wasn't aware of the facilities and he told me I should have read the website. I then did read the website and it wasn't mentioned. I checked the booking details and I had told them about our little one. I read all their literature and it wasn't mentioned. So I spoke to them again about it, saying that he was being unreasonable. I was told his son runs the park and that he would call me to discuss my concerns. Suprise suprise the call never happened.

This resort is not bad, but the staff are poor communicators promising phone calls which never happen. They also dont know the facilities of their resort very well or its too much hassle to tell the customers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottjturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
08212011h, Manager at Ninham Country Holidays, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
A fair few inaccuracies in this review.

The client did not first complain facilities were unsuitable and then burn his child - The client complained after he put his child into the shower - and then was informed baby baths were available.

There are facilities provided for babies to bath in - information which is provided in our brochure and a free key is provided .

If he came to us with his first complaint that the facilities he was using were unsuitable, which he didn't (inaccurate) , he would have been told then there were facilities available.

He did not do this - He instead put his child (whilst under the influence of alcohol ) into a shower, and did not check the temperature first. He admitted to this.

To say the gentleman was: clearly only interested to see if he was liable for any damage to her is pure speculation and inaccurate. As a matter of course and process, every complaint is dealt with to obtain accurate information.

The client was contacted on 2 further occasions after his stay, messages were left - no return phone call.

Its a shame trip advisor publish such inaccurate reviews in-line with their own guidelines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, GB
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Treetops self catering accomodation an upside down house with excellent facilities for up to six people.
Ideal location for visiting the popular beaches at Sandown and Shanklin. Very near to Lake and its Morrisons Spmkt. Godshill only 10 mins drive.
Site is huge and you are a long hike to the pool (which is outdoors no changing facilities we used a towel and drove down) and the games room which is open til 10pm and has wifi connection.
A great holiday in a lovely location.
Places to visit include Black gang Cine (don't both with children over 5. Robin Hill excellent park but the best ride (Tobogan) is extra £1.50 per person.
At Shanklin on the front an excelent arcade for youngsters which actually has the old machines to take 1 and 2ps.
My advice use Tesco vouchers for crossing with Wightlink and at Needles park. Chairlift is broken at present. We necer got to Amazon Zoo but this also takes Tesco vouchers.
Shanklin Chine is as beautiful (try going at dusk) as ever and we then used the penny arcade above.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickmytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed here at the start of the school summer holidays and although it was busy the pitches are all a very good size and so it didn't feel overcrowded.
It is all very well maintained and clean. We chose to stay in the field without dogs as there is a choice which is a great idea.
The swimming pool although not very large was great and has sun loungers all the way round.
The toilets and showers could do with a little bit of an update but they were clean and tidy.
Would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hjcmje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 52 in Shanklin
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninham Country Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninham Country Holidays

Property: Ninham Country Holidays
Address: Ninham Farm, Shanklin PO37 7PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ninham Country Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Ninham Country Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninham Country Holidays Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing