We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teething problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ninham Country Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Teething problems”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Cracking site, pool nice an warm, games room is pretty poor, the new shower block looks amazing but the showers are awful , you need to press the button every 20 secs you can't adjust head or temp and the spray is a joke, a lot of the doors don't lock as out of alignment , the security lock on the whole shower block is a pain as the kids either don't know the combination or how to enter it which means you have to go with them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil_hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItchyFeetiow, Manager at Ninham Country Holidays, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello Phil. Thank you for your review. To respond to some of your points: The Games room is 'next' on the list for a refurbish for 2014.
With any new facility there are teething issues. The shower heads installed are a commercial product to be robust & dependable for such uses as camping parks - I am afraid the truth is, if we installed a domestic product, they would not last 5 min in such an environment.
The 'push button' is predominately to conserve water - we will look at the time flow on this - which should be 2-3 min, but we have had no complaints so far.
The cubicle system is a top spec product, but as the doors in their first year of use they will naturally with gravity & use drop from their fixed & aligned position, and we realign when necessary.
I have personally not seen many children struggle with the lock & the 4 number code (supplied at check in on the info pamphlet )
The rules actually state that parents should be responsible for their own children and accompany them within the facility - this is to ensure that the facilities remain 'amazing' !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    31
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
81
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our first time staying at Ninham Country Holidays. We stayed for four nights on the Orchard camping area which was well laid out, very spacious and pleasantly green.

The site is peaceful, clean and very beautiful yet with plenty of activities to do nearby with the beach only being a 10 minute cycle to. The location of the campsite is set back from the main road so you do really feel you are away from everything which was great. Lidl and Morrisons are only a 5 or 10 minute walk away but you'd never think this as the site is so peaceful!

The staff were very friendly and welcoming and it is clear that they have worked hard on improving the site by building an excellent washing / toilet and shower block. It is clean, light, spacious and well planned out!!

Overall we had a fantastic time relaxing on and off the campsite and in the pool and games room as well.

We will definitely be back next year! Can't say a bad word! Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordelia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pointless
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Had a great family holiday at Treetops (the upside down house) arrived on 19th July for one week. We were six adults and one 6 month old baby. There was plenty of room for us all, the house was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities you could wish for, including a washer/drier, which was needed as the weather was so good and towels were being used at an alarming rate. We enjoyed watching the rabbits and squirrels. Toured the island enjoying The Needles, Cowes, Shanklin, Sandown, Yarmouth. Would certainly recommend Treetops as a great holiday home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all-hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Spent 3 nights there from 26th to 29th July. Just cant fault the site at all. Pitches are very large and your not on top of each other. Shower block is lovely, very clean and lots of showers. The kids loved the swimming pool and the play area. Everything seemed to calm down at about 10pm and people were respectful of noise levels.

Good access to Shanklin as well.....about 1.5 mile walk from the site or a bus outside.

No shop on site, this is not a negative, just a heads up....Morrsions is literally about a 1 minute drive.

A lot of campsite owners shoulf come here and see how it's done!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobby1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Second time at Ninham for us by motorcycle. Campsite is in a great quiet central position and I can only echo the other reports here regarding the peace, tranquility and cleanliness of the whole site. Pitches are fairly level which is great bonus while camping lol. Shops (Morrisons, Co-op, Lidl and various others), cafes and bars all in easy walking distance. If you can range a little further with walking I highly recommend the Coastal path from Shanklin to Ventnor, look out for red squirrels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great campsite. Stayed July 2013. Pitches are large enough to get your tent and car all comfortably fitted in. The trees and hedges around the pitches help to provide good shade for your tent. Excellent new toilet & wash block. Interior is fitted out like a 4 star hotel Health Spa!! Swimming pool is an excellent facility, clean and well maintained. Total hit with our kids who loved jumping in after a hot day sight seeing. There is a Morrison's supermarket, 4 mins drive from the campsite along with a cafe so you can have a slap up cooked breakfast on the day you leave!! The site is very family friendly with the site being totally quiet after 10.00pm. Great for getting your kids off to sleep. People up later than that, but being being respectfully quiet whilst having a glass of red!! Lots of space outside the individual pitches for kids to play games together with other families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milno_BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Great camping holiday at Ninham, lovely site, nice pool & immaculate new shower block (hope they keep up the cleaning so that it stays so lovely). Handy for everywhere by car, Morrisons & a pub down the road. Loved the Isle of Wight & had beautiful weather, will deffinitely go back to the island & this camp site.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyinYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
416 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninham Country Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninham Country Holidays

Property: Ninham Country Holidays
Address: Ninham Farm, Shanklin PO37 7PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ninham Country Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Ninham Country Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ninham Country Holidays Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing