We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Worst Restaurant Ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Lounge - CLOSED

Spice Lounge
Price range: US$25 - US$55
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Established in 1983, the epi-center of Shanklin's fine Indian dining. Daily promotions, take away and delivery service. Fresh Local produce and authentic Indian spices.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Worst Restaurant Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Having visited many many restaurants this one has to be the worst ever and really should be investigated. The service was poor with waitress not knowing what drinks they had or flavours ( childrens/soft drinks). I was asked if my daughter could only have half a lemonade as they only had half a glass left!. When a drink did appear it was full of black specimens that could not be identified. Surely the waitress could also see this?? . Again it went back. Poppadum's came to the table and even bending them in half they would not break, you had to rip them up !. Another table ordered chips and the waitress ran out to the local chippy!. After one hour our meal turned up only to have Chinese rice on the table?? Now I really couldn't believe it. The meals was poor by any standards and was full of oil. We just wanted to leave and with a full table of food I asked for the bill which came to £55.50 and even more drinks on the bill than we actually had. I asked the waitress as there were only 4 of us ( 3 childen and myself) and she actually started to question me!!!. This restaurant should be avoided at all cost, trading standards should be called as this is not a place that people should be coaxed into visiting. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ian190773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    9
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Absolutely delicious food. We rang to order a takeaway but driver was off sick, so we came in and received 20% off - very generous!! Small but lively and comfortable!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value small Indian restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

All 3 of us had the 4 course "banquet" as advertised in the window: starter, main, rice plus side dish for £9.95/head with our own wine from Londis up the road. Service was friendly and efficient. Food was basic and just as described: chicken rogan josh & beef madras etc. No fancy trimmings but good value nevertheless.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blamb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best indian on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

just got back from the spice lounge , the staff are welcoming and very helpful, i would recommend this restaurant for a great night out. The food was fab and full of flavour . THE BEST INDIAN ON THE ISLAND. I would go back next time i am on hoilday

Five stars

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sansalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dear oh dear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very poor, one man band...he took our order wearing a grubby curry stained shirt, went off and cooked it....very poor stuff...beer wasn't even cold !
Took our money, we paid in cash, we left the restaurant and saw him leg it down the road into ladbrokes to play the fruit machines...we just laughed and chalked it down to experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Lounge also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing