We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disapointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Lounge - CLOSED

Spice Lounge
Price range: US$25 - US$55
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Established in 1983, the epi-center of Shanklin's fine Indian dining. Daily promotions, take away and delivery service. Fresh Local produce and authentic Indian spices.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a disapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The menu looked wonderful although the place looked dingy. We we're greeted with a cheerful but un experienced waiter, who's wife(?!) was having a personal phone call in the seating area and discussing this with the owner (?!) whilst we we're trying to eat. The food promised to be delicious but was at a disappointingly poor standard. The nann bread was shop bought, and i imagine some of the other 'authentic' ingredients were too. We did not enjoy this meal at all, and were pleased to leave. We would not recommend this restaurant at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    9
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suspicious name change”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Firstly no slimline tonic, fine I can live with that even though an offer of them going to get it would be welcome. Poppadoms came with a very tired looking onion salad. Guess it was a good couple of days old. Then to top it all, they sold out of cobra. Yes an indian with only spanish beer! (San miguel) i couldnt make this up if i tried. Paid the bill and left before ordering, on way out it seems it has had its card facilities suspended and name change. Enough said!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hornchurch64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little Indian but big on taste.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have been visiting Foz nearly ten years now and we have always had great tasting food and excellent customer service. We love trying new dishes and tasty indian puddings - we are treated like one of the family, thank you Foz and see you again very soon........... can't wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Worst Restaurant Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Having visited many many restaurants this one has to be the worst ever and really should be investigated. The service was poor with waitress not knowing what drinks they had or flavours ( childrens/soft drinks). I was asked if my daughter could only have half a lemonade as they only had half a glass left!. When a drink did appear it was full of black specimens that could not be identified. Surely the waitress could also see this?? . Again it went back. Poppadum's came to the table and even bending them in half they would not break, you had to rip them up !. Another table ordered chips and the waitress ran out to the local chippy!. After one hour our meal turned up only to have Chinese rice on the table?? Now I really couldn't believe it. The meals was poor by any standards and was full of oil. We just wanted to leave and with a full table of food I asked for the bill which came to £55.50 and even more drinks on the bill than we actually had. I asked the waitress as there were only 4 of us ( 3 childen and myself) and she actually started to question me!!!. This restaurant should be avoided at all cost, trading standards should be called as this is not a place that people should be coaxed into visiting. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ian190773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Absolutely delicious food. We rang to order a takeaway but driver was off sick, so we came in and received 20% off - very generous!! Small but lively and comfortable!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Lounge also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing