We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to go back”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2011

this hotel was by far the best hotel we have stayed in very clean views to die for and very friendly staff and had the best start to each day with a full cooked english breakfast we was well looked after thank you

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mini034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

i was made to feel very welcome when we first arrived, we was given a pot of coffee on arrival, then was shown where to eat also where there was an extra bathroom for all guest to use, the room was very bright and very clean as our room had a shower the extra bathroom across the landing was very usefull for bathing the two children after a fun day on the beach which is located two mins away from hotel, the breakfast in the mornings were a full 5star breakfast and came out hot and freshly cooked, the evenings was great as we sat at the bar there is a tv lounge just off the bar area where the children watched tv and played games, there is a beautifull view from the lounge and very pretty at night, i loved it all i cant fault it, we will defernitly be back again, thank you ann and bob and all the amazing staff at the hotel you all made our holiday a very nice stay xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonSpike26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We selected this hotel from the Isle of Wight Tourist board website, and it lived up to all the descriptions. Wehn I telephoned to clarify the 3 night package price (which included the ferry) I was given very friendly help and it made the decision easy! The only slight dissapointment was that the rooms had baths only, there was a shower available across the landing. This should maybe be mentioned at time of booking. The balcony rooms are a real bonus, I would only return if they were available at the time, made the rooms really special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DymchurchBossynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stay at the Carlton Hotel every year.

It has a fabulous location, overlooking the sea, yet it is just a 2min walk into the Town.

We come with my teenage daighter and her friend, and they both absolutely love it. They get their swimming costumes on each morning and head off down the cliff path to Hope Beach!

For anyone looking for a family friendly hotel, at a reasonable cost, look no further, the Carlton is your answer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deez92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

we stayed at the Carlton for a weekend in april for a friends 40th, we ended up having the whole hotel as there was so many of us, i couldn't fault it at all (apart from it wasn't long enough)anything we asked for we got (including a dark towel as i had coloured my hair the day efore (sorry no second letter on my laptop) nothing was any trou le i would go ack in a flash!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clazzer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Don't mistake this for the Carlton Hotel, Sandown. Here the welcome was good, the bedroom was large and the bathroom was excellent and like a new pin. The owners really try hard on every front. The breakfasts were cooked to order and were served hot, which is rare these days. The lounge and patio have sea views. A really nice stay and value for money. I would definitely stay here again if I visit the IoW.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timbo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel in April and had a wonderful time. It is located in a brilliant part of the island, gorgeous views over the bay, easy access to the beach and offers parking too. The rooms were clean and tidy, the bathrooms clean and fresh and we slept well throughout our stay.

The owners and staff couldn't have been nicer and more accomodating to us all. Breakfast was good and there was a variety of choice on offer. They have a well stocked bar, a television/reading room and a lovely garden.

I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and look forward to returning myself. They offer family rooms for 4 people and its brilliant location will definitely appeal to the kids. Personally I am looking forward to sitting in the lovely garden and watching the sun go down whilst sipping a cold glass of wine. Bon vacances!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimplyMrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £92 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing