We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place home from home with all the added frills.”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Special place home from home with all the added frills.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

No where else on the island can compete with this lovely spot. We felt so welcome by bob, ann & family from day one. Home from home. Very comfortable and clean. Food very generous n scrumptious. The seafood plater is the very best we have tasted on the island. The amazin views from the deck are a picture. An the mornin stillness of the ocean from the front veranda room is unforgetable. Will book again and again. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
105
128
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

How I love to stay at the Carlton, Shanklin, always returning home feeling rested and relaxed, a home from home.

Bob and Anne cannot do enough for you, they are always pleased to see you and give a really warm welcome, it is like visiting old friends which I would like to think they are as I have been visiting the Carlton for about 12 years now. It is always spotlessly clean and warm, offering a really good breakfast which sets you up for a day touring the Island.

The Carlton Hotel is second to none with a superb Tea Garden overlooking the bay - take a tip and try Anne's seafood platter - wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms good but the two balcony rooms have a wonderful view across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just returned from a fantastic break at this wonderful hotel. The rooms were spotless and welcome warm. Breakfast was well cooked with a choice that caters for everyone. The view from the lounge bar must be one of the best on the Isle of Wight. Very friendly staff and the hosts Bob and Anne were very attentive. Lunch on the 'Deck Tea Gardens' was excellent a lovely way to spend a relaxing afternoon. I will certainly be back for another visit.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Everything was great. The rooms were very clean, the location was perfect and the staff were extremely friendly. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Comfort, relaxation, welcoming yet unobtrusive staff, first-class food both in the breakfast room and on the "Tea Deck" overlooking the best ocean view on the island - all this creates a holiday break of which dreams are made. Anne and Bob Knight are to be congratulated on making this spotlessly-clean, beautiful building into a holiday haven to which many guests return year after year to enjoy exploring this fascinating island, later relaxing in the well-stocked bar lounge, making new friends and often meeting up with old ones.

Room Tip: Two rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies on which visitors may sit and enjoy the wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Josephine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

was a lovely break with the most friendliest staff. could not ask for a better service. Bob and Anne were amazing and made us feel at home the minute we arrived. could not fault it. wonderful break

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Wow what a beautiful place to stay ! hotel was lovely and so were the staff.....the breakfast was the best i had so far. The hotel was always very clean and rooms very modern and up to date. Must say the the sea views was really breathtaking we will be deffinatly coming back again....bob and anne made us feel so at home and relaxed. i would recommend this hotel to anyone. thank you so much for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ella w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing