We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A brilliant family friendly hotel. Bob and Anne are great hosts and make everyone very welcome. We have stayed here two years running and my daughter has said she wants to visit and stay here every year. It is also a great base to travel from and the Old Village is within easy walking distance for shopping, eating out and having a relaxing drink. The bar in the hotel is a great place to relax in an evening too. We will be back - again and again and again .....
Thanks Bob and Anne for making us feel so welcome.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
5  Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Always a warm welcome from Bob and Ann,and a welcome tea or coffee on arrival.Superb views of Shanklin Bay and the English Channel from the lounge and decking.The bedrooms are clean and comfortable,with tea and coffee supplied.Excellent breakfast with plenty of choices on the menu.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our first stay at The Carlton and certainly won't be our last! The welcome from the family run hotel and it's staff made us feel relaxed and at home the moment we arrived. The personal service we received could never be replicated in a large chain style hotel; we were greeted on arrival, served drinks (either hot drinks or a drink from the bar if wanted), shown to our rooms and our allocated table for breakfast by the owners> During our stay we regularly ate on the beautiful decked area over looking the bay and was absolutely delighted with the standard of food that was provided at such a reasonable cost. The immaculate and well decorated hotel meant that we were happy to spend the evenings in the bar area with other guests and friendly staff. Breakfast was faultless and the cheerful, friendly atmosphere of the other guests - who i must add were ALL returning visitors to The Carlton - enabled such a relaxing start to the day where we given lots of helpful advice about the wonderful places to visit. We have already booked our return visit for later this summer. This time we will be bringing friends with us safe in the knowledge that they will love their stay here as much as we did :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rookie296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

No where else on the island can compete with this lovely spot. We felt so welcome by bob, ann & family from day one. Home from home. Very comfortable and clean. Food very generous n scrumptious. The seafood plater is the very best we have tasted on the island. The amazin views from the deck are a picture. An the mornin stillness of the ocean from the front veranda room is unforgetable. Will book again and again. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amandasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

How I love to stay at the Carlton, Shanklin, always returning home feeling rested and relaxed, a home from home.

Bob and Anne cannot do enough for you, they are always pleased to see you and give a really warm welcome, it is like visiting old friends which I would like to think they are as I have been visiting the Carlton for about 12 years now. It is always spotlessly clean and warm, offering a really good breakfast which sets you up for a day touring the Island.

The Carlton Hotel is second to none with a superb Tea Garden overlooking the bay - take a tip and try Anne's seafood platter - wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms good but the two balcony rooms have a wonderful view across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just returned from a fantastic break at this wonderful hotel. The rooms were spotless and welcome warm. Breakfast was well cooked with a choice that caters for everyone. The view from the lounge bar must be one of the best on the Isle of Wight. Very friendly staff and the hosts Bob and Anne were very attentive. Lunch on the 'Deck Tea Gardens' was excellent a lovely way to spend a relaxing afternoon. I will certainly be back for another visit.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Everything was great. The rooms were very clean, the location was perfect and the staff were extremely friendly. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £93 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing