We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!! Totally recommended!!!!!!!”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!! Totally recommended!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Carlton Hotel. We had a fantastic time to say the least. Its a really lovely homely hotel with gorgeous views and the most friendliest of staff. The hospitality we received, we have never experienced on that level before. All the staff could not do enough for us and our two children were extremely sad to leave. Totally totally recommended if you want to make your stay in the Isle of Wight even more special!! Go on....spoil yourselves....!! The Georgiou family :o)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreasg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
124
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great little hotel, in an excellent position on the coastal path in Shanklin. Staff very friendly, food very good. Have already booked to go back this summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SylviaIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Carlton hotel was the best hotel I’ve ever stayed at on the island, upon arrival we were greeted by the owners Bob & Ann, they settled us in our room which was spotless, modern and bright with fantastic sea views!! Once we were settled we headed downstairs to the bar/lounge where again we were greeted by Bob & Ann, they gave us all the information we needed to make our stay perfect, local restaurants were recommended and they were spot on, I honestly couldn't find one thing to complain about even if I tried! We were made to feel at home and were always welcomed no matter the time of day.
I recommend to all my family and friends visiting the island and there are never any complaints!
I can't say enough how great the location is, 5 minute walk to the beach or town.
The Carlton has the most tranquil tea gardens also; we spent most of our evening sitting in the gardens, glass of wine while watching the sun set over the sea!!
Was the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for seaviews if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne-Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed at The Carlton in may , the owners couldn't of been more helpful . Great location , great views , we will be back .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 24pattenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I have stayed at the Carlton hotel a few times in the last year and every experience is as good as the last, i have even spoke about holding my wedding reception there because of the beautiful lounge, bar area that opens onto a lovely deck area and award winning gardens and stunning views out to sea which would be wonderful for wedding pictures, the hosts are very friendly and are always happy to help and nothing is too much trouble. The food is amazing and they do a lovely sea food platter that is great sat on the deck area with a jug of their famous Sangria. I will be staying again in August for the Shanklin carnival and i cannot wait !!!!

Room Tip: A sea view room would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Carlton Hotel is the perfect place to stay on the island if your looking for a stunning location close to the town, with great hosts Ann & Bob, superb food & great atmosphere. We stayed in one of the sea facing rooms with a balcony. The views were amazing and all the rooms are modern in decor, spacious and cater for everything you would need. Really close to the lovely beaches and old village. You could not really ask for a better hotel! I think it would be hard to beat the Carlton and its great value for money. The tea gardens is a great place to grab some lunch with a great choice of food & it's all very delicious! Overall a massive thumbs up, I would recommend anyone to stay here, couples, families, groups.. Ann & Bob are so welcoming & provide fantastic service to all. Thank you for a great stay, I will be back for sure without a doubt!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with Balcony are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElmaLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

we stayed for five nights in this excellent hotel.The hosts and their team were very pleasant and very friendly.The room we had was very clean and spacious with a very modern shower room.
Food that we ate was excellent nicely cooked and well presented.Bob was very helpfull as we had gone to do a few rounds of golf,telling us the better places to play,one being "Osborne house"if the ladies did not play golf they could look round the house..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 9 Park Road | isle of wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing