We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for the price”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the price”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here recently and were disappointed with the standard of the hotel, given the price we were paying. The garden was lovely, great views, but the inside of the hotel was rather old school, and our room in particular was very small and also very dusty - both my husband and i felt uncomfortable there after a nights sleep and were keen to get out into the air. The location is great, right on the cliffs over looking the esplanade, but I would be unlikely to stay there again. Also, the breakfast is only offered between 8.30 and 9am each morning, which lead to us missing it most mornings of our stay, as that's a pretty tight window, especially on Saturday and Sunday mornings!

Had the price been more reasonable, we might have overlooked the other issues, but for that cost, I would have expected much better.

Room Tip: An upstairs room with a balcony may have been better, we didn't get one, but there is also an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ms_FitzCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    34
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
126
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Carlton Hotel for many years now, celebrating our wedding anniversaries, always booking a balcony room which has great views of the bay. Anne and Bob the owners of the Carlton are a lovely friendly couple, as are the rest of the staff, and they are so welcoming to all their guests. They have done a lot of work to the hotel over the years,upgrading and improving the now lovely rooms which are kept beautifully clean. Anne's breakfasts are wonderful and something we both look forward to. Whilst Anne and Bob are running the Carlton we would not think of going to any other hotel on the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: At a slightly extra cost per night one of the balcony rooms are a must, waking up to the view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My girlfriend and i recently stayed with Robert and Anne at their lovely bed and breakfast. We were lucky enough to enjoy one of the lovely balcony rooms for the first couple of nights, great views and a lovely room, just perfect. At the last minute, we decided to stay another night, fortunately we were able to use one of the other rooms, which was equally as nice as the first.
We both are looking to visiting IOW again, and will be sure to stay at the Carlton. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Obviously, if you can get one balcony rooms, the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just returned from a short half term break at the Carlton Hotel and what a beautiful hotel it is!! Staff were absolutely fantastic and very friendly aswell as the food, full english breakfast is highly recommened. The room was spotless with fantastic coastal views waking up to see the beach and beautiful views is our perfect holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clare_bear468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Carlton Hotel. We had a fantastic time to say the least. Its a really lovely homely hotel with gorgeous views and the most friendliest of staff. The hospitality we received, we have never experienced on that level before. All the staff could not do enough for us and our two children were extremely sad to leave. Totally totally recommended if you want to make your stay in the Isle of Wight even more special!! Go on....spoil yourselves....!! The Georgiou family :o)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreasg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great little hotel, in an excellent position on the coastal path in Shanklin. Staff very friendly, food very good. Have already booked to go back this summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SylviaIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Carlton hotel was the best hotel I’ve ever stayed at on the island, upon arrival we were greeted by the owners Bob & Ann, they settled us in our room which was spotless, modern and bright with fantastic sea views!! Once we were settled we headed downstairs to the bar/lounge where again we were greeted by Bob & Ann, they gave us all the information we needed to make our stay perfect, local restaurants were recommended and they were spot on, I honestly couldn't find one thing to complain about even if I tried! We were made to feel at home and were always welcomed no matter the time of day.
I recommend to all my family and friends visiting the island and there are never any complaints!
I can't say enough how great the location is, 5 minute walk to the beach or town.
The Carlton has the most tranquil tea gardens also; we spent most of our evening sitting in the gardens, glass of wine while watching the sun set over the sea!!
Was the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for seaviews if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne-Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing