We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely week at the Carlton Hotel.”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Had a lovely week at the Carlton Hotel. Bob and Anne were excellent hosts, and the hotel location is surely one of the best on the whole Isle of Wight, overlooking Sandown Bay with stunning views. Well located for both the beach or the town. Staff are very friendly and you are made to feel very much at home. Try and get a front balcony room. Gives you one of the best views in all the UK in my opinion. Would highly recommend The Carlton Hotel to friends and family or anyone looking for a great place to stay on the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Try and get a front balcony room. Gives you one of the best views in all the UK in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deez92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Carlton Hotel is a lovely family run hotel overlooking the sea with excellent views and a central location although not noisy. Very friendly staff, good food, clean modern rooms and excellent location. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with balcony, excellent view overlooking the beautiful gardens and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Both myself and my husband returned from a 3 day trip to the Isle Of Wight.As the other reviews have pointed out the initial impression is not of a hotel but sharing a home with the hosts where one is made to feel very welcome.The hotel is very clean with a 5 star rating for cleanliness which is prominently displayed.Its ideally positioned very close only a two minute walk to Shanklin beach or with the option of a lift which you need to incur a small charge.All the staff and fellow guests seemed to be relaxed and happy and create a good buzz in this establishment so cannot rate it any more.Great base to visit Old Shanklin with some nice restaurants including Thai and Indian plus opportunity to walk up to other bay areas or go by car if you desire to bathe in the sea further along the coast.Rest assured this hotel is the bees knees!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meenu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned from Carlton hotel we went for long weekend this is my second time here bob and Anne are very welcoming the rooms are spotless breakfast in morning was lovely everything you could want was on menu the view from the very well kept garden is amazing I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mag1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing 3 day break at the Carlton. Bob and Ann were very friendly and the atmosphere very relaxed . The decked area overlooking the sea is great for chilling out, watching the world go by whilst enjoying a coffee and a sandwich from the menu. Friends popped in to visit during our break for a coffee and chat and commented how nice the hotel, location and service were.

The double room we occupied was very clean and comfortable. The general presentation of the hotel was excellent . We look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: The two rooms overlooking the sea have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

First off we unfortunately didn't stay at the Carlton. We come across it when walking along the East Cliff promenade and went in for a drink.The owners Bob and Anne were very friendly,the sun was shining and it was just a perfect location for a drink,after looking at the menu we decided to go back the next day for there famous seafood platter,which was unbelievable ,absolutely fantastic we sat on the lawn ,again with the sun shining,a glass (or 2) of wine enjoying this amazing feast. Really cannot praise the quality ,service ,friendlinest and location enough.Well Done to Bob and Anne.Will arrange to stay the next time.10/10

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazelmustoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We booked a last minute 2 night special break for the first time at the Carlton with free ferry crossing. The hotel is very clean and homely with fantastic views across the bay from the decked garden area. The hosts Bob and Anne are very welcoming and made us feel we had known them for years. Breakfast was very good and waitress also very friendly. Lunch menu was also good in the decked garden. All in all a really nice stay and will be returning in future.
Many thanks
The Cooks from Swindon

Room Tip: Book early and get a sea view room as the view is great, although we had a room which faced the down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcook5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £93 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing