We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
OXFORD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from a recommended stay at the Charlton and we were in luck to have a balcony room which you could not fault and gave a great view over the bay but even if you could not get this room the view from the decking was superb as were the exceptional garden.Breakfast and lunches were excellent as was all levels of service from Bob and Anne which made it feel more like a home.Top marks for a friendly small hotel, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIGEL1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    34
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
126
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have just returned from a great weekend away in Shanklin and stayed at the Carlton. This is a family run hotel. The owners, Bob & Anne, make you feel like part of the family as soon as you arrive. Nothing you ask for is too much trouble for them- they are wonderful hosts! The view from the lovely decked garden is spectacular. Rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The breakfast is more than adequate with a varied choice and well cooked to order. The hotel is in a great location being in walking distance of the Old Town and just yards away from the cliff top lift. Having found this little gem I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Shanklin. I highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QPR_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Had a lovely week at the Carlton Hotel. Bob and Anne were excellent hosts, and the hotel location is surely one of the best on the whole Isle of Wight, overlooking Sandown Bay with stunning views. Well located for both the beach or the town. Staff are very friendly and you are made to feel very much at home. Try and get a front balcony room. Gives you one of the best views in all the UK in my opinion. Would highly recommend The Carlton Hotel to friends and family or anyone looking for a great place to stay on the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Try and get a front balcony room. Gives you one of the best views in all the UK in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deez92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Carlton Hotel is a lovely family run hotel overlooking the sea with excellent views and a central location although not noisy. Very friendly staff, good food, clean modern rooms and excellent location. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with balcony, excellent view overlooking the beautiful gardens and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Both myself and my husband returned from a 3 day trip to the Isle Of Wight.As the other reviews have pointed out the initial impression is not of a hotel but sharing a home with the hosts where one is made to feel very welcome.The hotel is very clean with a 5 star rating for cleanliness which is prominently displayed.Its ideally positioned very close only a two minute walk to Shanklin beach or with the option of a lift which you need to incur a small charge.All the staff and fellow guests seemed to be relaxed and happy and create a good buzz in this establishment so cannot rate it any more.Great base to visit Old Shanklin with some nice restaurants including Thai and Indian plus opportunity to walk up to other bay areas or go by car if you desire to bathe in the sea further along the coast.Rest assured this hotel is the bees knees!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meenu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned from Carlton hotel we went for long weekend this is my second time here bob and Anne are very welcoming the rooms are spotless breakfast in morning was lovely everything you could want was on menu the view from the very well kept garden is amazing I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mag1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing 3 day break at the Carlton. Bob and Ann were very friendly and the atmosphere very relaxed . The decked area overlooking the sea is great for chilling out, watching the world go by whilst enjoying a coffee and a sandwich from the menu. Friends popped in to visit during our break for a coffee and chat and commented how nice the hotel, location and service were.

The double room we occupied was very clean and comfortable. The general presentation of the hotel was excellent . We look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: The two rooms overlooking the sea have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing