We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Shanklin”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Carlton is a perfectly situated hotel for staying in Shanklin. The garden leads you straight out onto the cliff top walk, and only a minute to the lift down to the beach and promenade. It's only a 5 - 10 minute walk to the beautiful Shanklin Chine, only 10 minutes into town and also 'Old Shanklin' which is lovely, or to the railway station to take you up to Ryde.

Ann & Bob are smashing hosts, and the hotel itself is clean, comfortable, and has all you need. We paid a little extra to get a sea view room with a balcony, but it's well worth it, as the view is lovely. The only very small niggle was that breakfast was (for us) a little early, served only between 8.30 and 9am, but that's probably fine for most people, and the breakfasts were great.

We stayed 4 nights and got the hotel's special rate to include ferry crossing both ways, which was cheaper than booking the ferries ourself, (note that you don't have to enter and leave by the same route - we arrived via Yarmouth and departed via Fishbourne).

This was our first holiday on the IOW and we were so lucky to have found the Carlton, it's a little gem. I'm sure we will be back!

Room Tip: Recommend getting a sea facing room, the view is worth paying a bit extra for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyMooBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I visit the Isle of Wight on business quite regularly, and when I do I always try to stay at the Carlton Hotel. All the rooms are nicely decorated, very clean and with all you need for a perfect stay in Shanklin. Breakfast in the morning is second to none and Anne and Bob are very nice hosts and make me feel always welcome. Hope to see you both really soon, Martino from Nottingham.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Martino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We're starting to make a habit of staying at this excellent hotel for Easter! We plan to return in 2015. Bob, Anne and all the staff are so friendly and really helped to make our stay easy and relaxing. We don't even consider any other hotel when planning a visit to the Isle of Wight now. The breakfast menu is great and beautifully cooked. A special touch this year was a little plate of Easter goodies for the children on Easter Sunday - what a kind thought - and the children were very excited that the Easter Bunny had remembered them. The large comfortable lounge/bar area has a panoramic view of the beautiful award winning garden and the sea beyond. You are made to feel very welcome and part of their family. The bedrooms are immaculate, airy and comfortable. We love this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Discovered the Carlton only 12 months ago - only wish we had found it years ago!
Beautiful rooms, magnificent gardens and the views from the terrace, across Sandown Bay, are to die for.
Sitting on the "The Deck" terrace having lunch is something we always look forward to. The food is beautiful, fresh and, as far as possible, locally sourced.
All local amenities are only a short distance away including the famous Shanklin "Old Town" and the beautiful beaches - there's even a lift down to the Esplanade and beach, only a stones throw from the terrace gardens.
This a genuine "Family run Hotel" - Bob and Ann really make you feel at home and part of the family.
If we ran a hotel, this is how we would do it!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaward/terrace room (they have their own balcony to sit out on) fantastic views - watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I found the Carlton hotel on trip advisor and im so glad i did Bob and Ann and Maz really made our stay terrific. The Carlton hotel is truly a home away from home, we were two families with 5 children between us Ann kindly arranged our return ferry trips which were inclusive in the price. All our rooms were set up to our exact requirements including travel cot for baby complimentary toiletries lovely white fluffy towels tea coffee making facilities and biscuits our breakfast was also included in the price and there was a wide selection to choose from including traditional full english and even childrens plates and cups. We travelled down from london via portsmouth for long easter weekend and were very lucky with the weather on all but one day. The Carlton really was a gem and we and the children were all so comfortable we didnt want to leave! The fabulous view of shanklin coastline and award winning gardens of Carlton hotel were simply put... the cherry on top! They have a lovely bar area leading out to decking and below that the spectacular clifftop gardens... Us grown ups would have simply been content to sit in the gardens all day and watch the world go by while we ate the Carltons delicious seafood platter lunches!! Thank you Bob Ann and Maz we will be back and will recommend you to everyone we know!! Highly recommend!! You will not be disappointed.. So much better than all those poky conspicuous pretentious chain hotels and great value too!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Celika26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is the second Easter in a row that we have spent at the Carlton. It is safe to say, we will be returning again. To be honest, we are delighted that we feel we need look no further than the Carlton everytime we come to the IOW. The hotel is spotless with a very welcoming/homely feel with everything you need. The location is great with a little over a 5 minute walk to all the restaurants/bars in the town centre or 1 min walk to the lift down to the seaside promenade. It also takes only 5 mins to walk down by the lift but beware, lots of steps! The views from the main bar/ front room area leading to decking area are simply stunning out to sea with spectacular gardens. The hosts Bob and Anne are brilliant. They are there for you when you need them but also leave you to enjoy your holiday and the hotel. We really feel like the Carlton is a home from home as you can simply relax and chill out at the hotel if you want. Before evening meals we often spent a few hours in the front room enjoying the views and table football with the kids in the adjoining room. All staff are really friendly and make exceptional effort to make sure they know your names for the personal touch. There is genuinely nothing I can think of where I would say something could be better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck T, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear scott & family:

Thank you very much for choosing The Carlton Hotel again to spend your holidays.

We are glad to know that your expectations were exceeded during your visit. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the excellent service received and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Please, do not forget to contact us for your future visit to the Isle Of Wight We will be more then happy to accommodate you.

Regards from the isle of wight!


Robert & Anne Carlton Hotel shanklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Carlton Hotel in 6 months. Bob and Anne are perfect hosts. They run a very tight ship from booking to departure. The hotel is in a perfect location, amazing sea views ( room 6 double with sea view balcony is a must!)

The hotel is extremely clean, superb service and very professional staff. The staff know everyone by name and make everyone feel welcome.

The booking is extremely easy, Anne organised the ferry which saved us the hassle.

The old town is an easy stroll away with lots of bars and restaurants. The food served on the tea deck is worth a try, good quality fare with exceptional presentation and service. Relaxing after a busy day in the bar is perfect, park yourself on a sofa and admire the sea views with good company.

Staying over the Easter weekend and seeing no vacancies is a clear indication of the quality of the product here, when there are competitiors extremely local to this hotel that could not say the same.

When visiting the island next time we would not hesitate but to ring Anne and Bob and organise our stay, I would not waste time to look elsewhere, this hotel suits our needs, a great location, very clean establishment, very well ran, good parking, gallons of hot water 24/7, amazing views over the bay, cliff lift to beach 1 minute walk from the beautiful garden, theatre 5 minute walk away which was great for an evening out, very comfortable beds, crystal white towels...... We are unable to find anything negative about the hotel, other than however long you stay will not be long enough :)

Room Tip: Pay the supplement and book a balcony ( if available) at the front well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Actiontactic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deck T, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Joanne & Martin

Thank you very much for choosing The Carlton Hotel again to spend your holidays.

We are glad to know that your expectations were exceeded during your visit. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the excellent service received and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Please, do not forget to contact us for your future visit to the Isle Of Wight We will be more then happy to accommodate you.

Regards from the isle of wight!


Robert & Anne Carlton Hotel shanklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £93 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing