We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this B&B hotel in april. It had a beautuful garden, fantastic view over the sea and a friendly athmosphere. Our room was very small, and the bathroom was even smaller, but we had a great time there. Breakfast was really good too. We did not spent so much time in the hotel during the day, because we were at the island to bike around. But we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
120
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arriving in very inclement weather we were shown to our lovely warm room, well done Ann and Bob a lovely welcome. A very relaxing, homely hotel with a good breakfast. The hotel was spotless and very comfortable. The lounge bar overlooks the outside seating area and sea views and is great place to meet other guests. The hotel is in a good position with great views and a lovely well tended garden. Our family were made welcome when they called in, this is truly a home from home hotel and I can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila_vanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A beautiful view of the sea from the sun room and deck. The small garden is nicely landscaped. The room was small but comfortable, and the pillows were full. The bathroom was tiny. The décor was up to date and not like going back in time which you sometimes get with small hotels and B&Bs. The breakfast was very good. Very pleasant staff..

Room Tip: There are only two larger rooms with balcony overlooking the sea, so book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSirTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My daughter had stayed here before with her family and invited myself and my Mum to join them this time. It is years since I've been to the Isle of Wight and I could remember very little about the island.
Due to a quite lengthy day ward stay in hospital we were a day late arriving. Bob, the owner, made it very clear that he was pleased to see us but also said that in future if the circumstances were similar not to worry as he/they would have welcomed us whenever we could get in the future. This meant a lot to me and automatically put me in a positive mood for the rest of the weekend.
The hotel is situated on the cliffs overlooking the sea and the gardens and outside decking and seating are immaculate. We ate lunch here too and that was excellent.
My room was clean, well appointed and was at the rear so it was quiet too. There really is nothing to be negative about the whole experience.
The "breakfast bell" is quaint rather than a chore and my granddaughters really loved it. Breakfast itself sets you up for the day.
This is first and foremost a family hotel and as such you are treated very much that way. The bar and lounge are full of interesting items and mementoes. The owners are both very approachable and friendly and they are great with children.
The only criticism, and it is slight, is that another family staying at the same time sat at the bar whilst their children, probably only two and four, got tired and tetchy. The youngest was really quite upset because he was obviously tired out and needed his bed. It took over an hour before the parents relented and left the bar, this was after 10.00pm. It isn't my place to say anything to them but a quiet word from Bob would have done wonders for the children and also the rest of us.
As I said though a minor observation and I will certainly be going back again as it is a great base to explore the island from.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlooking the garden and out to sea have balconies and must be the first to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulyrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

A very warm welcome with a friendly famaily environment, home from home, Ann & Bob made the stay very relaxing, fantactic views with a small walk to the beach, would highly recommend and if i returned to the isle of wright would happily stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertlandsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel has been fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable and our hosts have been most welcoming. The views from the outside seating area over the channel are great. I have no problems in recommending this place to anybody coming here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I've been staying with Bob and Anne now for several months, and have been made to feel very much at home. Rooms are great, breakfast is excellent with lots to choose from. I've stayed all over the UK and you won't find a warmer welcome. Very highly recommended, many thanks to you both

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 9 Park Road | isle of wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing