We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb cream tea”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Situated right on the Cliff Path you could not wish for a better spot in Shanklin for a cream tea. With the beautiful Hotel gardens and view of Sandown Bay for just £4.50 for two is incredible! We will be stopping here regularly for the summer to make the most of the wonderful hospitality.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a weekend break in May with my husbands elderly father and his partner. The owners could not be more welcoming and helpful. Although we arrived quite late friday evening Anne still made us a pot of coffee and tea which was very much appreciated after a long journey. The balcony room has superb views of Shanklin and Sandown as well as the hotels beautiful gardens. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. If you are travelling with someone who has trouble with mobility, as we were, the Hotel has a wheelchair which you can borrow. Great for exploring Shanklin. The carlton is quite near to the lift that takes you down to the beach. Thank you Anne and Bob, our break was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this B&B hotel in april. It had a beautuful garden, fantastic view over the sea and a friendly athmosphere. Our room was very small, and the bathroom was even smaller, but we had a great time there. Breakfast was really good too. We did not spent so much time in the hotel during the day, because we were at the island to bike around. But we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arriving in very inclement weather we were shown to our lovely warm room, well done Ann and Bob a lovely welcome. A very relaxing, homely hotel with a good breakfast. The hotel was spotless and very comfortable. The lounge bar overlooks the outside seating area and sea views and is great place to meet other guests. The hotel is in a good position with great views and a lovely well tended garden. Our family were made welcome when they called in, this is truly a home from home hotel and I can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila_vanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A beautiful view of the sea from the sun room and deck. The small garden is nicely landscaped. The room was small but comfortable, and the pillows were full. The bathroom was tiny. The décor was up to date and not like going back in time which you sometimes get with small hotels and B&Bs. The breakfast was very good. Very pleasant staff..

Room Tip: There are only two larger rooms with balcony overlooking the sea, so book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSirTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My daughter had stayed here before with her family and invited myself and my Mum to join them this time. It is years since I've been to the Isle of Wight and I could remember very little about the island.
Due to a quite lengthy day ward stay in hospital we were a day late arriving. Bob, the owner, made it very clear that he was pleased to see us but also said that in future if the circumstances were similar not to worry as he/they would have welcomed us whenever we could get in the future. This meant a lot to me and automatically put me in a positive mood for the rest of the weekend.
The hotel is situated on the cliffs overlooking the sea and the gardens and outside decking and seating are immaculate. We ate lunch here too and that was excellent.
My room was clean, well appointed and was at the rear so it was quiet too. There really is nothing to be negative about the whole experience.
The "breakfast bell" is quaint rather than a chore and my granddaughters really loved it. Breakfast itself sets you up for the day.
This is first and foremost a family hotel and as such you are treated very much that way. The bar and lounge are full of interesting items and mementoes. The owners are both very approachable and friendly and they are great with children.
The only criticism, and it is slight, is that another family staying at the same time sat at the bar whilst their children, probably only two and four, got tired and tetchy. The youngest was really quite upset because he was obviously tired out and needed his bed. It took over an hour before the parents relented and left the bar, this was after 10.00pm. It isn't my place to say anything to them but a quiet word from Bob would have done wonders for the children and also the rest of us.
As I said though a minor observation and I will certainly be going back again as it is a great base to explore the island from.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlooking the garden and out to sea have balconies and must be the first to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulyrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A very warm welcome with a friendly famaily environment, home from home, Ann & Bob made the stay very relaxing, fantactic views with a small walk to the beach, would highly recommend and if i returned to the isle of wright would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertlandsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £93 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing