We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, family hotel, ideal location”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After deciding to have a break in the wonderful Isle of Wight, my friend and I discovered this hotel online. What a find - friendly, relaxed and stunning views from the garden terrace. Our room was a generous size, clean and very comfortable with ensuite facilities. Fantastic cooked breakfast, one of the best I've ever had. Well done! Will certainly be returning in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Return visit to this lovely hotel on the cliff top in Shanklin. Hosts Bob and Anne are warm and welcoming and their staff always greet you with a smile. The rooms are exceptionally clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. We took our 5 year old grandson and he loved it. Breakfast is plentiful and really sets you up for the day cooked to order hot and fresh. This is a lovely hotel for a short break or a longer stay and a great base to visit the rest of the Island from. We will certainly be returning next year and our grandson would't let us come back without him!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed another excellent stay at the Carlton. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hospitality from Bob and Ann make it almost home from home. The view from the decked area is stunning and the garden beautiful. A book and a coffee overlooking the sea is a must. Andy and Siobhan.

Room Tip: The sea view from the front rooms is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at The Carlton for 2 days and 2 nights and couldn't recommend it highly enough. It is located right on the cliff and offers outstanding views out over the channel. The owners are friendly, helpful and all round lovely hosts. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet and the balcony was well worth the extra expenditure. I doubt you'll find anywhere in Shanklin or the surrounding areas that can offer what the Carlton can.

Room Tip: Balcony room is worth the money, especially if you are predicted good weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Situated right on the Cliff Path you could not wish for a better spot in Shanklin for a cream tea. With the beautiful Hotel gardens and view of Sandown Bay for just £4.50 for two is incredible! We will be stopping here regularly for the summer to make the most of the wonderful hospitality.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a weekend break in May with my husbands elderly father and his partner. The owners could not be more welcoming and helpful. Although we arrived quite late friday evening Anne still made us a pot of coffee and tea which was very much appreciated after a long journey. The balcony room has superb views of Shanklin and Sandown as well as the hotels beautiful gardens. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. If you are travelling with someone who has trouble with mobility, as we were, the Hotel has a wheelchair which you can borrow. Great for exploring Shanklin. The carlton is quite near to the lift that takes you down to the beach. Thank you Anne and Bob, our break was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this B&B hotel in april. It had a beautuful garden, fantastic view over the sea and a friendly athmosphere. Our room was very small, and the bathroom was even smaller, but we had a great time there. Breakfast was really good too. We did not spent so much time in the hotel during the day, because we were at the island to bike around. But we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £93 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing