We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay at the Carlton!”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay at the Carlton!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Carlton Hotel in Shanklin is a delightful family run hotel in a great location. The hospitality of Anne and Bob is second to none. Our special package included cross Solent ferry travel, which Anne organised, saving us money and a lot of hassle! We're already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    34
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
126
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Isaac, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

After reading several Tripadvisor Reviews, I decided to book The Carlton - We were not disappointed. It offers great value and I was very impressed with the ferry booking offer included. The hotel is conveniently situated to Shanklin Old Town and Seafront with spectacular sea views from the lovely deck. Light lunches and cream teas are available during the afternoon and there is a residents bar. Our rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. I was unsure about the half an hour 'slot' for breakfast but this worked well and the choice and standard of food was excellent, also it meant you met the other residents in the hotel each day. The owners Bob and Anne were very helpful and friendly and the whole hotel has a great atmosphere. I would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine2437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just enjoyed another lovely break at the Carlton Hotel, lovely friendly atmosphere, made to feel very welcome. Lovely food. Weather excellent and able to sit and relax in the beautiful gardens with views looking out to sea,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute four night stay at The Carlton recently. We had never been to the Isle of Wight before so went online and booked The Carlton in Shanklin. What a surprise we had when we arrived at The Carlton. It was a sunny day and there were plenty of people out on the deck enjoying lunch under umbrellas with spectacular views. The hotel couldn't have been located in a better spot. The owners, Bob and Ann, couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The room was excellent; clean and comfortable with plenty of hanging and drawer space for our clothes. Breakfast was well organised and cooked to perfection. We look forward to visiting again soon - a perfect place to unwind.

Room Tip: Room 10 was a family room and quiet on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirfield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

this was our 17 th year at the carlton.we are never dissapointed. ann and bob and their daughter leigh are the perfect hosts. they are now some of our closest friends the balcony rooms offer excellent views of the coast.the garden offers a beautiful place to sit and relax. enjoy a coffee or lunch or drinks into the evening.all the staff are friendly and will help in any way thy can

Room Tip: a balcony offers excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Bob and Ann are the perfect hosts, the hotel is in a beautiful location with a garden with such good views you won't want to leave it. Great rooms, great breakfast. Definitely a hotel you will want to go back to year after year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alikat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

To get the best from this hotel a balcony room is essential. The sea view and the view of the beautifully kept garden are well worth the £15 a day supplement. Bob, Ann and their daughter Leigh run the hotel really well and they are all very approachable and helpful. Breakfasts organisation was a little disappointing. There is only a half hour slot from 0830 to 0900 to order. Having stayed at many B&b's and hotels it was a first time experience for me to find that cereals, fruit etc. were not self-service. The cooked breakfasts were very nice. I also think they are missing a trick by not allowing us to have breakfast in a room with a lovely view (like the current lounge) instead of the existing dining room. Water pressure is not great so bath/shower facilities are a little tedious. Having said all that we enjoyed our three night stay very much, but without that balcony it would not have been as nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHHertfprdshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 9 Park Road | Isle Of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel has a deserved reputation as one of Shanklin's finest bed and breakfast hotels. Guests enjoy exhilarating sea views, quality standards of service and comfort, delightful home cooked food and the warmest of welcomes. The Carlton Hotel enjoys an ideal location for exploring Shanklin's sandy beaches, the famous esplanade and the charming Shanklin Old Village. For the adventurous, watersports and activity holiday opportunities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing