We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad”
Review of The Fernbank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fernbank
Ranked #6 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stubbington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very sad”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Breakfast , have had better . Bacon very salty and poor quality, Plenty of bread in fact too much. They said room was small , in fact it was extremely small , and only had a double bed. We have been to other hotels far more reasonable than Fernbank . The hotel is on a hill ,so it is very difficult for someone to walk to the centre of Shanklin , Not a lot of car parking space for all clients

Room Tip: Ask the size of the bed , if its only a double you can be sure its a small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-Anne C, Manager at The Fernbank, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Firstly, how disappointed I was to receive this review. We serve only quality products which are sourced locally, for breakfast .This includes quality bacon and butchers homemade sausages. We had no other comments on the bacon being salty and the Fernbank had many other guests staying. We offer homemade bread, freshly made each morning which is very popular indeed!
You reserved a budget priced small double room for your break, these rooms all have standard 4ft 6 double beds and are very well appointed, and are extremely popular. We offer larger Classic and Superior Rooms at a supplement. Thank you for acknowledging how clean the Fernbank is. We pride ourselves, on our customer service, comfort and value for money and welcome many return guests. Thank you for your views. Jo-Anne C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
182
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have just spent 4 nights at Fernbank with my husband - would highly recommend this B & B which is just a short walk from Shanklin. The B & B itself is spotless and our room was lovely (superior room), but best of all were the staff who were all friendly and helpful. I must also mention the outstanding breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1371591Marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband, myself and my mother stayed at Fernbank in May. We had a wonderful stay; the welcome was warm and friendly, the rooms were probably the best quality that we have ever experienced in a B&B Guest House or Hotel (we booked a superior room which was huge and luxurious!) and the breakfasts were great too, with home-baked bread available every morning. Sharon and her staff were so friendly and helpful in every way; if you had a problem or query it was sorted immediately.It was lovely to have the indoor swimming pool facility, especially as the weather was not too good during our stay! To confirm what other reviewers have said, the beds are really comfortable which we have found to be a rarity when staying in hotels or B&Bs, the rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated in a light, airy and up-to-date style and are spotlessly clean. There are several lounge areas to relax in at Fernbank and there were light bar meals, such as sandwiches, toasties and cake available during the day. Old Shanklin and the sea front are within easy walking distance (downhill to the front, with a bit of a climb back up). All in all, we couldn't think of any negative aspects at all - this was a brilliant B&B and we would certainly stay again!!

Room Tip: You might like to ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed mon - fri at Fernbank and have to say this must be the nicest b&b I have ever stayed at! The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds so comfortable it was a struggle to get up in the morning! Once up, the breakfast was amazing. Home made bread and local jams, fruit, cereals, toast, muffins....and then your choice of a hot breakfast as well! No fridge in room so asked Jo-Ann to put my medication in theirs and it was no problem...nothing was too much trouble for any of the friendly and attentive staff. They even remembered our breakfast preferences after the first morning! Jo-Ann and Julian obviously love what they do and excel at it. At Fernbank you are welcomed like one of the family and we were even asked to treat it our like our own home! We would have stayed Fri night too but they were fully booked. Fernbank would be my first choice if returning to the Isle of Wight as I cannot fault the hotel or the staff on anything at all! Thank you for an enjoyable stay guys!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We've just returned from a four day stay at The Fernbank - It was great! We had a thoroughly warm welcome & we couldn't fault the hotel! Clean, well decorated & welcoming, what more could you ask for? Well, a great breakfast, friendly & helpful staff, a swimming pool, lovely garden & a comfy bed all went towards a 5* for The Fernbank - a big thank you for everything!!

Room Tip: When booking check room dimensions - we were OK with a 'small double' but, some people might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamDennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just arrived home after spending a lovely week being totally pampered and cared for by jo-ann, julian,sharon and the rest of the wonderful staff. Having two teenagers we were apprehensive as to how we would "fit in" but we needn't have worried you couldn't feel more pampered, looked after and spoilt ! Our rooms were bright, spotlessly clean with on suite showers. The facilities were excellent and the indoor pool was perfect especially after a hot day on the beach.
We really can't thank you all enough for giving us the best holiday and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 5 and 9 and could not fault either
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueDave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

At this hotel comfort was their number one priority: nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who asked that we treat it like being in our own home. Breakfasts were to die for - so much choice and home made bread and locally made jams were provided. After the first morning the staff remembered our preferences, which all goes to make you feel special. The facilities were extremely good and the hotel is very close to the centre of Shanklin, but is in a very quiet location.

We were also given extremely good advice in how to get to see the best parts of the island and also how to get back to the ferry without having to go through the centre of Newport.

We certainly hope to return for another break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernbank

Property: The Fernbank
Address: 6 Highfield Road, Shanklin PO37 6PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernbank 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Fernbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernbank Hotel Shanklin
The Fernbank Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing