We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub”

Fisherman's Cottage
Ranked #10 of 76 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We ate here as a party of 11 with 3 dogs. We were made very welcome, the food was great, especially the fish & chips! & it's right on the beach! - what more is thereto say? - just perfect.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    172
    65
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We called here for a meal unfortunately they were not doing food as chef was not there we did have a drink however and was served by pleasant barman good view over the sea

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DorothyS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had the famous fish and chips while we were in Shanklin.. and I must say it was the best fish and chips I have ever had. Will definitely go back and have it again! Although the price is high, the portion and quality of food is really good. The fishermans Cottage also has great views of the beach and sea as it is right on the sea front :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Turkiye-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Amazing location literally right on the beach at the edge of Shanklin Chine, would love to visit here in the winter when the log fire is roaring & the waves are crashing!! As it was it made a very scenic lunch stop when we visited in July. Lovely old pub, with very friendly service and a nice small outside seating area.
Food was served speedily and was really tasty, with generous portion sizes, and a good kids menu, providing a more authentic, traditional alternative to the vast array of touristy eateries further down on the front.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockinrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dream pub on the beach.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I could spend the whole summer, right here, at the Fishermans cottage. The perfect old pub on the beach, from sand to bar in two steps. Great food, good beer and just so chilled out. Easily my favourite pub of all time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Cottage also viewed

 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing