We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishermans Cottage

Fishermans Cottage
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gravesend
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent a few hours eating and drinking at the Fishermans Cottage.Great location on the beach and the pub nestles in to the cliffs which gives it cosy feel with fantastic views.
Fairly good menu ,had a fabulous crab sandwich but we felt it was quite expensive ,£10.50 for a pint of prawns!,but the setting is great.
Can get busy at peak times,quite a small bar with only one person serving but all the staff were very nice.Good access for disabled people ,on the whole we enjoyed it a lot ,it's not every day you can sit in a thatched roof cottage on the beach.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    160
    62
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two Evening Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were recommended to this Cottage by Gillian at The Fawley, and we were not disappointed. We only managed two excellent courses each time although we wanted to sample their waffles. The portions are quite generous which resulted in our inability to manage any sweets. More importantly the food was excellent. I would advise reserving a table to avoid disappointmentdisappointment.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank davidcollins45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Pubs in locations like this – right on the beach- tend not to be very good – knowing that the location will bring in the punters. This is different – very good location very good beer, and good food, all at very reasonable prices.
Only criticism was the baguettes appeared to be filled early on – meaning a crab baguette was a little soggy.
Sit outside and watch the world go by.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Average choice on the menu and didn't have a good stock of meals if ran out. Looked cosy but was more of a quick place to eat during the day. Staff were not really smart and served the plates of meals with old tea towels. The kitchen is not well placed and didn't look to the highest standard. Meals were ok but would not go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Must have caught on a bad day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked a table at the restaurant largely on strengths of reviews and would not wish to contradict any of them but for me a disappointing visit.
Perhaps it was because the start of the holiday season caught them by surprise but a heavingly busy pub trade with a large number of diners and one bar man also taking the food orders does not equate.
Some tables, including the one allocated to us, where in the long queue area and let's be honest conversations in pub queues can be ribald especially when waiting.
To justify the charge the food must be excellent, it was good don't get me wrong but terrific afraid not, location can make up for that but if you were not outside the sea view is not in sight so take some care to treat your diners.
For me as a minim more staff or at least full table service.
Sorry folks but my money is increasingly hard to work for and when I spend it a suitable return is required.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nevik017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishermans Cottage also viewed

 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Fishermans Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing