We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place in the world”

Fisherman's Cottage
Ranked #6 of 16 Quick Bites in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

Hi. This is the worst place in the university. They cook a worst dishes in the world . Their food tastes as a f**** pigeons crap. If it would be the last place in the world where you can eat, just die. Or eat pigeon crap. It is the same.
Thank you.

Date of visit: January 2019
3  Thank Andy_Gavrilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie K, Manager at Fisherman's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Having read your review i am questioning if you have the correct establishment as the pub has been closed since October 31st 2018 as we are seasonal. If for some reason you visited us whilst open and found our food not to your liking i am slightly bewildered as to why you did not bring your complaint to our attention at the time. We take great pride in the quality and standard of all our food and why you would compare it to pigeon excrement is beyond words!
All i can add to this is that we are by the Sea and have Seagulls not Pigeons.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

Would have loved this place to be opened !! I walked on the beauifull beach and saw it and thought how cute it looked.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jules893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie K, Manager at Fisherman's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Hi Jules, As you can appreciate it is a very quiet time of year and we are a Seasonal pub only. We are reopening on the 27th March 2019 and hope you can pop in then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Well worth the small stroll from Shanklin esplanade to this pretty pub right on the beach.
The pub is quaint and lovely to sit outside in the sunshine.unfortunately it's closed in the winter .
The menu is quite varied .
A lovely place to visit

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie K, Manager at Fisherman's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

We look forward to seeing you when we reopen on the 27th March 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

I loved the location, hidden away in a cove underneath the entrance to Shanklin Chine. We were blessed with sunny weather for our visit, and we sat at an outside table so the the kids could dip their feet in the sea before the food arrived.

The food was fine. I had hoped to order a kids portion (ie half) jacket potato rather than ordering (and paying for) an adult sized meal for my 1 year old, but the kitchen couldn’t accommodate my request. All in all we had a great meal though.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank NBL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

This was a hidden gem that we stumbled upon on our first visit to the Isle of Wight. The location was beautiful and the food was delicious. I recommend you phone up and book a table as it is a small but cosy pub and very popular.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wanderer23832635269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie K, Manager at Fisherman's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Thank you for your lovely feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Cottage also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing