We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty fare, reasonably priced, superb service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Cat Restaurant

Black Cat Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 75 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty fare, reasonably priced, superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went on a busy Saturday night and were told we would have to wait a little while for our meal at this very cosy family-run restaurant. In the end we didn't actually have to wait too long (we're not talking fast food here after all, but a leisurely couple's dinner). Lots of locals patronised the the restaurant and the entire staff (all family members, I believe) came out at the end of service to apologise for the wait and ask how everything was.

Could you possibly ask for more? Yes indeed, you could well ask: did it taste good? Certainly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    81
    22
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely evening out in a superb atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The black cat was recommended by a friend who had previously been on holiday in Shanklin. We are still out of season so the restaurant was not full (many places were not even open) but we were not the only customers which speaks for itself. Very attentive waiter, keen to share his knowledge to help us make the best choice for us. Lovely food, good wine list, reasonably priced, highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank SurreyBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“All time favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This great little family run restaurant has been a favourite of my family for many years. Over that time we have taken many friends and visitors and have never received a negative comment.
The traditional Thai fare is always delicious.,and we have come to know the family over time. There is only one cook so if you are in a hurry for your meal then book an early sitting because at certain times of the year it can be very busy,such is its popularity.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillian4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Quaint olde world decor, but the food was really lovely nice bottle of French wine. Staff very attentive. Glad to have found a nice Thai restaurant locally this will not be our only visit, see you soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynnieiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I enjoyed good service and a lovely meal during a brief stop in Shanklin. The food was served fairly quickly, and the waiting staff checked all was well during the meal. We decided to have starters and a main course, and shared all the dishes for greater variety. Everything was well cooked and tasty. The service was relaxed but attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cat Restaurant also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Black Cat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing