We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel for a bargain break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Just returned from two nights at Luccombe as part of a TravelZoo deal. Room was comfortable and quiet. Good temperature throughout the hotel - not the usual hot & stuffy. Updated bathroom with some toiletries supplied. Plenty of hot water. Dinner included on first night was OK, though too much potato in my fish cake & not enough fish. Lovely poached eggs for breakfast. Staff polite & friendly (without being familiar). Great view from the dining room & gardens. Gripes: please improve the quality of your toilet paper; pay attention to guests arriving in the dining room for breakfast; only 5 TV channels with bad reception & no radio channels.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikerbabe009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2011

After reading recent reviews of this hotel was really looking forward to a lovely weekend in the I.O.W. Hotel was a let down, paid for an upgraded room but it was rather dated with an eighties style fitted wardrobe which incorporated a non user friendly dressing table and the television reception was terrible with only 5 of the 8 channels working. The bath was so small that I couldn't relax in it and indulge the 'spa experience' expected from the hotels web site. We stayed for two nights and on the second day the room service was poor, the floor was still covered in white fluff from the towels and bedding after it had been 'cleaned'.
On the up side the service was excellent and the food was lovely and as advertised it was a fantastic sea view from the room, when the fog had lifted but I wish I had saved my money and not paid for the upgraded room for the sake of a sea view. We had a lovely weekend but the room was not up to expectations and definitely did not match the photos advertised.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graceTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Just returned from a two day break at the Luccombe Hall Hotel. I have no complaints only that all good things come to an end. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome by all the hotel staff. The hotel has individual character which makes it endearing. Our room was clean and comfortable with the most fantastic sea view. (So pleased we upgraded to a sea view.) Plenty of tea and coffee in the room too.
The dinning room was cosy and service efficient by polite staff. The breakfast menu seemed to cover all tastes and there was no excuse to start the day hungry. We chose from a varied menu for dinner on the first night which we enjoyed. We chose to eat out the following evening because we wanted to experience the surounding area.
The hotel offers a heated indoor pool and sauna that was a treat for us.
We thoroughly enjoyed our truelly relaxing break and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellie21feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Excellent hotel, really nice sea view. Good location. Restaurant service was excellent, good food and friendly but not over familiar service. Always willing to accommodate any request made. This was our second stay with this group of hotels and was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy_old_man_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The hotel was really lovely, fab views, fab location not far from local town 2mins in a taxi or 10 min walk, food was really nice and staff were really friendly very welcoming even tho we a young couple in our 20's, the hotel attracts the older generation but didnt feel out of place by others staying bein alot older then us.
If i visit isle of white again i will most defiantly go back to Luccombe Hotel :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank south_wales_R_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I booked this hotel on a Travelzoo deal which included Half board one night and B&B the other.
It was Valentines weekend so romance was of the essence - when I saw 'THE VIEW' I was very optimistic...
When we arrived the front door was wide open but there was definitely nobody home! In fact they left an envelope with my keys and personal information cellotaped to the desk (Security!!)
The room was old and limited (5 channels on the TV) & no handy hotel extras!
Breakfast portions were tiny and rather tasteless but the waitress was fantastic!
The dinner was the real let down!! uncooked meat, microwaved veg & tinned soup!
But what infuriated me the most was carefully left on the radiator next to the hot tub - a used condom!
It left me feeling like a cheap (alhough there prices aren't for a 3*), used and like a one night stand!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regularromanticist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccombehall, Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

I was very surprised to read this review as it is completely at odds with the many favourable comments we recieved on comment forms from guests also staying during this period.

It is unfortunate that this particular guest did not bring their concerns to a member of staff during their stay with us. After a thorough investigation, a suspicious looking item was found inside the radiator in the bathroom. After dismantaling the radiator to retrieve this item, it was found to be the cellophane wrapper from a "Pepperami" stick and definatley not a used condom. Although still not something to be expected inside a radiator, if the guest in question reads this response, I hope they feel a little less "cheap".

The room these guests stayed in is our largest family room and has been refurbished recently. It benefits from flat screen television (with 7 channels, 4 terrestrial and 3 satellite) and has a large bay window. The spacious bathroom has separate shower cubicle and spa bath. It is beyond my comprehension as to how anyone can describe this room as "old". We include pictures of this particular room on our website and many of our regular guests request this room for their subsequant stays.

Myself and the rest of the team work really hard to make sure all our guests have a fantastic stay. We're all friendly and approachable and on the odd occasion when something doesn't live up to a guests expectations, we welcome the chance to try and rectify the situation to everyones satisfaction.

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We stayed on a two night travelzoo break with free ferry. It was brilliant value for money. The sea view room was lovely, the staff were really helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. The hotel is ideally located just a short walk from the old Shanklin village. The weather was cold, but the hotel was lovely and warm. Difficult to fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tidy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £52 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing