We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We booked the special deal with the ferry crossing included with travel zoo and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the Hotel. Very friendly, comfortable and clean. The bedroom was small but comfortable and newly decorated. Close to the beach [155 steps down to beach] and the town centre. The restaurant conservatory had a lovely view overlooking the sea. Nicely cooked breakfast and evening meal - all very well presented. The pool was very small but very warm and relaxing after a day walking. A lovely family run hotel and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    312
    100
    47
    34
See reviews for
188
482
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked the special deal which we found on Travelzoo - mentioned by other reviewers. We were a little hesitant about knowing what to expect. The Luccombe Hall doesn't advertise itself to by The Hempel or Babbington House, so we knew that we were not going somewhere which is a place of style over everything else, but we were just a bit concerned.
From the moment we arrived to such a friendly and cheery welcome, we knew that any concerns were misplaced. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Bedlinen is the proper old fashioned pure linen variety - wonderful. Without exception, the service was without fault. The food - lovely. Not flash or adventurous - there are no foams or nages here - but just good ingredients, very well cooked. My husband had a steak pie, recommended by another reviewer and thought it was fantastic. I had a piece of honey roast pork - a really very good piece of meat, excellently cooked. The creme brulee was one of the best I have ever had. I would be happy to eat in the restaurant several times over. The building itself is a delight - much of the original being still in tact - cornicing, dado rails, picture rails, huge wide stairs, wooden doors etc. I can be difficult to please but I really just could not fault this and can't wait to go back. We didn't go expecting an uber-swank stylish, minimalist hotel with a dark bar and achingly trendy guests - and we were so pleased with what we found - a lovingly run family owned hotel. A good old fashioned break and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is now the second time i have been to Luccombe Manor Hotel which is the sister hotel to Luccombe Hall Hotel.
This time we took the whole family including my dog.

Room Tip: This time we had a room suitable for the dog.Large room. Buster loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidays22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend and it was fantastic. The service was spot on and the facilities were great.

There is a sauna and a heated pool. Both of which are great.

The food service is like a bygone era, but utterly charming.

The only criticism is that the games room could be modernised, but that's a minor quibble.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked the usual deal mentioned by previous reviewers and cost £79.00 each. When booking my partner cheekily requested a sea view (she's like that) and we were pleasantly surprised when we were told that we had been given an upgrade to a superior room with a sea view. The room was a decent size and the bathroom had a whirlpool bath (Room 20), all perfectly clean.
We requested that the free bottle of wine be served at dinner and this was not a problem and duly taken away to be chilled.
The spa facilities were pretty standard and perfectly adequate. The pool was very warm and kids were enjoying themselves splashing about, it being half term and February you're going to get kids in the pool. Jacuzzi didn't bubble that much and requires a service. The sauna was-a sauna!
There is a quiet room where you can read the papers and have self-serve tea and coffee and a nice bar area which was pleasantly inviting.
Dinner slots are allocated at 15 minute intervals starting at 6.30 and you're allocated the same dining table throughout your stay.
The dinner menu is short, but the food was a lot better than expected. My partner had the sole and she said it was the best that she had ever tasted (and she knows her fish). I had pork which was nicely cooked. All in all an excellent meal and the wine was better than expected.
Breakfast was standard fare, although unusually on the first morning I was served a beef sausage. The coffee was excellent.
The gardens are well kept and a delight for a 10 minute wander as well as access to steps that lead down to the beach.
We were both pleasantly surprised by this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Sure there are areas that need a bit of TLC but it's good to see a management team providing the highest possible standard of service that they can during difficult economic times.
Just a couple of things though (here's "the but") the pictures in room 20 (owl with dead mouse in claws and elephants at watering hole) should be donated to a charity shop and more gravy with the pork (sorry gravy is so "old school") I mean jus.
Just a few general tips about the IOW. The minor roads are full of potholes, pedestrians will cross the road regardless of traffic and park in East Cowes and take the ferry to Cowes proper (that's free for foot passengers).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lookslikerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The website looked promising and we were looking forward to the stay. The welcome was freindly but the overpowering smell of the lillies on the reception desk was off putting.

The room was clean and comfortable but dated. The TV was very small too. We had Room 29 which was very old fashioned and the wardrobe smelt awful. A nice view and a kettle that put itself on....! During our visit, there was an elephant staying in the room above us or at least thats what it felt like. We would hear it walk around and would know when it was in the bathroom.

The worst part of the whole stay was the food! We had a deal with breakfast on both days and dinner one night. The Chef has no idea about food. The breakfast was slightly better than the dinner. For dinner we ordered a steak dish where the steak was rolled. The menu choice was limited. We were not asked how we would like it cooked. It came and when we cut it open it was raw inside and the cut of meat was veiny and fatty. It was served only with vegetables and no potatoes or chips. My partner had one bite and couldnt eat any more so we put our cutlery down. A waitress came over and asked if we had finished and took the plates away. It was obvious that we hadnt eaten the meals, yet we were not asked if there was anything wrong. The second morning, we had a chunk of plastic under the sausage. Someone else has also mentioned this in a review which is worrying.

The seating arrangements are really odd in that you sit at the same table every time. There are some nice views but unless you are in one of the rooms that have the number of the sea view tables....you are not allowed to sit there.....yes; even if you ask! Odd.

All in all, the hotel is going to be busy because its website looks ok and this makes people book. The place smells of lillies and rooms are musky. We would not go back, unless we fancied a veiny bit of steak or felt like eating a chunk of plastic some day.

We did tell the receptionist about our issues but she offered no solution, no apology and infact.....no comment. The place is stuck in a time warp, they do not move with the times and I think that they beleive they run to a good standard and wont be told otherwise.

The pubs close by are lovely and the food is great! They were actually reccomended by a member of hotel staff.

Good luck :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaybee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We found the hotel & staff to be very friendly & relaxed.

The executive suite that we had was very well presented & extremely clean, it also had a great view.

The food was good but however would benefit from being cooked in a healthier fashion and with more variety.

On a whole we had a very pleasant stay and will go back when the warmer weather comes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltron75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Property: Luccombe Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing