We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost very good,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost very good,”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Plus points :Location is good with great sea views from the garden.Breakfast was good and efficiently served.Reception staff and quality of room maintenance good.
Cons:Room although of adequate size was, as was parts of the hotel,in need of a spruce up.
Water flow in shower/bath dismal and no extractor fan.
I found service at dinner in the restaurant over familiar and hence irritating.Thus only ate there once in the evening.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    312
    100
    47
    34
See reviews for
188
482
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I found this hotel on Travelzoo, we had a great time, lovely seaviews. Hotel and staff were amazing very friendly and helpful. James had a lovely manner in the Dining room, he made everyone smile!! Compliments to the chef, the food was outstanding. Gardens were nice along with all the facilities. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a free complimentory bottle of wine Thankyou..... we will return for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed at Luccombe Hall for 3 days in May 2012. Excellent !!!! Room was lovely with a superb sea view. Staff were really really nice and couldn't have been more helpful and always with a smile. Food was great very tasty and well presented. ( Only gripe was could have done with more variety.Menu was same every night except 2 specials each day- no change of desserts)
Would definately go back. Thanks to all at Luccombe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel exceeded my expectations. The Food and bar service were really good. The hotel grounds and the indoor pool etc were very nice. We had a very nice break on the Island and the hotel made the difference.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know if you want a ground floor room, but avoid room 1, as it can be a bit noisy as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We booked a two night break with two breakfasts and dinner the first night, from an offer sent to us by Travel Zoo.really good value. Lovely old house,tremendous views from dining room, and our room as we upgraded to a sea view.Great gardens leading to cliff top walks. Room was huge with lots of storage.The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.Food morning and Evening was outstanding. Only downside was that although once a very Grand House, its now looking a little tired in places, especially our bathroom. It certainly would not stop us from returning or recommending this hotel to friends.Forgot to say that the deal also included car ferry from Southhampton , and that was also a good experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We went on a two day special offer of staying at the Hotel inclusive of the car for two. This was our first time on the Island and when we booked into the Hotel things just went from excellent to even better, iys hard to see how this could be, but the reception, bar and restaurant staff just could not do enough for you. All were willing to pass on how to get the best out of our stay. There was nothing I could find fault with with the Hotel, the room, the pool and indoor sports facilities, the food , the views form the Hotel and the Gardens where the best we have had at any Hotel.

Room Tip: One with a sea view is well worth going for. The amount of activity you can see is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

First and foremost, the best thing about the hotel is the staff. 12 of us stayed here in May and they couldn't have been more helpful.
The first night we stayed almost didn't happen - we were due to be staying elsewhere and the accomodation became unavailable. Fortunately, Luccombe Hall Hotel was able to accomodate us to stay for an additional night.
We all stayed in on the first night, and the staff very kindly let us use the downstairs bar area so our chatting didn't disturb people trying to sleep. They also continued with their excellent service throughout our trip, with first class service from the restaurant at breakfast (which was delicious and plentiful) and from reception.
The only slight niggle is on day two, when the hotel was busier, the breakfasts for our party all came out at very different times so some of the group had completely finished before others even got started.
The rooms were large, clean and comfortable with en suite bathrooms and showers with decent pressure and heat (always an unpredictable thing in any hotel!). I did notice what looked like a little mould on the bathroom curtains though.
The hotel has a pool and sauna which we made use of on the first day, a very relaxing experience. The cleanliness of these areas was also impeccable. However, the gym facilities are very lacking - a couple of pieces of kit in the pool/tv room. I didn't feel comfortable using these when a couple of people were playing pool and drinking in the same space, and there also was no treadmill so I went for a run outside instead!
Cost wise, this certainly isn't a cheap hotel but looking at similar types of accomodation in Shanklin it seems to be on an equal level. I would definitely look at staying here again based on the experience I had on my first visit

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellyMalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Property: Luccombe Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing