We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, lovely views...time to review the detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I think some of the previous reviews have been rather unfair.
We stayed at Luccombe Manor for a week in July 2012 and found it a very pleasant and welcoming hotel.

It isn’t the last word in sophistication, but if sophistication is what you are after you probably aren’t going to holiday in the Isle of Wight…

But it was clean, the staff were extremely welcoming and the food was well cooked if not particularly exciting – think pub grub rather than gourmet experience. The views over the gardens to the sea are beautiful, and it is a convenient short walk into Shanklin itself.

Good points:

Staff were uniformly friendly, especially James, the waiter, and Dave behind the bar who was interested and full of useful information. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them.

Some of the staff are very young, and one or two a bit scruffy/over made-up – nothing a quiet word wouldn’t sort out, and nice kids all of them. A new dress code would be a bit less dated – tired white shirts/black trousers that have obviously been part of school uniform weren’t very ‘special’ looking. Maybe it’s time to invest in something a bit more trendy – polo-shirts with the hotel logo maybe, smart French serving aprons. Minimal cost, maximum impact.

The views of the sea from the hotel are across lovely gardens and are pretty special: there is a nice looking outside pool which appeared to be well tended, although the weather was so dodgy during the week we stayed we were unable to use it, or the garden.
We didn’t use the inside pool so I can’t comment on that

Points to look out for:

The stairs are an issue. I didn’t see any mention of the fact there is no hotel lift on the website and it certainly wasn’t mentioned when I booked, but given that there are more than 40-something steps to the second floor rooms, up two flights – one of which is very steep and narrow – this needs to be highlighted.
I have a damaged knee and I would assume the average age of guests here is on the high side: I struggled and I am sure other people will too.

When making my booking I asked about the cancellation policy and was told “we’ll include all the details with your confirmation”. When this arrived it turned out to be the immediate forfeiture of the 25% deposit no matter how far in advance of the holiday the cancellation was made, and 100% of the cost of the holiday if cancelled within seven days of the start. This seems Draconian and quite out of line with usual practice – and had we HAD to cancel for any reason would have left us badly out of pocket. But by the time you find out this is the policy you have of course booked and it is too late.

We were lucky enough to be given a table for two in the conservatory throughout our stay and enjoyed the lovely views it offered: but the main dining room has only borrowed light, and the bar area no natural light at all, and I think I would have found it rather depressing to eat in the dark for a week.

The food is freshly cooked and nicely prepared if not over-exciting. Breakfasts are good. There was a change of head chef during our visit and talk of the menu going “up market”. Given that the kitchen staff are obviously competent this would seem to be something easily achieved. The nightly choice of perhaps six main courses did change by a couple each night, but by the end of a week’s stay was starting to look a bit samey.

The advertised free wifi only works in the small quiet room downstairs which is a bit annoying if, like us, you have taken ipads and expect to be able to use them in your room. This is also something easily sorted out and something most travellers expect these days.

Our room (12) was clean and the bed was comfortable but the two tub chairs were impossibly hard to sit on, and the foam pillows were dismally uncomfortable. I asked if any feather ones were available and when they weren’t I bought a couple as I just couldn’t sleep on those provided.

I didn’t find the hotel at all scruffy, but I think they are missing a trick not playing up to the building’s past as the summer home of the Bishop of Portsmouth.

I’d like to have seen a write-up about the history of the hotel in the menu, and perhaps a portrait of the old boy (old, or newly commissioned) somewhere prominent downstairs. The glass display cabinet in the hall – currently home to half a dozen dusty glasses – could also be put to good use playing up the “heritage” angle. (Yes – I am in PR!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldineDurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is a truly wonderful little find. We enjoyed a short 3 day, 2 night stay at Luccombe Hall at the end of June. The hotel is clean and tranquil. The hotel staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is good and we got a good deal on half board, which made our stay excellent value. The gardens are beautiful and overlooking the sea too; a perfect location! The indoor pool was fab when it was overcast and we even got to try the heated outdoor pool at the sister hotel next door with lovely jets. Having never been to the Isle of Wight before, this was an ideal base for visiting the sights; we did Shanklin Chine (literally 10 mins walk from the hotel), The Needles and Black Gang Chine (a short drive away), Ventnor and Cowes. We visited Osborne House at East Cowes, which is highly recommended!! A superb hotel, admittedly it is a little tired in places but you are not paying Hilton prices so I'm sure you can overlook this as we did. We are a family of Mum, Dad and our 4.5yr old little boy; he loved every minute :)

Room Tip: Go for the sea view; an extra £10 or there abouts from memory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Room 25, July 2-7th, 2012.
Good: food, gardens, outdoor pool, staff (except one cocky waiter), bed, deep/new carpet;
Bad: peeling paintwork, scoffed doors with dirty fingermarks all over; moldy tiles, dated, tatty, dirty, grim, neglect all over hotel; indoor pool changing areas really grim/neglected; games room smelly; hotel wants to be all things to all people - instead of providing just one facility, but at high standard.
Our room was on ground, with one room above: we heard EVERY sound!!! E V E R Y sound!!!
this bathroom supposedly will be updated; seen an other already done up, slight improvement - at yet an other £10 surcharge over and above the one for views!

If you like what you see on my pictures, then go, otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glossytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The hotel was nice. The grounds were lovely. The car parking is a bit of an issue. I think the waiting staff in the restaurant were young and perhaps needed some extra training. Silly things like asking for more tea and them just forgetting. I had to go and chase the waiter to serve an old couple sat next to us when they were waiting to order dessert. One of the male younger waiter was talking about a game he was playing at home and he broadcast that it was crap he was talking to a father with a 4 year old. . Silly things that just need to be put right by perhaps a restaurant manager. However the breakfast was good and the selction of fruit yogurts and cereal and hot food was good . Although I had some potted prawns as a starter and it almost made my tonsils bleed. There was no mention of chilli or spice on the menu but oh my god it bought tears to my eyes. The chocolate brownie was better used as a door stop. Now the room was lovely it was room 3 it had a great view of the Sea. Perfect. The shower was horrible as in there was no power to it and it was just a dribble. The quite areas and seating place around the hotel were nice Would i go back yes. Because the hotel was clean the staff were ok. The food was ok. It's just that silly things let it down. I think lack of leadership.

Room Tip: Go for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very good choice of food and fantastic gardens, views and steps to climb down to the beach. Pool opened at 8 and would have prefered it to open earlier so to swim before breakfast but friendly staff, clean, comfortable and quiet rooms. Good value for money and will stay again, for longer next time now I know what is on offer.

Room Tip: Lovely views from most rooms but for amazing views get one which directly looks out over garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights but the hotel is not used to en mass therefore breakfast was slow arriving. Very good selection for starters.The indoor pool was suppposed to open at 7 am but not so and the window sill in the pool room was full of dead flies so attention needed there please.
As mentioned in other reviews the hotel needs an update big time but the views were outstanding.Lots of hot water but TV took some working out. We found the bed and pillows extremely hard but then this is a personal thing but there were a few complaints amongst ourselves about it.There isn't a lift and there are two flights of stairs to the first floor so do bear that in mind if you have mobility problems of ay sort. Would probably stay again if there was a very tempting special offer on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellitasitis213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is not worth the money - it is in need of a mass overall. We had an uninsulated stench pipe running down our bedroom wall so were woken every morning at 6.30 by people above having showers. Entrance to our room was through the dining room so had to ask people to move while they ate their meals as their seats were across the entrance. Breakfast is a nightmare - waiting 15 mins for someone to take our order for coffee and waited 25 mins to served an English breakfast - staff need to be trained a lot more - reception staff are very good. Swimming pool very dark and in need of some painting - take care if using the hot tub as plastic steps move when you try to get into the tub. My suggestion is go some where else its a basic 2 star hotel with a 3 star rating charging 4 star prices

Room Tip: don't bother go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitbyuk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
951 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
4 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £63 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing