We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Family Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable week with husband and 14 year old daughter at this lovely old hotel (4th Aug - 11th Aug). The hotel enjoys a lovely setting on the cliff top above Shanklin beach. The gardens are beautifully kept and the views are gorgous. We had good weather as well. Our room (26) with sea view was clean and comfortable. We stayed here about 10 years ago and there has been little change apart from the following which are worthy of note:

The outdoor pool at Luccombe was lovely and enjoys a secluded setting but needs CLEANING - the water is greasy and full of sand, very murky. Also there are some loose surrounding slabs that need attention and the white gates need some maintenance. The pool furniture and chairs, tables etc in the gardens need cleaning too. There were some wine glasses left on a garden table that were not moved for three days...........

Reception states that there is a fine dining menu? Food although well cooked and presented lacks variety. If you are staying a week or more you are presented with very little choice. Beef casserole becomes beef pie with the addition of a slab of pastry which has never seen the meat. Chicken chassuer becomes chicken supreme with a change of sauce drizzled over a dry chicken breast and so on. The vegetables served were exactly the same every night of our stay - peas, carrot, swede and red cabbage. The red cabbage even came with the cheese starter. Salad was frankly boring! Heaven help vegetarians! Sweets were disappointing bought in commercial versions of banoffee pie, cheese cake etc. Service was friendly but some evenings the waiters/waitresses seemed very stretched indeed and did not look for work.

When we arrived we were given a small uneven table near the back of the restaurant amidst families with babies and children under 5 who spent much of the time crawling all over the floor. Indeed we were promised and hoped that we would be moved. We had to ask 3 times for this to be done (none of the young waiters/waitresses seemed to be able to execute this) and it was finally down to Dave the barman (hats off to him)! who sorted this out for us. This IS a family hotel but not all adults or well behaved older children want to sit up against a high chair or want to share their evening meal with squalling babies (the hotel does offer children's teas but sadly many parents do not see the need to avail themselves of this service).

The Olympics were in full swing during our stay. The TV was fine in our room, but the shiny new flat screen TV in the bar was hopeless - the signal kept dropping out at the critical moment! Come on Management sort this out!!! Spend some money on this hotel........

All this said, with a new menu and/or chef and a spruce up this lovely hotel could be as good as it was 10 years ago - but we still enjoyed our holiday and may even go again !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchells499610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a fantastic 7 day stay (25/7/12 - 01/8/12). All staff were very pleasant and polite. The restaurant staff were excellent, always taking time to talk to you as an individual and, in doing so, made you feel very welcome and valued. The food was also of a very high quality.
The hotel facilities suit a wide age-range and it was particularly pleasing to see a number of families, spanning 3 generations, enjoying their stay. The super facilities include both indoor and outdoor pools, secluded garden areas, squash court and indoor play area for younger children. As a resident, you also have the exclusive use of facilities in the 'sister' hotel next door.
If you enjoy spectacular views, there is no better place on the island!
We will definitely make a return visit to this special hotel.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a sea-view and if this is an essential element of your stay then request such. If no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have recently spent a very pleasant week at the hotel. All the staff were helpful and friendly particularly in the restaurant. We had 2 rooms both of which were spotlessly clean as were all the public areas. The children particularly enjoyed both of the pools and the views when sitting in the garden cannot be topped. Yes certain areas need a little attention-some of the slabs round the outdoor pool are loose and the gates are in poor repair for example. Also the outside draughts and chess are incomplete and bropken so why not just get rid of it? This said the overall experience was good and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have recently returned from a 4 day 3 night stay at the Luccombe Hall Hotel and had a wonderful time. I took my mother who is in her late 60's and son who is 7, so as you can see we spanned generations but we all really enjoyed our stay.
When we arrived at the hotel we were met by an extremely well-informed receptionist who gave us all the information that we required regarding our room, the dining room, bar, games room, swimming pool and the grounds. She couldn't have been more helpful and if there was anything else we needed we asked whoever was on Reception and got a suitable answer.
Our room was Room 1 which was right by the reception area and although I had reservations initially, it had 2 doors which made it sound proof(ish). We were happy with our room - my only criticism would be that the curtain in the bedroom had come unhooked slightly but to be honest that was the only thing and it meant that some light came into a very dark bedroom - We like dark bedrooms as it tends to be night when we sleep!
We swam every day in the indoor pool and it suited both myself and my son. It did tend to be busy at times - but that suggests to me it can't be all that bad.
We played table tennis, mini-golf and my son used the play area including a high quality new trampoline.
We only had breakfast at the hotel and were impressed not only with the food but the service too - specifically the waiter James (who was off on our first day) but he certainly had things under control and was extremely organised.
All in all we were very pleased with our experience and although this isn't the cheapest of hotels we felt it was still value for money. When I read other, less positive reviews from people who clearly stayed in the hotel at the same time as us, we had a completely different experience and would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We booked a 2 day break at this hotel, expecting a fairly upmarket experience, as befits the Isle of Wight's image. Our booking included a ferry ticket, and the crossing was delightful on a glorious day, with yacht racing taking place at Cowes.
It took us longer than expected to reach the hotel, as many roads seem in a poor state of repair, but we finally reached it. We found a nice old sea-facing building, with an ugly extension grafted on. On checking in we were given some information, including that the hotel chef liked to use home-grown produce, so we looked forward to the food. Our room, in the older, more characterful part of the hotel had a poor view of an ugly building next door, over an extension roof, but by craning out, we could see the sea. The room seemed fairly well used, and needed some updating, but the bed was comfortable. The spa tub was not working, but it was fixed the following day.
The terraced grounds were lovely, with lots of nice seating areas, and a heated pool which badly needed cleaning. There was also a smallish indoor pool, which seemed very busy as there were several families staying, and a well used squash court for the more energtic.
Steep steps led down to the beach, and a terrific walk along to the lovely older part of Shanklin.
We went for dinner that evening, and were so disappointed with the food, the starter had a tiny generic salad accompaniment, fish on the menu was not available, the vegetables soggy and swimming in butter. The one bright spot was a generous cheese plate with good home made bread. Tea and coffee could be served at the table, and the dull guest lounge had serve yourself tea and coffee, but with nasty plastic cups. There was real no improvement the second night, and it is sad to say that breakfast was a dull meal- help yourself usual offerings, and tasteless eggs.

Room Tip: Have a sea-facing room for the wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

PLEASE READ....I was so excited to have booked to stay at this hotel, but my excitement soon turned to dread when I walked in the front door! It was such an instant disappointment. Please don't be fooled by the attractive pictures and false advertising on their website. I do not ask for much in a hotel but in my book there are certain criteria based on the price you pay.

My husband and I travelled with a 3 year old and 1 year old for four nights. There is no mention of the lack of access via a lift to any floor in the hotel. The gardens also are not accessible with a pram unless you want to carry them down lots of uneven steps. Our room at over £200 a night was dark, dingy and extremely un child friendly. There are huge sash windows in desperate need of repair and all of whom have no optional child lock, so this was extremely uncomfortable in our only heatwave in 2012! Each of the windows lead out onto flat roofs which is an attraction for any child who may like to climb, thankfully not mine but it didn't stop me ensuring they were shut each night in the sweltering heat. Obviously being such an old building there was no air conditioning. The tap was falling off the bath, the curtains were old, musty, in desperate need of a wash and in no way were they blackout in fact they were hardly lined. There were no small lamps in the room, all the lights seemed to have 100 watt bulbs - not ideal when your staying with children. Our room was situated by the swinging door leading to the next level. Also not ideal when its banging all night and you lay in bed praying it doesn't keep waking the kids.

The front of the hotel is maintained to a high standard but step out the back and you will see how unloved these hotel gardens really are. The putting green has grass at least 3 inches long so unlike us don't bother bringing any clubs! The children's play area is dirty and unkempt. There are screws sticking out of the wooden climbing frame and much of the equipment is dated. There is absolutely no attention to detail anywhere in this hotel. The hotel pool has furniture which is broken and definitely uncleaned at any point. Never did I see anyone clean the pool area (despite the colony of ants), collect glasses or even take a brush to sweep the area. The bin was overflowing and the gates are in disrepair.

There is no Spa as advertised, but a beautician comes in when needed.

The highlight of my journey was breakfast, the waitress seemed to think it ok to offer me a table with a dirty tablecloth, because as she put it " it hadn't been changed from the night before". There is a policy that you sit at the same table for the entire stay, although when we arrived early for our breakfast it seemed someone else had eaten at our table. Despite the restaurant being practically empty, I with my two young children had to wait at least 10 minutes for our table to be relayed. However, when we were finally shown to our table, it lacked necessary eating and drinking utensils! It also had the coat of the previous diner left for us to move. The breakfast fell short of school dinners being quite bland with hard poached eggs no matter how you request them. The variety is poor and the service is lacking. None of the tables seem to be cleaned until everyone has eaten and left. The staff although pleasant at times, were scruffy, unattentive and quite frankly lazy. They wore dirty trousers and even tuxedo trousers to adhere to the hideous uniform. A little detail would go a long way here.

I did raise my concerns with the manageress, given the fact we are in a recession and we'd payed a lot of money to stay here (i really don't like confrontation unless where necessary). Although she was apologetic and did the whole customer service thing 'yes madam, i'm sorry yo feel that way madam". I came away thinking gosh, I think she also may need a little bit of delegation and focus to bring this hotel to the little gem it could be. It has so much potential but sadly its lacking effective management and a clear direction. The obvious lazy feel of the management at this hotel ensures me that I will never stay at this hotel again, which is sad because we loved our first visit to the IOW and plan on going there again next year. Time to hunt for a new hotel :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LorraineP1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have stayed here several times and enjoyed ourselves each time. However, the owners don't seem to attend to annoying details. For instance, we had the same room as last year and had previously commented that hot water emerged from the cold tap but nothing had been done to put this right a year later! Also there was no lavatory-roll holder in the bathroom.
Service in the dining room has deteriorated a bit since the excellent head waiter Luciano left - he made sure that service was swift and efficient. The management was mad to let him go.
It seems as though the owners/manager(s) just allow the hotel to continue without attending to repairing/updating things that need attention. This apparent laziness is in danger of putting us off booking future holidays here, even though many things (the gardens, the views) are fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
924 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £48 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing