We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely overnight break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight break”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed at the hotel 22 years ago and decided to come back for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The room was a little small but clean and all the staff were lovely. We enjoyed the out door pool. There was plenty to eat for breakfast. Only problem was the car park is not big enough for all the guests and we had to park some way up the road. Would love to come back with our teenage children but as our night cost £150, I think £300 for 2 rooms for a night in summer would just be too much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    303
    99
    47
    33
See reviews for
183
468
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were very pleased with our room (no19) which was very spacious, with fantastic views of the sea and coast. The menu was varied and wines reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and pleasent especially Josh. The Location is ideal with a short walk into Old Shankin. On top of this the gardens and the outside heated pool made this a very special short break. Will definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room on the second floor facing the sea is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The location is outstanding and the hotel itself was clean and spacious as were the rooms. One other positive was that everything advertised as being on offer was actually there unlike other hotels who promise saunas but they are not working or the pools are out of action this month etc. The pools were great indoors and outdoors as was the tea garden and games room.
Well done Luccome Hotel.

One negative was that we had booked a sauna but the staff member on duty did had forgotten to turn it on for the booked time so no sauna! This was just an oversight though.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are obviously a good idea but if not possible a family room is the next best thing, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this typical English 3 star hotel
Food was good staff friendly and view was great
One small fault...bar didn't have any draft beer and for the price you pay for bottles you would expect the to be cold,did ask for a cold beer and was told that's as cold the fridge went..
Also the beer we had was only 275 m not 330m which is mean

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesnuttdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just a short walk from Shanklin Old Village, which is a lovely area to base yourself on a trip to the island. The room was of a perfectly reasonable standard for the price I paid apart from two issues which clouded my stay. The mattress was of a pretty poor quality, and my room (11) was right over the kitchens, so I was awoken early by the banging of pots and pans. There are tired looking areas for children to play, and a very uninviting small indoor pool.

On the plus side the breakfast selection was very good and staff were all very nice. I would return, but I would ensure I got a room at the front or back, if it wasn't too much more expensive!

Room Tip: Some or most of the rooms at the back would have sea views; at the front overlooking small car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at Luccombe Hall as part of a Travelzoo short break. The staff were extremely friendly and the facilities were just as advertised. The meals were of the type that you would expect in this type of hotel but actually very good. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The facilities of the executive rooms (we had to switch rooms part way through) were potentially excellent. Large rooms and bathrooms, lovely sea views, excellent super king beds. However rather let down by the finishing touches, broken cup holder in one bathroom, bathroom lights not all working (both bathrooms!), tired fruit in the bowl, dirty crockery etc. The second room (16) was approached by a very narrow and steep flight of stairs, certainly not suitable for anyone with any difficulty with steps and this should have been mentioned at the time of booking. Overall 4 for the rooms.
Quite the opposite for the food, both breakfast and dinner were very disappointing for a 3 star AA hotel (or a TripAdvisor 4 Star - I don't know how they achieved this). Choice was quite limited and there is no option of an a la carte at extra cost. Portion size was on the small side, the dishes were badly described, Caesar Salad (vegetarian on the menu) arrived with bacon and black olives, a smoke fish vol au vent arrived with two flat disks of pastry, veg were unimaginative and repetitive. Standard coffee was terrible, no option for expresso or other similar coffees. Overall 2, if that, for the food.
Setting is wonderful but the hotel could do so much better, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr69bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Property: Luccombe Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing