We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a 3 night BB&evening meal deal which included both ferry crossing which were booked by the hotel.
The hotel is a little dated I half expected to see Miss Marple at dinner! It is dated in a pleasant way though, dark furniture, patterned carpets etc. it is welcoming and very clean.
There is no aircon so we were lucky to have a sea facing bedroom and just enough breeze during the very hot spell to cool you down in the large comfortable bed. The room was large clean and pleasantly furnished.
The bathroom was good and the presence of a whirlpool bath a real treat.
Indoor and outdoor pools were good. Indoor was the warmest but outdoor is heated. The jacuzzi was nicely hot but the jets seemed a little lacking in power.
Food was ok. Nothing special but perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

Firs tly we had a great package deal which included bed,breakfast,dinner,ferry and a free bottle of wine for our 2 night weekend stay.When we arrived we also received a voucher for a free cream tea.We were made to feel very welcome and check in was very informative.Throughout our stay all staff we encountred were extremely friendly ,professional and helpful.For a three star hotel the facities were comprehensiive,the grounds were extensive and well kept and the views over the Solent were lovely.Ideally located 10 minutes walk to the beach and Shanklin old village.

The hotel itself is a bit dated but the rooms were very clean with a good bathroom and adequate storage.Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good.The 3 course dinner was fairly conservative but both quality and quantity was fine.

Overall a good experience and we will return in the future.An excellent 3 star hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked this hotel as it was recommended on a wedding invite that we had received , unfortunately the real horror did not unfold until we arrived it was the same hotel we had stayed at 2 years earlier and promised we would never return.
However we had little choice but to stay, firstly I would say it is very expensive for what it is.
The hotel desperately needs money spent on it, the annex needs sound proofing, walking trough the dinning room to get to the annex is just weard, the views from the Annex are magnificent , the gardens are beautifully maintained and the out side pool a real plus point.
The bar was poorly stocked and scruffy.
Breakfast the next morning was uninspiring at best.
The staff we pleasant enough though.
My closing thoughts were that this is a bad advert for British tourisme, shame really as it could be really really good.
Won't be back anytime zoo

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is situated in a lovely position overlooking the sea. We had wonderful weather for our 3 night stay and were able to take advantage of the beach accessed down some steep steps and also of the very nice outdoor pool. We had booked a Superior room with a sea view. The room was large but the bathroom along with the rest of the hotel is tired, sad and very dated. It is desperately in need of a huge injection of cash to bring it up to current day standards. We could have forgiven all that if the food had been good but it is probably the worst we have experienced. The first night we both ordered fishcakes for starters, nearly all mashed potato with one prawn in the middle, followed by turkey escalopes which were overcooked, dry and hard. We were promised that the next night would be very much better, I ordered salmon en croute, this turned out to be a dried up salmon pasty and my husband took the safe option of pasta which again was all dried up as though it had been on the hot plate for far too long. The caps on all the sauce bottles were dirty and sticky and the after dinner chocolates were stale and white. The friendly staff offered for us to eat on the third and final night at the Manor, the sister hotel next door. This was much better but still very ordinary. The car park is also a bit small and can sometimes be difficult to find a space. Steps leading down to the gardens are uneven and would be difficult for the elderly or disabled. The balustrade on our balcony was in desperate need of paint and some of it was loose which could be a danger. It is a shame as this hotel is in a lovely position but we were pleased we had only booked 3 nights.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is very dated but once you get passed that, you will discover so many facilities that over compensate. Indoor pool is warm with a hot-tub and a sauna (which you need to book) a play room with snooker & table tennis, a very dusty squash court, a DIY looking bar with a range of fantastic local brew, an old piano. Outside you have a beautiful well maintained gardens and a pool, kids playground and mini golf and you can also use the next door outdoor pool with creative design of pool bubbles and another hot-tub. The room needs renovation, but nothing was broken, everything was working and you also have a bath with power jets. The view was brilliant too. The breakfast needs to be prepared better.
Most staff were very helpful and smiled all the time. My son loved it and the location was also very good, walking distance to the village and beach.

Room Tip: Top floor seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrokh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We originally booked to stay at the sister hotel Luccombe Manor (see review under YUK!) but were transferred to this one at the same price. The staff were wonderful, totally understood our situation and were very helpful. We were upgraded to a superior room with a sea view which was very nice. But when we got into the room we found that toilet was dirty, with urine splashes up the back of the seat, dust balls behind the bathroom door, there was also blood stains on one of hand towels. the carpets had not been hovered up and there were bread/biscuit crumbs around the foot of the bed, in all not very clean. The decor of the hotel is very tired and needs to be updated now. The food served varied in quality from good to inedible, on the first evening my wife had the turkey fillet, it was so over cooked it was difficult to cut and the full English breakfast left a lot to be desired. But the Chef was very helpful and friendly as were all the staff. I would say that with a little work by the owners , this could be a very Good Hotel

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed at the hotel 22 years ago and decided to come back for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The room was a little small but clean and all the staff were lovely. We enjoyed the out door pool. There was plenty to eat for breakfast. Only problem was the car park is not big enough for all the guests and we had to park some way up the road. Would love to come back with our teenage children but as our night cost £150, I think £300 for 2 rooms for a night in summer would just be too much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
924 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £48 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing