We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luccombe Hall. Shanklin.I.O.W.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Luccombe Hall is beautifully located and has stupendous views. We did not have a room with a view but there is plenty of views from the conservatory and gardens so much more enjoyable when eating your breakfast or afternoon tea. The room needed some T.L.C. as the basin had a serious crack in it and generally needed some remedial treatment but it was clean. However these shortcomings were overcome by the standard of the meals and the service of the staff.They were all very helpful and courteous and we cannot speak too highly of them.We would recommend Luccombe Hall without missing anything aforementioned out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donald073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall and for taking the time to give a review. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the stupendous views - they simply are the best. I'm sorry to hear about the crack in the basin which we will ensure gets sorted asap. I'm glad you found everywhere clean and that the staff and meals were good. Thank you so much for your recommendation. I do hope you come and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a special offer 2 night break which was very good value for money. However there are a couple of points I would raise. We were placed in room 12 right at the top of the hotel. The room was spacious with a big 4 poster bed, the bathroom however is in need of attention, the paint is peeling from the window sill for one. We did have a problem with the shower door however once this was pointed out to reception was dealt with promptly. The main problem with the room was the 2nd flight of stairs. These are very steep and narrow and sadly the main hand rail disappears into the wall half way up. Anyone that is less agile on their pins would find this uncomfortable if not unsurmountable.

The staff are very friendly, especially Josh who radiates sunshine, truly a genuine guy.

There was just one point that I felt let the hotel down was the selection of main course meals. We opted to spend both nights at the hotel, eating in their restaurant. The conservatory dining area is lovely overlooking the gardens and sea, perfect also for a quiet early morning cuppa! The meat choice in the first day was chicken & leek pie or pork steak in mustard sauce, this choice was exactly the same the following day. It would have been much better to have had a different selection. If I were to be critical I would also mention the continious playing of the BeeGees, breakfast time and dinner time for the entire stay. Now dont get me wrong, I do like the BeeGees but now feel I have been overloaded with them!

however all in all we had a good short break, thank you

Room Tip: Choose a room on ground or first floor, avoid the narrow steep staircase if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall and for your detailed review. I am so glad you found your break great value for money but disappointed to hear that you felt the hotel was let down by a limited choice on the dinner menu. We have recently changed our evening dinner menu and more recently added even further menu options to it. I'm glad you enjoyed the conservatory - it's so lovely to look out to the sea from there. I have passed on your comments to the restaurant team regarding the playing of Bee Gees all the time and I'm sure in future they'll change the music much more frequently. Thank yuo again and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My partner and I chose this hotel from the pictures on the website and reviews. We wanted a break in a well appointed spa hotel. We paid extra for a sea facing room, which we got but it was very tired. The bed sank to it's base when it was sat on; the decor was shabby and there were many chipped/cracked bathroom tiles. Everytime the bathroom light was turned on so was the extractor fan and as the walls were paper thin, we could hear every time the bathroom was used in the surrounding rooms. When there was a screaming child too, we asked to change rooms. Spoke to a very friendly receptionist who was unable to do anything that day but could move us the next day.

The next day we were woken up at 6am by children runing around above us ( there is no sound proofing between floors) which only stopped when my partner banged on the ceiling.

We were moved rooms and had one that was similar to the pictures on the internet which is what I'd assumed we would be getting. The hotel misleads guests in this way.

That afternoon we tried the spa, the main reason for chosing this hotel. I didn't use the facilites as the whirlpool was all cloudy with clogged hair round the filter and dirt in the seating areas. I reported this to reception when I returned my dry towel. This is low season, so I would have expected a pristine spa.

That said the location is excellent and the sea view worth having.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the bottom floor; you hear every footstep above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank danc_er1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent a weekend here for a family birthday, there was a large group of us but this was of no hassle for the staff, and they were very friendly and welcoming to us.

Rooms were tidy and very comfortable, pool was warm and clean.
A very calm atmosphere, very tasty food and incredibly friendly staff all round.
Good views, and very nice breakfast, plenty of option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall for a family birthday and thank you for taking the time to say how much you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to hear how friendly and welcoming you found the staff to be and you found everywhere warm and clean and enjoyed the views and peaceful ambiance. I do hope you visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent a weekend with friends to celebrate a birthday.

Staff were exceedingly accommodating and nothing was too much trouble, particularly as many of the group had to amend their ferry times.

Rooms were clean, tidy and well equipped. The hotel has wonderful views and is good value.

My personal choice would be to have had a fresh fruit salad option in the dessert menu.

Room Tip: Room 6 had a whirlpool bath and separate walk-in shower, in a larger than average sized bathroom. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall recently for a family birthday. I'm so pleased to hear how accommodating you fund the staff and that nothing was too much trouble - really pleased we were able to help with changing ferry times.
The hotel location is fabulous and I'm glad you enjoyed the wonderful views as well as the room spec and presentation. I will be sure to pass on your suggestion re fresh fruit salad to the chef.
Thank you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and I do hope you will choose to stay at Luccombe Hall Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a comfortable Autumn break to celebrate a 60th family birthday. Staff were very friendly and helpful in particular Josh in the restaurant who served our big group with patience and good humour.

Room Tip: Ask for non adjoining room if it bothers you having a communicating door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall recently to celebrate a family 60th birthday. Josh will be thrilled to get your feedback and I'm glad you found the hotel comfortable and the staff friendly.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again should you visit the Isle of Wight in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The decor is a little old-fashioned and in need of some decorating but the staff are very helpful and it has a friendly feel about the place. The food and the service are both very good and the dining room light and airy, if you are lucky enough to get a given a table out in the conservatory you will not be disappointed by the view. We have stayed here many times and will continue to do so and recommend it to people who are visiting the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: It is worth asking for a sea view room for the sunset and sunrise alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such good feedback and for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall yet again. It is wonderful being able to welcome guests back and it's so nice to hear how friendly you find the hotel and how helpful the staff are. The Grand View Restaurant is very well named indeed and as you say the view will not disappoint. I'm glad you found the food and service very good and most happy to hear that you will once again choose to stay with us again in the future. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £52 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing