We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mick - fareham Just briliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have been to this hotel quite a few times now at various seasons of the year. I have stayed in standard rooms - superior and executive rooms. All were clean and tidy and well kept. The staff throughout were polite and helpful. The food was superb with plenty of selection. We used both the indoor and outdoor pools which were kept very clean. My last visit was over the Christmas - had a fantastic time. I shall be returning again this summer - can't wait.

Room Tip: If travelling in the summer I would recommend the executive rooms as they have both sea view and bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickByr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveW-iow, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall once again, your custom is so very important to us and your time in leaving such positive feedback of your visits is much appreciated. I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoy your visits at the different times of year to Luccombe Hall. I'm glad you find the staff to be polite and helpful and the food quality and selection superb. I'm delighted to hear that your last stay over Christmas was fanastic and that you will be visiting us again in the summer. We very much look forward to seeing you again then. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Decided to have a couple of days away before the Christmas madness, and stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely location on a cliff top with some challenging walks due to adverse weather. Enjoyed the peace away from London and although most of the village shops were closed, did manage to find a craft centre open, who made us very welcome. Hotel staff were excellent and informative; nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to sea view room for no extra charge. Hotel although old building was in very good clean condition with lovely garden well maintained through out. Hotel was family friendly and welcomes pets but neither of these facilities spoilt the peace and quiet of the place. Meals were OK but nothing inspirational, but good value for money. Would go again when weather kinder!!

Room Tip: Sea view room gave a great panorama. Good at night too when ships passing on the horizon were all li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveW-iow, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall and for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the peaceful location of the hotel and found the staff to be helpful and informative. Just a note to say that we do not normally take pets at Luccombe Hall but as our adjacent sister hotel was closed just prior to the xmas break we did offer a warm welcome to pets at this time. Our aim is to offer great value packages to the beautiful Isle of Wight and I'm glad to hear that you did find your break of good value and especially pleased to hear that you will return. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and we had a table in the conservatory over looking the sea view. This was a special offer with ferry included unbeatable value, we will return in 2014.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall recently and for taking the time to provide us with feedback . I'm delighted to hear that you found the ferry inclusive package unbeatable value as that is what we aim to deliver. I'm glad you found the team helpful - it's great to hear that nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for your kind comment regarding the food being excellent - the chef will be really pleased! The hotel offers some of the best views on the island and I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the sea views from your table in the conservatory. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in 2014. Happy New year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Firstly the positive. The staff were superb, attentive and polite. Always willing to please and nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent and great value for money. The bed was so comfortable I fell in love with it!
The negatives: paid extra for a sea view, but scaffolding up at the moment. Didn't really mind this, but it would have been nice to be told in advance. The shower attachment didn't work, but they have been told and made a note to rectify. If you pay in advance for an evening meal its more expensive than if you pay on the night. ( strange that).
All in all I love this hotel. Great location right next to Shanklin Chine and old town. Check out the Crab pub for great food.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ell1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall and for taking the time to leave such a great review. I'm delighted that you were "chilled" out after your break and that you found the team here superb, attentive and polite. I'm so pleased to hear how excellent and good value you found the food to be and it's just so nice to know how comfortable you found your bed. I'm so very sorry about the scaffolding affecting your view of the sea and that we didn't advise you of this in advance. I'm also sorry there were problems with the shower attachment - but I do thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can get this fixed. I am not sure what the situation was regarding the price of your meals - I will have a look in to this and revert. I'm glad that you enjoyed your break and the location and do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We always return to Luccombe Hall. We can be sure of warm welcome a comfortable room and enjoyable food in the conservatory. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The facilities are excellent and the gardens are a pleasure to sit or wander.

Room Tip: I need a walk in shower and this one was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortina1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and for choosing to stay with us again at Luccombe Hall. Your custom is so very much appreciated. It's lovely to hear that you always get a warm welcome from our team, a comfortable room and enjoyable food. The gardens and location here are a true delight and I'm pleased you enjoy them so much. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is our 4th visit to this hotel and as usual it was perfect.
We chose a seaview room again which has wonderful views over the channel.
The food and service were both excellent.
We chose a package which includes the ferry and only had to pay a small supplement to travel via Lymington and back via Portsmouth.
We will certainly be back!!

Room Tip: Pick a seaview room and for a special treat room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espujols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall for a 4th time and for taking time to provide excellent feedback. I'm delighted you found your stay perfect and that you chose to stay in the sea view room and enjoy those amazing sea views. I'm glad you found the food and service excellent and sincerely hope that your birthday break was all you hoped. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The Isle of Wight is lovely at any time of the year but in December it is very peaceful indeed. That is the way to a totally stress free winter break. We just spent a delightful three night break at the Luccombe Hall Hotel in Shanklin. We had booked a two night break but were so impressed on our arrival that we booked an extra night. The Luccombe Hall is a clean comfortable hotel.The staff are very welcoming and helpful too. The food was of a very good standard, served in the conservatory with a superb view of the gardens and the sea.
It has to be the best value break around and we are already planning the same next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no.5. It was on the first floor,quiet with a side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall and for taking the time to give such lovely feedback of your winter break. The Isle of Wight is indeed fabulous all year and generally people are really surprised just how wonderful it is during the winter. I'm so glad you found it a really peaceful stress-free break! I'm so pleased to hear that you were so impressed you booked an extra night whilst you were with us - that's wonderful to hear! I'm glad you found the hotel clean and comfortable, the staff welcoming and friendly and the food of very good standard. We very much look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £52 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing