We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 1st wedding anniversary.

Room was upgraded twice and the staff were so friendly, polite and approachable.

Yes the decor is somewhat dated but actually the location is fab and the views are amazing.

The facilities are good, indoor pool and hot tub, sauna, squash court and games room. Bar is nice and big and the hotel has a really relaxing feel to it.

Food was a touch rich for my taste, but that's just me, if need be there are lovely pub/restaurants 5-10 minutes walk (probably less) away.

My mother and father have been before and would go again and so would we.

Great break!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your 1st wedding anniversary. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves celebrating it with a stay at our hotel. We do try to upgrade our guests when our availability allows it with priority to those celebrating and, of course, our regular guests. I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Luccombe Hall for many more anniversary celebrations in the future.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    303
    99
    47
    33
See reviews for
183
468
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome on the reception desk and shown to our room. Pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness and glorious view. Crisp white sheets and a comfy bed...
Decided to eat in the restaurant on the first night and WOW..!! The food was devine (compliments to the young chef) service first class and ambiance spot on... Afterwards we adjourned to the bar area and had the pleasure of meeting 'Dave.' Very friendly and informative.. Thoroughly nice chap.!
Good nights sleep and after the delish dinner the previous eve we hastily made our way down to brekkie and we were not disappointed. Generous portions with plenty of choice. My man is 6'5 and weighs 17 stone and loves his grub and even he felt full...
All in all we would highly recommend Luccombe Hall to one and all and can not wait to return. Thanks to all the staff...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill-McCarthy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you had such a lovely short break with us and that you appreciated your spacious sea-facing room. I have passed your comments about the food on to James, our head chef. He was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us and that your husband left feeling full. I must say that I completely agree with you-Dave is a thoroughly nice chap and one of our most treasured members of staff. I do hope to see you back again at Luccombe Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slinfold
Level Contributor
256 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This time we did not take the children and grandchildren. Room excellent except the previous guests had stolen the TV remote and being a weekend the hotel could not obtain a replacement nevertheless I managed to work it with the buttons on the side. Breakfasts as usual excellent as was the bar.The dinner menu was the same for every day and OK for the 3 dinners we had but would be limited if you were to stay longer but this was probably as it was low season and the hotel only about one third full). 5 years ago it was Easter and the hotel was full and every day's menu was different. View from the sea-view rooms is magnificent. The only other change noticed was that the wine list appears to be more limited as it only contains lower priced wines.

Room Tip: Must go for a sea-view room even though a bit more cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidheysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your most recent stay at Luccombe Hall.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay overall and found the breakfasts and bar excellent.

I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the missing television remote control. We do usually have spare universal remotes in stock, but on this occasion we seemed to have run out.

During the low season when guests stays tend to be of shorter duration and we are generally quieter, we do run with a set menu. Further into the season when we are busier with guests staying longer, we introduce daily specials to ensure more variety at dinner time.

The wine list has probably had several changes in style and supplier since your stay with us 5 years ago. We feel our current list reflects the kind of style and price of wines expected by most of our guests. It contains 31 wines from around the world. Several years ago we did have over 50 wines on our list with several in the higher priced bracket.

I do hope to see you back again at Luccombe Hall Hotel and maybe with the rest of the family who joined you 5 years ago.

Kind Regards

Clare Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel with a beautiful view, an excellent breakfast and a good sized clean room. Very polite & helpful staff, just perfect. Excellent value for money in the heart of Shanklin village, we would love to go back and spend more time there!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found so many things about the hotel to your liking. We are very lucky to have such an enviable location near to the Old Village area of Shanklin, on the cliff overlooking the bay. Myself and the team hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have just come back from a 6 night stay at Luccombe Hall from 24th feb- 1st march 2014
and it was pretty much wow factor from the beginning. The building itself is beautiful, high grand celings and classic features, the people on here that have complained the decor is dated...seriously? what do you expect from an older building??
We were upgraded free of charge to a superior sea view room on arrival which was lovely and the room was in immaculate condition, it contained all the basic features you would expect from a hotel.
We found all the facilities were kept in good order, we LOVED the indoor heated pool and the sauna.
We stayed on a b&b tariff but did enjoy a nice 3 course dinner one evening which if you book in advance you can get for half the price per person.
I would reccomend the creme brulee for a dessert ;) Staff were friendly, we particulary got on with Tim, he was such a delight, he gave us lots of advice on things to do in the local area and the best places to eat.
If you do decide to eat locally we recommend fine nuneet which is about a 15 min walk from hotel into shanklin. We were told good things about the village in and went there our first night but unfortunately I gbecame very unwell after our meal there so I wouldnt personally reccomend!

Overall a wonderful stay and we cant wait to go back again :)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior sea view! :) we were in room 22 x
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HM1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your break.

Luccombe Hall is an older style building and was built for the Bishop of Portsmouth as his summer residence. Some period features remain and I am glad you appreciated this.

Our Superior Seafacing rooms are spacious and benefit from a great outlook across the bay. I am glad you liked your room and found it comfortable.

Myself and the team try our best to promote a welcoming atmosphere and really enjoy looking after our guests and ensuring they have a pleasant stay. I will pass your lovely comments on to Tim. He is a great asset to our hotel and I know he will appreciate your kind words.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Luccombe Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have now stayed at all three of these sister hotels - Melville Hall, Luccombe Manor and Luccombe Hall. We have visited as part of the off-season package offered which is excellent value for money. Our most recent stay was to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday; I phoned the hotel the day before and asked if they could help to make it extra special - and did they! We were given a fabulous room with a gorgeous view across the bay, I asked if they would put chocolates in the room and they did - a big box of Thorntons and a card, and we had excellent seats in the dining room too.
The food was well-cooked and well-presented and very tasty - possible the only (small) criticism was of the fruit salad which was a little lack-lustre.
The staff were helpful, friendly and very welcoming - the lady who showed us to our room took the trouble to wish my husband Happy Birthday - a really nice personal touch.
We love Shanklin and all of the Isle of Wight and these hotels are real value for money and lovely places to stay.

Room Tip: I understand that most of the rooms have a sea view but it's always worth asking if it's som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing your resent stay at Luccombe Hall. I am glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and that your husband was made to feel special on his birthday. We love to welcome guests back time and again at all our hotels so it's great to hear that you have visited our sister hotels too. It's nice to hear that you liked your table in the restaurant and were able to enjoy the fabulous views across the bay whilst enjoying tasty and well-presented food.

I do hope we can welcome you back again at Luccombe Hall, soon. Perhaps your husband will treat you to a break on our lovely Island, for your birthday.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very welcoming, polite and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Had a lovely room (No. 18) with sea view and jets in bath! Felt as comfortable as being at home. Would love to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were made to feel welcome and at home by our polite and helpful staff. Room 18, one of our superior seafacing rooms, benefits from great views across the bay and a spa bath in the bathroom. Its great to hear you appreciated these. I do hope you will return in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Property: Luccombe Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing