We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our 4th trip to this hotel and it didnt disappoint!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“our 4th trip to this hotel and it didnt disappoint!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our 4th trip to Luccombe and yet again we all really enjoyed ourselves. The staff are extremely helpful and really friendly and it was good to see some familiar faces. We noticec quite a few impovements from the previous year, especially the grounds - a lot of work has gone on there to tidy them up. My six year old daughter was also thrilled to see the play area especially the trampoline. The swimming pool was lovely as was the hot tub! The food was good and there was plenty of it. Am certainly missing my Luccombe breakfast this morning :(. The staff helped make my mum'S birthday extra special by bringing out a birthday cake at dinner, a lovely touch which was appreciated. This hotel is perfect for families and I heartily recommend it. We hope to come again next year with some more family members . Thanks Luccombe!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view, def worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flaming-June34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    303
    99
    47
    33
See reviews for
183
468
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Isle of Wight is a quirky place and this permeates to the hotels and hospitality. Shanklin clifftops has seen a lot of smart new development, but Luccombe Hall Hotel is very much stuck in the past.

It's a little reminiscent of Fawlty Towers in its decor downstairs, and it lacks flexibility when dealing with guests' requests. Breakfast starts at 8:00 am, so if you were thinking of dashing to catch an early ferry, you might have to skip breakfast altogether. Guests have to sit at specific tables for dining and breakfast - you can't choose the sunny conservatory if the table doesn't match your room number.

There's no mini bar or fridge facility in the rooms. The whole place is rather quaint and old fashioned, but the reception staff are friendly.

It's not a stand out hotel and our view over the sea was peaked at via a side window. There is a swimming pool, but this was not communicated to me when I booked, so I didn't bring swimming things.

All in all, functional, nicely located and overpriced for the offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkeepye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here end of February. We had requested a "superior, sea-view" room. We only found out after we left that we'd been given a room of a lesser grade. Needless to say, we were not happy and will not be recommending the hotel. When we queried the change of room, the owners did not seem too bothered. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Superior sea-view rooms are on the first floor. Don't let them fob you off with anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

That is to say, everything that I have seen in the last few reviews also rings true with us.
A great location with channel views. Courteous, friendly staff. Good rooms. Fine food & good amenities too. The fact that the sun shone for the whole of our weekend was an added bonus.

Room Tip: If we stayed here again we would definitely look at a sea view room. That really is some view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights but booked late so we had to move rooms after the second night; not ideal but great for reviewing the hotel. Main plus points are the location which gives you easy access to the beach and also Shanklin Old Village, good on-site amenities such as indoor and outdoor pools, squash court, pool table, and friendly staff. Main cons include the average breakfast served (we didn't have dinner in the hotel because there are so many eateries within walking distance) and the variation in the rooms. We had a superior family room to start with and then moved to a standard room. Both were adequately equipped and sized. The superior room had an excellent sea view but be warned that you will also get the morning sun. However, we had very patchy internet access although water pressure for the shower was strong. Then when we moved to the standard room we had the opposite with good internet access but poorer water pressure. Well worth trying but watch out for the differences between the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our second visit, stayed 2 nights half board with a cream tea. On arrival reception staff were courteous, friendly and showed us to our room and gave us all informations to get started. The service in the restaurant was excellent. Food were plentiful and prepared to a very high standard, tasty and well presented. Our room was clean and very comfortable with a good size ensuite. Hotel location had very good seaview. Would definitely return and would strongly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Singfong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here Fri to Mon in May and thought it was a really charming hotel. The decor is a little run down, especially in the main stairwell but it did not really matter, the hotel made up for it in other areas. Our room was comfortable, adequately decorated but nothing special itself. The bathroom was nearly the size of the room though, very spacious and had a lovely rainfall shower and whirlpool bath which was wonderful after a long day sightseeing!
The breakfast was good, I am pregnant and so had to be quite fussy with how my eggs were cooked etc but nothing was too much trouble and it was very tasty! We did not have dinner here so can not comment on that.
The views out the back are just breathtaking! there were wonderful gardens and a lovely little tea garden right by the cliff top but unfortunately the weather did not permit use of this. There was a great indoor pool and spa and a games room for the younger ones and a really spacious bar area with board games if you so desired. It is about 10min walk to shanklin.
Think that is everything! Basically it is just a great little place which has something for everyone and I dont think no matter what age you are you could get bored here no matter what the weather was doing! Throughtly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Blizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Property: Luccombe Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing