We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here in May with the Mrs and our 7 year old. Mum and dad also came out to join us. Lovely old building and we were given a warm greeting. Good breakfast and the deal we booked included an evening meal which again was pretty good. This is centrally located in Shanklin so you are well placed to explore the island. We were in a family room which was airy and clean with a modern bathroom including a spa bath which the ladies appreciated. Hotel has a pool but curiously no gym. Lovely gardens with play stuff for kids and an interesting walk down to the beach. Fantastic view from the restaurant over the water as well.

I'd feel confident booking and staying here again. Not massively fancy but honest, clean and on a deal including breakfast and a dinner (. 2 night stay) proper good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We found this hotel very good, rooms very clear, housekeeping was great and no problem with parking. Location was one of it's best features. All staff very friendly. Restaurant isn't top notch but then neither was the price. Breakfast was sometimes slow and the buffet table wasn't always well stocked throughout service but you only had to ask. We had a room with a sea view and slept with all the windows open which wasn't a problem, no noise. The outdoor pool was fantastic and the sunbeds and shades were much used during our stay.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms fantastic, executive rooms with outside balcony facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAlly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed at Luccombe Hall Hotel for three consecutive years and hope to return next year. Our 11 year old Son loves the indoor pool and we appreciate the stunning views and beautiful garden. The staff work extremely hard to make sure guests are looked after to a very high standard. On arrival Tim was very professional, efficient and welcoming. The sea view from the bedroom was so relaxing and the housekeeping of bedrooms was excellent on a daily basis. For the three of us our highlight will always be the time we eat, drink and relax in the Restaurant. We could not fault the breakfast and Dinner. There is a wide range of choice to suit all tastes. Above all though the three Waiters Jack, Sam and James were so charismatic and despite being very busy would give all guests their time and personal attention. They were willing to engage and their friendly and patient service was outstanding. Dave who manages the Bar offers a very high standard of service and his fantastic personality and interpersonal skills ensure all guests young and old are well looked after. Thank you so much to you all.

Room Tip: Sea view Rooms will always be the best experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

stayed with the kids and wife for one week.

Good points first,
Facilities are good, use of the in door pool and two pools outside, plus plenty other things to do to keep the kids occupied, i.e. play area, mini golf etc.
Evening meals, food quality was good.
All staff very helpful and friendly.

Now bad points,
Breakfast very poor, every morning bread and fruit missing from the buffet.
Also found when there was bread put out some was mouldy one morning.
Needed to wait for a table one morning as no tables cleared from previous diners.
Restaurant uncomfortably hot most evening and some mornings, most of the heat coming from the kitchens, we found ourselves rushing our meal to get outside to cool off, in desperate need of air conditioning and wouldn't cost a huge amount to install.
Service in the restaurant was slow sometimes, seemed to get better as the week went on.
House keeping in rooms not very good, beds not very well made over, this however did improve as the week went on.
Bedrooms to hot, we didn't have a good nights sleep for the first four days, I was up nearly every night sweating, fans should be provided in the rooms.
Bar area again way to hot, we went elsewhere most evenings as so uncomfortable, in need of air conditioning.
Our normal hotel of choice is in Sandown and is a two star, this hotel cost us more money we assumed due to being a three star and so expected an overall better experience, unfortunately this wasn't the case.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a traditional English hotel with all that you could expect when it comes to facilities. It was converted from a traditional country house quite a number of years ago, but has been very successfully modernised.

Do not expect some of the facilities that you will get from an hotel built today, this is rather more special and individual, with a certain delightful quirkiness that comes from the design of a country house, it's all the more interesting and quiet for that. The management have preserved that special something from country house living making personal and discreet attention of the staff really special.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are extra special, overlooking the gardens leading to the clifftop and step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed with my wife and two daughters for three nights. We thought that it was an excellent stay. The hotel has lots of amenities, with two great pools, two fab play areas (insider and outside), and a lovely location. The gardens are very attractive and the location is excellent. The staff were warm and friendly, and Shanklin is lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and 2 year old it felt like a home from home. Excellent friendly and helpful staff, lovely spacious room with a spectacular view, wonderful breakfast (the best chocolate croissant I've ever had) and most of all so many facilities and child friendly!! We can't wait to go back again sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debnphilPortsmouthUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,279 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £52 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing