We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 6 overlooking the road so cant comment on the view. The room and hotel was so hot and could do with air conditioning throughout. The hotel is dated and in need of modernisation. The bedroom was tiny with a large bathroom including a shower and whirlpool bath. The staff were very nice but the breakfast was nothing short of disgusting. Firstly the jug of apple juice had mould around the rim. The cups for the tea and coffee had stains and the breakfast was terrible. Tinned mushrooms, hash browns were soggy and microwaved. Just not what we expected after the reviews we read.we got back to the hotel at 11 and the bar was closed with no means if getting a drink which is a shame. Overall we were disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BritishNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare W, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you left us feeling disappointed after your one night stay with us.

The hotel dates back to 1869 and has many period features that are appreciated by the majority of our guests. We do have an on going refurbishment plan and are constantly investing in the property to ensure the comfort of our guests.

I am surprised to see room 6 described as tiny. It is a lovely double room facing to the side of the hotel. The bathroom is spacious with separate shower cubicle and spa bath. I am sorry you were not able to upgrade to one of our sea view rooms as you had booked our last available room at short notice.

As you stayed during the heat wave over the summer, the hotel was quite hot. We are not a purpose built hotel and therefore do not have air conditioning. Fans were provided in the bedrooms, on request.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast with us. I can assure you that the jug of apple juice was not mouldy. When the restaurant supervisor noticed the marks on the outside of the jug, this was changed immediately. We do not use tinned mushrooms, only fresh button mushrooms cooked whole in butter and the hash browns are cooked in the oven and are not microwaved.

On the Sunday night you stayed with us I manned the bar until 11.20pm. I am sorry that I missed you returning to the hotel and that you were unable to have a nightcap. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    312
    101
    47
    34
See reviews for
189
481
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a great two night stay at this outstanding hotel. The service from the hotel was fabulous from the start. We were greeted by very friendly staff who showed us to our spotlessly clean room with the best view on the island. Great choice for breakfast, nothing was too much for the staff. Beds & pillows were extremely comfortable. Just a short stroll into the main street of Shanklin. We will definitely return to this hotel :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Youngys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Even though my wife has a temporary mobility problem we have still had a delightful stay at Luccombe Hall Hotel. It is a family run hotel and nothing was too much trouble to assist us enjoy our stay. The view is stunning and the grounds are just right for sitting, reading and drinking coffee in. The facilities are excellent, both inside and outside. Although we were just a couple it was enjoyable sharing the facilities and grounds with happy children enjoying themselves.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a seafacing room if you intend to spend any significant time in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed on IOW several times for our family holiday. This hotel was certainly a big hit with all of us (especially our 2 children). We were greeted by friendly staff, who showed us around and made us feel welcome straight away. The children loved the activity packs presented to them on arrival. For us, it was perfect, the family room (room 8) was spacious, with plenty of storage and a whirlpool bath! We particularly enjoyed the outdoor pool, play area and gardens. For a real treat, visit the tea rooms, located in the gardens and enjoy a superb homemade cream tea whilst admiring the stunning views over Shanklin bay. The restaurant food was good, with plenty of choice for both adults and children. We were so reluctant to leave this place that we stayed an extra day! Thanks to Cathy, Clare and staff for a fab holiday. Already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break at the Luccombe Hall Hotel. We really enjoyed it. The staff are amongst the best I have ever en-counted. They were all friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We were given a really helpful tour of the facilities which was a very unusual but welcome service. The rooms were comfortable and the views were marvellous. Breakfast was good as was our 3 course dinner in the restaurant. We would definitely return. Having stayed very happily at the sister hotel (Luccombe Manor) on two previous occasions , I would now opt for Luccombe Hall because of the range of facilities available. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have had a swift two night break to the lovely Isle of Wight our 2nd visit this year. Our 1st night was spent in a family room at a YHA and our 2nd night was to be spent at this beautiful hotel. I have seen it many times on my search for accommodation on the island and always wanted to stay. It has a stunning view, beautiful grounds which resemble something out of Alice in wonderland, friendly helpful staff and good facilities. When I was trying to book a room, I wasn't sure if I was booking Luccombe Hall or Luccombe Manor but it would not have mattered as they are sisters and are side by side! This is the 1st hotel that I have stayed in here in England where we have had the choice of 3 pools. Yes it is at the very top end of our price range and yes I could be picky and point out the odd thing but I won't because my 9 year old said it was the best hotel ever and he enjoyed every minute, so it was worth every penny and we are looking forward to a chance of staying again in the future.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying extra for the sea view room as you should not miss out on the view if you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poshpedicures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely family run hotel, set in stunning gardens. Just back after a short break. A great location with numerous facilities for both families and adults. Just a short stroll from Shanklin town and the beach front with many eateries and shops

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockerfellalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
829 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,237 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Property: Luccombe Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing