We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,082)
Filter reviews
1,082 results
Traveller rating
467
392
128
58
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
467
392
128
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews squash court sea view executive room games room hot tub outdoor pool spa bath table tennis isle of wight air hockey evening meal sister hotel next door duty manager short break dining room family hotel play area
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1,082 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2019

We have stayed at Luccombe Hall many times over the years and always enjoy our stay. This trip to the island was very last minute and just for one night. It was lovely to see the rooms have now been refurbished to a high standard. Bed very comfortable so we had a good nights sleep.The staff are always welcoming. We shall be back!

Room tip: Lovely views
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you karen for leaving us a lovely 5/5 review following your latest short stay with us at Luccombe Hall. It is always a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

We’ve just returned home from a 3 night stay and can honestly say it was the best mini break we have had. The staff are absolutely amazing, nothing is to much trouble. I won’t lie I am a complete hotel snob and this hotel was just amazing. Our room was lovely and The view from our window were outstanding. I can’t recommend this hotel enough. 5 star service. Thank you to all the staff, you were great and the management should be really proud they’ve got such a great team who clearly enjoy doing what they do.

Lorraine, Martin and James Staples

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stapes4019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you Lorriane, Martin and James for leaving us a wonderful 5/5 review following your stay at Luccombe Hall, it is most appreciated.

I have passed your kind comments onto the team here at the hotel, we are all really pleased your stay exceeded your expectations and we hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019

We booked this hotel for a four night new year break and celebration and it did all that! Four senior couples who like to enjoy themselves and that we did. We were met by a cheerful reception team, given our rooms and a quick talk on the facilities and given a detailed written brief of what was install four us. Evening entertainment was very good and the new year evening music and singing was provided by a local entertainer Dave Priddle and his wife, excellent, our group kept the dancing going right up to well past midnight. The eight course gala dinner prior to the entertainment was accompanied with party hats and balloons that you blew up and released to fly around the restaurant. Each bag of 2 balloons contained you own mouth tube (so no germs were freely given away!) you needed a bit of puff to fill the balloons but our table had plenty of that! Each day we were invited for a glass of bubbly or mulled wine accompanied by afternoon tea or mince pies. A mid day buffet was provided on New Year’s Day followed by another excellent evening meal. All guests were invited to join in a walking treasure hunt which took you on a two hour walk around the area looking for clues and answering the set questions. This was absolutely excellent and whoever devised this event deserves a medal, well done Luccombe Hall. None of our group won the £300 holiday voucher, but it was just such a good idea for new year day morning, of course this was helped by the excellent sunny weather we had. What haven’t I mentioned... o yes the daily breakfast of cereal and a choice of a cooked breakfast, toast with all the condiments was again first class and all the staff were absolutely fabulous. The hotel gardens were pleasant to walk round although we didn’t see any red squirrels! The rooms were well maintained and comfortable and of various different sizes depending in what part of the hotel you were staying in, but all good. I have to say that all eight of us thoroughly enjoyed our four nights there, excellent value, excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent food, what more do you want

Room tip: Our room number 5 was up one flight of stairs that turned twice.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you for leaving a wonderful 5/5 review, it is really appreciated by all here at Luccombe Hall.

Your kind comments are also appreciated - it took a while to write the treasure hunt, but I enjoyed doing it and really pleased you enjoyed searching for the clues.

We do hope you have a great 2019 and hopefully you can find the time to return for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019

We had a last minute Twixmas Break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were lucky to have a Superior Room with sea view and balcony, which was as well equipped as any four star hotel. The Restaurant had a wonderful sea view and the food was good, if maybe not 4 star, but on the whole we couldn't complain of anything. The hotel must be amazing in the summer as it has a lovely garden and outdoor pool. We didn't use the indoor pool and sauna, but it looked inviting. We would definitely go there again.

Room tip: If possible ask for a Superior Room with large balcony
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CJGEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful 5/5 review and kind comments - it is most appreciated.

Summer is indeed a great time to visit, when you can make full use of our lovely gardens, the outdoor facilities as you mentioned and of course our fabulous Grand View Tea Gardens right at the cliff edge.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019

Comfortable room with a side sea view (even though we hadn't booked one). Warm and cosy with a king size bed and good sized bathroom.

Public rooms are large and airy and very clean. The dining room has great views of Sandown Bay and the passing shipping - night and day. Indoor heated pool and very warm hot tub freely available.

Very good food with plenty of choice (including vegetarian) and a good daily variety.

Prices are reasonable especially if you book for several days as the ferry crossing cost (expensive) is included.

We will be back!

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven W, Owner at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Thank you Chris for leaving your review, your comments are most appreciated.

Really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit - try one of our balcony rooms - the sea views are most spectacular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews